We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the mountains.”
Review of Albergo Allegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Allegria
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was my first experience with a Bed & Breakfast and i think i may be spoiled now! My significant other and I spent the weekend in the carriage house (room # 18) It included a separate entrance, whirlpool, HUGE four post bed, large flat screen tv, gas fireplace, A/C, front and back prorches, bathrobes....i mean the list goes on! The staff was amazing and always attentitive to our needs. they made us feel like we were family. The breakfast options were also fabulous. Our first morning we had eggplant frittadas, potato and cheddar omelette, sausage and belgian waffles! along with the choice of our own personal French press. at night, they left the kitchen and dining area open for guests to enjoy cookies, muffins, tea and coffee. The location was absolutely perfect as well. we took a trip into Tannersville for lunch and ate at a really great little Mexican place. That evening we returned to The Albergo where they had a fire pit in the back with chairs all around for guests to enjoy the warmth under the stars. But wait! there's more!! The children of the family who care for the inn, have their own coffee bean company named Bean Wise coffee. https://www.facebook.com/#!/BeanWiseCoffee. And it may be the best roasted beans i have ever tasted. And kudos to them for their hard work and resposibility.
In a nutshell, we will DEFINITELY be back!!

Room Tip: Room 18 in the Carriage House was beautiful! pay the little extra for the private entrance, 2 porche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GurlAtLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Albergo (B&B) during a World Bicycle race and Marianna & Leslie (owners) and their staff made every item of the day wonderful. Breakfast starts with healthy cereals, fruits, homemade pastries, which is plenty enough for me. But then the girls announce several frittatas, omelets and more! Our room was sweet and comfortable; we were there for a week so Marianna gave us a cooler but we could also leave items in their big kitchen refrigerator if we wanted. We are into green smoothies these days, and they let me use a blender. Plus you're within 1 1/2 - 2 miles from Windham which is quaint with open arms. They grow so many of their own herbs and vegetables or buy local. Just wonderful...a family you want to add to your Christmas list! Bravo friends!

Room Tip: Its nice to have a first floor room because if you have a 'heavy walker' in the room above i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank casmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have just experienced the most wonderful two nights at Albergo Allegria. The atmosphere, the scenery, the people and the service was outstanding. As visitors from Australia we have made fabulous memories and friends from this visit. Our children had a wonderful wonderful time, thank you for your amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyaT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in the Carriage House. Good size room, whirl pool tub, gas fireplace (although did not use it), mini fridge. Another good part of the room was the covered porch, big enough for two comfortable chairs and a small table. could have actually fit 4. Spent time on the nice cool evenings and mornings enjoying wine/coffee. Breakfast was fabulous. 4 strong choices each day along with fresh fruit, baked goods, large tea selection and a good cup of coffee. Had both indoor and outdoor seating for breakfast and it was great to sit outside on the nice cool mornings. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Carriage House has whirlpool tub and a coverage porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights for a wedding in the Windham Ski Resort, which is about a mile down the road from here. The staff was incredibly friendly, and breakfast in the morning was always fresh and homemade. We actually had to check in really late, and they were able to accommodate us! Overall, my wife, son and I look forward to staying here again.

Very close to the cozy town of Windham. No hiccups with the WiFi. Bathroom was beautiful, and every thing was just super cozy here :D

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeremy_Verd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I had never stayed at a B&B. We were in the area for the Taste of Country Music Festival and found this place through the festival website. We stayed here with another couple and all of us agreed that this was an awesome place to stay after a long day of music and partying! The beds were very comfy and the rooms were clean and had AC to ensure a great night's sleep. The breakfast offerings far surpassed what we expected, they were delish!! Albergo Allegria is highly recommended! The only downside was that it was a little far from the festival sight and the bus ride, although convenient, was a little long.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Brookis08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I wanted to book a nice trip with my husband in he Catskills area , looked on tripadvisor and found this place.It had amazing views however those view were in the parking area which I was put off a bit about, if you don't mind hearing the traffic while looking out at the mountains then it's not so bad.
The staff was wonderful and attentive. The breakfast every morning was fantastic, they had freshly baked muffins every morning aside from what was on the menu.
I was in the December room which was small but comfortable and very clean, my only one complaint was that the air conditioner had an annoying humming noise which kept me up on my last night.

I would highly recommend this place to stay, attractions nearby are the North/South lake and Haines Fall, which were both very nice. I will definitlety come back to this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
307 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
0.1 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#2 of 5 in Hunter
135 reviews
7 mi away
Kaatskill Mountain Club
15 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Allegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Allegria

Address: 43 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Price Range: £82 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albergo Allegria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Hospitality & Cool Amenities--Albergo Allegria Bed & Breakfast Hotel is set atop the Northern Catskill Mountains where outdoor adventure abounds. The 21 guest rooms boast modern amenities and the grounds offer relaxation-- whether by the fire pit complete with S'Mores, the Batavia Kill Creek that runs through the property, or the extensive farm to table garden. Just steps from the door, guests will trek The Windham Path, a 2 mile crushed-stone trail through pristine nature. The 24 hour guest pantry is among the guest favorites that's stocked with made-from-scratch-cookies, locally roasted coffee, and beverages. Italian for the "Inn of Happiness", Albergo Allegria shines its brightest through its unparalleled breakfast, just check out the reviews! Added Value: In addition to the pre-mentioned deliciousness that's included in the rates, each of the guestrooms are complete with modern amenities including private baths, dream worthy beds, flat screen TV's, HDTV/DVD--included are 2500+ DVD's to choose from! For seekers of romantic indulgence, Albergo Allegria features luxury suites with king size beds, whirlpools, fireplaces, and plenty of space to romp around. Hospitality of a bed and breakfast, and all the conveniences of a world class hotel create an ideal setting that's filled with character and history so you can fully enjoy your time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Albergo Allegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Allegria Hotel Windham
Albergo Allegria Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing