We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
481
50
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
50
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesthe kitchencarriage housebaked goodsmy husband and ispring waterfrittataprivate porchbed and breakfasttea and coffeebreakfast was amazingpancakesowners and staffdvd libraryfire piteach morningfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2009

This B&B was very charming, comfortable, clean, and offered many amenities. The proprietors were extremely helpful in recommending restaurants, activities, and in general knowledge of the area. The surrounding area was beautiful and promoted an appreciation of the beauty of nature. Our room was tastefully decorated and the candlelit twin jacuzzi was a great place to relax after a day of hiking. The breakfasts offered were amazing and very filling!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed here on the Independence Day weekend and had a simply delightful stay. The room was clean and comfortable, the furnishings great and the hosts were very hospitable. The breakfasts were delicious and there were always cookies and snacks as well as coffee/tea and cold drinks available in the kitchen. We were encouraged to "be at home"; and we felt at home. This is definitely a place we will visit again! The only problem that I find in places like this (as a photographer) is that mornings are just so nice and relaxing that I NEVER get out early to take photos!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownstateNyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and quiet, and the bathroom had everything you needed and more! Breakfast was an experience, with cereal, fresh fruit and toast available, as well as a choice between two different omlettes, a sweet breakfast or two eggs done any style you can think of. We enjoyed the first two we had but had to hold our hands up in defeat on day 3!! We also had access to the kitchen in an evening to make tea/coffee.

The area is a little limited in nearby restaurants, with a car needed to get to most, but there is a good selection of menus available to choose from in the guest lounge before you head out.

If you like golf, Windham Country Club is a short walk/even shorter drive from the B&B, and there seemed to be a few other courses in the vacinity had we had time to explore. There is also a nice little riverside stroll at the back of the hotel.

The only thing that takes a little getting used to, as mentioned by others, is the sulphorous water, the odour of which can be a little disconcerting! However, we found it a minor point and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schnoogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Our second stay at Albergo Allegria was just as wonderful as our first. My wife and I really like Windham because we feel like we're really getting away but still have access to wonderful food and excursions. As others have noted, Lenore is a very knowledgeable and helpful owner/innkeeper and she'll assist your day planning with very good ideas. Breakfasts are exceptional with assorted juices, teas, coffee, fruits, muffins, yogurt, cereals, jams and breads. But the best part is the extended menu of omlettes, fritatas, pancakes, waffles and assorted breakfast meats. We love their freshly prepared breakfasts and they're the main reason we'll return as often as we can.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandRTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

My husband Bob & I have stayed at the Albergo Allegria almost two dozen times in the past few years and are looking forward to many more visits! The Albergo is a Victorian Bed & Breakfast that is so beautifully decorated. On our first stay we were greated by the owner Lenore who promptly invited us to go into the living room where Saturday afternoon tea was set up - delicious home baked cakes and cookies accompanied by an assortment of teas and coffee. This was just what we needed after sitting in the car for a few hours and we took our food out to a very comfortable couch on a porch that looks out on the mountain. After we unwinded we went upstairs to our room - what a delight for the eyes and senses - the room had antique furniture, a very plush bed with beautiful linens and comfortable robes to lounge around in. We had been camping in Windham for over 25 years and we were hooked on staying at the Albergo. Bob says he spoiled me by taking me there because I don't want to go camping anymore!
Lenore and her husband Vito along with their daughter Marianna and son-in-law Leslie always are available to us and their guests. They are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and full of recomendations. And their staff is just as nice. We are always greeted warmly every morning in the dining room by the waitresses as they tell us the about the day's breakfasts - mmmm, we dream about how good the waffles, frittatas and omelets are when we are back home!
I guess I can say that we've tried out all the rooms and love them all. They are all very clean and well decorated. Once we stayed in their Honeymoon Room - that was an experience- huge bed and a giant jacuzzi and everthing was plush & comfortable! When we want to splurge we'll rent out one of the rooms they have in back separate from the Victorian building - these come with their own private porches, jacuzzis and fireplaces!
I highly recommend the Albergo Allegria to anyone who wants to get away from their fast paced life and relax in a beautiful, friendly home away from home. It's always hard to leave it, but we leave knowing that we'll come back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews