We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent getaway from the city”
Review of Catskill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Catskill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Windham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“An excellent getaway from the city”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We set out for a quiet few days out of NYC and we got it. We picked the Catskill Lodge based on price, location, and hottub, but got so much more. The Lodge is central to shopping and skiing and much less expensive than most of the places nearby. Kellee and Mike are just nice as can be. They helped us tidy up our daily plans (including printing out directions for us) over a delicious breakfast made from local products. They genuinely want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We will absolutely stay there again. My only warning is that the old house is a little noisy at night. That is to be expected from a Victorian house so I can't hold it against anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the least expensive room. It was small, but perfectly fine for a cozy couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    38
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
164
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ewing, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Five good friends, and a 117 year old Victorian home, complete with hot tub! For my first skiing trip, this was a fantastic way to start and finish. Thank you guys for being so incredible, and having such a charming place to stay. All of us had a great time, and were comfortable and felt at home all the time!

You were a huge help with finding great places to eat and shop. The hot homemade cookies were a delightful touch after a tough Saturday of falling down on the bunny hills! You are the perfect hosts and I cannot wait to go back! Thank you, for all you did to make us feel so welcome!

Room Tip: The top floor is fantastic for four close friends. Great view and warm in the winter. The jacuzzi tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes_Carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our stay in this old Victorian B&B close to Windham and Hunter Mountains and other area attractions was delightful. the innkeepers were friendly and the rooms well maintained. the inn offered several welcomed surprises such as an extensive DVD library and large screen projector for viewing as well as a hot tub out back and all day coffee, tea, cookies and a bottle of wine for guests! We also found useful a list of recommended restaurants with menus. We would return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetogo6156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I spent Christmas at the Catskill Lodge with my family- the Lodge was warm, cozy, and very comfortable. The tranquility of the Catskills are perfect for a deep, peaceful sleep! The owners were extremely friendly and very accommodating. They gave us great advice on where to go and what to do, and always made sure we were comfortable and enjoying ourselves. Being there for Christmas felt like we were right at home. Breakfast was fresh and home-cooked every morning, it was delicious. The surrounding Catskills are gorgeous- great opportunities for hiking, skiing, horseback riding, anything in the nature. It was a wonderful trip and I definitely recommend the Catskill Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My boyfriend and I live a full-time lifestyle in NYC, so getting a weekend off is close to impossible. So, when we were both able to take off, we wanted the weekend to be absolutely perfect! We just wanted to escape the city, unwind from our busy schedules and do some skiing; that is exactly what we got.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owners, who were incredibly helpful in every way possible. We arrived by bus, which made getting around difficult, but Mike graciously offered to drive us to the mountain and even pick us up! I would suggest driving if possible, strictly because there isn't much food in the area and no where delivers.

They have a hot tub, which is PERFECT for unwinding after a day skiing. There's movies, games, and the land that they own is perfect for walking around and taking pictures! The town itself is quaint, which is nice because they have bikes you can use, and biking around the area is so gorgeous!

The hospitality was right on point. The first day we were there, Kellie served us wine and cheese (I love that combination!) and Mike was making soup for their dinner, so the house smelled just like home. On the last day, Mike, made cookies for the kids and kindly let us leave with a handful; the house smelled wonderful then too! They always made sure we were satisfied with everything; we really only left the B&B for one day and the rest of the time we stayed on the property or in the common rooms. It was nice to feel at home, but away from the city.

We'll definitely be back in the summer for some hiking and horseback riding!

Room Tip: The Windham is the room we stayed in; it has a private bath and private access to the porch. It also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Thought I had time to cancel and only lose my 10 dollar deposit. I think it is really poor hospitality service to charge ANYTHING when a cancellation is made so far in advance. I do accept responsibility for not looking more closely at how much time I had, but that doesn't change the fact that policies like these are TERRIBLE and seek only to profit off of people's changing schedules.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WhitPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acmill99, Manager at Catskill Lodge, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
We apologize that you are upset about our cancellation policy. We do not believe that our cancellation policy implies terrible hospitality, rather it is a standard business practice.

We believe that our cancellation policy is quite fair, particularly when compared to policies of other similar businesses. Our cancellation policy is a $10 charge with 14 or more days notice, a charge of 50% of the first night if 3-13 days notice, and the entire reservation charge if 48 hours or less notice.

Other similar businesses charge a cancellation fee of a one night stay (or even two nights, because the reservation was for a holiday weekend) when less than 14 days notice is given. We believe that our charge of only 50% of the first night's rate for a cancellation less than 14 days in advance is reasonable and fair and in no way reflects upon our service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband has been wanting me to try skiing for the longest time, so we decided to head to Windham Mountain for a 3 day weekend. We live in the Boroughs so we wanted something that was fairly close and this was perfect! Unfortunately, we were unable to ski on the day we arrived due to constant pouring rain. Since our room was ready, Kellee was so accommodating and let us check in early so we could relax since we weren't making it to the mountain that day. That gave us time to relax in our cozy room and watch a movie from their extensive DVD collection. They have a coffee and tea station available to their guests at all times. In addition, there is usually a bottle or two of wine in the common fridge for their guests to enjoy! The outdoor hot tub was my favorite! After a day of skiing, it was so amazing to soak in an outdoor hot tub under the stars! Truly wonderful! And the breakfast was delicious! I don't know what Mike puts in that french toast batter but...WOW! The breakfast sausage was so flavorful and fresh tasting. Kellee told us they get it locally. In addition, they have great dining recommendations. We went with two of their suggestions that weekend and we were not disappointed in any way. I highly recommend this B&B. It's lovely, historic (I believe Kellee told me the house was built in the late 1800s), comfortable and even has a wood burning stove which they lit during breakfast on our second day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuggyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
1.1 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beds On Clouds Bed and Breakfast Inn
5.6 mi away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 3 in Hunter
206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catskill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Lodge

Property: Catskill Lodge
Address: 350 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5327
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Catskill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1893, our Victorian home offers historic charm, modern amenities, and a relaxed, communal feel. Start your morning with a freshly prepared hot breakfast. In the evening, gather round the campfire or soak in the hot tub while gazing at the star-studded sky. Catskill Lodge, a registered historic site, sits atop a hill on five lush acres of property, complete with our own wooded nature trail and plenty of friendly wildlife. The area’s best outdoor adventures are just minutes away, from skiing, snowboarding, and snowshoeing to cycling, mountain biking, golf, hiking, fishing, farm tours, and scenic drives. Our seven-bedroom inn accommodates 16 guests, while the Hudson Hollow, our three-bedroom vacation rental next door, sleeps six. We offer the coziness and personal service of a bed-and-breakfast without the stuffiness of a traditional B&B. Group rentals and weddings welcome! Let us help you plan your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Catskill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catskill Hotel Windham
Catskill Lodge b&b
Catskill Lodge Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing