We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent visit”
Review of Catskill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Catskill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Windham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Enjoyable stay, inn keeper gave accruate information on dining and attractions. Beautiful folliage.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenrharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Catskill Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

Having never stayed in a B and B, we were not sure what to expect. It was such a lovely place, wonderful surroundings full of history yet clean and updated. The Catskill Suite is perfect for the romantic getaway and worth extra money for the top floor with the jacuzzi master bath topping off a perfect day.

David, the Innkeeper, was awesome with suggestions for dining and activities. His breakfasts each morning were a great start to the day. The whole lodge was clean, comfortable and well laid out for privacy or meeting new people.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank KathyAnn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

As my wife and I made our way up from historic Hudson Valley toward Niagara Falls, we decided to stop at Windham to break up the next leg up toward Corning. Given our appreciation of restored historic homes, and the primarily positive comments already posted regarding Catskill Lodge, we decided to spend a night there.
The overall experience was positive, but without question, the visit requires flexibility in accepting the implications of staying at an 1890’s former doctor’s home converted to a B&B.
1. Although not stated anywhere on the web site or even here at Tripadvisor, the hotel is in a cell phone dead zone. Thus, the owners allow guests to use the hotel’s land line whenever use of a telephone is needed.
2. The B&B itself is a charming structure from the outside, but as noted in a prior review, the building is under physical stress. The front porch, a spot which normally would represent a nice place to sit and rock while viewing the beautiful vistas and world passing by, is closed due to structural damage. We stayed in the Windham room on the first floor, which obviated the need to carry luggage up the stairs to the higher floors. The room was spacious, but the layout created a situation in which the person sleeping on the left side of the queen size bed had approximately one foot of space between the bed and the wall, making it awkward (though do-able) to get up in the middle of the night. Of the windows in the room…one had broken pulleys, so it was necessary to maneuver a screen under it to keep it propped open. The other window was broken and could not be opened. It had been an unusually warm day that particular day, and in the absence of a sorely needed ceiling fan, the room was stuffy and hot (finally cooled off some time after midnight). The bed was as hard as a rock but provided an adequate night’s sleep. The top sheet was worn with a hole readily noted. The in room TV also contained a built-in DVD player, which worked out well since we brought a couple of our Netflix DVD’s on the trip. There were somewhere in the vicinity of 70 channels available on the local cable service. The bathroom was fine, lots of space to set down personal items, only downside being a glass shelf above the sink with partially dislodged anchors, such that the shelf was tilted and could not be used. Shower had nice force and good water temperature. The provided soap and shampoo were rather sad. Although no doubt everyone is looking to control overhead in a tough economic environment, the soap provided was approximately the size of a communion wafer, and the shampoo was a dab of nondescript soap in a single use plastic thingie similar to that in which ketchup or mustard are provided at a fast food outlet…come on, guys, given the cost of a room here, I do think this could beat least a bit more generously handled.
3. The breakfast was great. Started off with juice, coffee, yogurt with sprinkled granola and a cantaloupe slice, followed by a plate including eggs to order, sausage, zucchini bread, pancakes, toast. We suspect that more often than not, guests end up being unable to clean off their plates.
4. We had dinner at the Italian restaurant Vesuvios, a 3 minute walk to the right, or a 30 second car drive for those of that persuasion…a truly delicious meal, very reasonably priced.
5. The WiFi was great…for those without their own laptop, a laptop is provided to guests in the common area.
6. The common area also had a trove of DVD’s available for guests, and a large screen TV for watching in the common area.
7. As has been previously noted, the local tap water does have a somewhat odd taste.
8. Beware the accent rugs if you are staying in the Windham room…as they were placed on hardwood floors with no adherent material in-between, both my wife and I came very close to falling to the floor when they slid…we ended up rolling them up to prevent a catastrophe.

So, all told a nice visit, but thought we’d share the specifics (pro and con)of our visit with prospective future guests.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank petergoode2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This 19th century Victorian is beautifully maintained with well appointed rooms. Nice location to explore many hiking trails, or just relax away from the city. David, the innkeeper is amazingly attentive, but laid back, too. He would serve you a fabulous breakfast cooked to order and give you great suggestions as to where to visit, etc. Restaurant recommendations were superb, too. We just had a great time, period!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paint_the_town_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My friends and I stayed at the Hudson Hollow for a great long weekend get-a-way from our busy city lives! This place was beautiful, clean, spacious but cozy cabin in the midst of the beautiful Catskill Mountains! The staff is TOP NOTCH and accomidated our every need, they even made us a huge bon fire near the cabin and had freshly baked cookies when we arrived!! The location is pretty centeralized to all the activities that the Catskills have to offer. I would definitely recommend this place for a long weekend get-a-way!! I would LOVE to come back for a ski weekend in the winter!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLShoeDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I had a great time at the Catskill Lodge Bed and Breakfast. Usually the places I stay are nothing to write home about, but I had such a great time I seriously almost wrote home to my mother. The surroundings are amazing! Living in Brooklyn, whenever I see trees in more than groups of three I get excited. So there's plenty of that. Nature!!! There was also a fire pit with chairs around ready for us at night. I didn't know quite what to expect, but the graham crackers, marshmallows and chocolate definitely came in real handy and was delicious. I also saw a shooting star while sitting around the campfire. And the facilities were great. We had more than enough room to maneuver any which way we desired. We cooked, we relaxed, and one morning even had contests to see who could stab more grapes placed on paper plates with a fork without looking. I really hope this game catches on nationwide! It's a mix between "whack-a-mole" and chess. I highly recommend. Yet I digress, so back to the review...the sleeping conditions were very nice. The only reason I gave it 4-stars and not 5-stars is because my friend was snoring like a beast. But seriously, the beds were clean and comfortable which is very important to me. And lastly, there's plenty of activities to do in the surrounding area from tubing to hiking, hang-gliding to karaoke in nearby a restaurant with the most interesting people you'll ever encounter. Overall, I had a GREAT time!! Thank you Catskill Lodge B&B! I'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooternyc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Our Innkeeper was great in hospitality, directions and breakfast prep. He failed in not telling us the porch was broken prior to our arrival. He eliminated channels from TV 'surfing' due to his own political views. In addition, the excessive number of signs directing guests to do this or not to do that, were over the top.
The driveway was awful! It was horribly rutted and the red mud stained the tires on our car for the remainder of our trip.
The room itself was nicely furnished and appointed with old 'stuff'' as you would expect in a 117 year old house. The A/C was a welcome addition. The TV was in a poor location for bed viewing.
But the porch was a selling feature to us from the website and it was broken. We would have cancelled had we known.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frontporch44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatskillLodge, Owner at Catskill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

We deeply apologize that your stay wasn’t everything you expected it to be. We do have some updates on the issues you brought up:

Our front porch was damaged in a storm and we’re working with our insurance company to have it repaired as soon as possible; however, it has been a very slow process. Meanwhile, there are plenty of outdoor spaces on our seven-acre property from which to take in the scenery—two hammocks in the backyard, several foldable lawn chairs, and two chaise lounges.

We did not—nor would we ever—remove cable channels due to political views. Because of this posting we discovered that the channel guides we printed a year ago are outdated. Our cable provider has changed its lineup, and we have printed new cards for every room to reflect those changes.

The driveway did have a rut due to excessive rainfall, and we apologize for that inconvenience. The driveway was repaired on August 10.

We also apologize about the excessive number of signs and have removed many of them. They were posted in an effort to provide directions for many of the amenities offered at Catskill Lodge (like the guest refrigerators and hot-tub).

Again, we are sincerely sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Your feedback is valuable, and we will continue to do our best to make Catskill Lodge Windham’s best bed and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
1.1 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
296 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beds On Clouds Bed and Breakfast Inn
5.6 mi away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 3 in Hunter
209 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catskill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Lodge

Address: 350 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5327
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range: £62 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catskill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1893, our Victorian home offers historic charm, modern amenities, and a relaxed, communal feel. Start your morning with a freshly prepared hot breakfast. In the evening, gather round the campfire or soak in the hot tub while gazing at the star-studded sky. Catskill Lodge, a registered historic site, sits atop a hill on five lush acres of property, complete with our own wooded nature trail and plenty of friendly wildlife. The area’s best outdoor adventures are just minutes away, from skiing, snowboarding, and snowshoeing to cycling, mountain biking, golf, hiking, fishing, farm tours, and scenic drives. Our seven-bedroom inn accommodates 16 guests, while the Hudson Hollow, our three-bedroom vacation rental next door, sleeps six. We offer the coziness and personal service of a bed-and-breakfast without the stuffiness of a traditional B&B. Group rentals and weddings welcome! Let us help you plan your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Catskill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catskill Hotel Windham
Catskill Lodge b&b
Catskill Lodge Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing