We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly The Inn of Happiness”
Review of Albergo Allegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Allegria
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Truly The Inn of Happiness”
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Albergo Allegria is one of the finest Inns I've ever stayed out. The Bed and Breakfast nesstled in the Windham Mountain Area is like a piece of Paradise. The rooms are
bright and clean with a tastefulness that I haven't seen in a long while. The breakfasts
are fantastic, not like the normal fare you see so often in hotels and inns around the world.
I've traveled extensively all over the world, and believe me you find few places like this
to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the Catskill Mountains and all they have to offer.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    44
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
89
302
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Stayed 3 nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Lenore, Vito, Marianna and Leslie the innkeepers are such great folks. They were attentive to our needs and unobtrusive so we could relax and enjoy our holiday. They maintain the building and grounds wonderfully and the room was spotless. We felt like we were treated as valued house guests. The deck at the back of the property overlooking the Bataiva Kill was great spot for us to curl up with books. Walking to the Windham Golf Club was convenient for dinner. Breakfast at the inn was a masterpiece of artwork on each plate. Delicious omlettes and granola and many other choices. We chose this inn after extensive research and physical inspection of 4 other area inns. It was the right choice for us!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Environmentalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I have traveled extensively to the Catskills, Windham, Oak Hill, Durham in the past 2 1/2 years on business. I have tried many B&B's, and hotels in the area and even traveled to Albany to stay and nothing beats the Albergo Allegria. After I discovered it, I wandered no more. Nice fully appointed guest rooms, including WIIFI, a great staff and owners. In the winter, get a room with a fireplace and enjoy reading in your room with a glass of wine. Surroundings are great after a day in work and there are many fine restaurants in the area. Breakfast is out of this world with multiple options everyday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazenovia ny
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2009

If you seek true Guest service, cleanliness , hospitality and good food...this is the place. As soon as you arrive you just know that the staff has been hand picked.
You will have comfort and all the amenities you can think of. what a wonderful place to relax, have a bottle of wine, and enjoy the mountains.
we'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harbormancaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

The stunning Victorian architecture, the charming interior and the graciousness of the owners and staff make the Albergo Allegria a destination in itself. Whenever my husband and I travel to the Catskill region, we look forward to our stay at this outstanding B&B. Breakfast is not just breakfast - it's a gourmet delight. On this recent stay, we arranged to meet our best friends there and the four of us enjoyed our 4-day, 3-night stay so very much.
There are some places that entice you to return again and again - this is one of them.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ferryboaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Upon entry to this magnificent Bed and Breakfast, you are greeted like "family". You can see that a lot of love and planning went into the decoration ---- creating a warm and relaxing ambiance and a charm that spans the decades. Every detail is designed to take responsibility away from the guests so the visit is "stress-free". Our room was very nicely appointed.....right down to tea-light candles for the two-person jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was lovely......each day featured several choices and the staff is very accomodating to those with "special" dietary requests. Property features a lovely river and mountainous views. Complete assistance is provided in order to find local restaurants and places of interest. We are hoping to be able to spend some time in this most inviting Bed and Breakfast again in the fall. My hat is off to the wonderful inkeepers Vito & Lenore and their daughter Marianna and entire staff......we had an exceptionally wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getaway818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Perfect stay for our 25th anniversary. After sightseeing in nyc, we wanted a few days of solitude and romance in the mountains without being isolated. Albergo Allegria completely exceeded our expectations from the warm and friendly staff that welcomed us as family, our, beautiful and spacious room to the spectacular mountain views and countryside that completely captivated us. The Inn was warm and cozy and beautifully decorated. The staff made us feel that they were genuinely interested in making our stay one of remembrance and made the effort to find out our needs and meet them before we had to ask from coffee and breakfast preparations to making sightseeing suggestions. I can’t wait for the opportunity to go again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTriptaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
1.0 mi away
Beds On Clouds
Beds On Clouds
#1 of 9 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Winwood Inn & Condos
Winwood Inn & Condos
#6 of 7 in Windham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Allegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Allegria

Property: Albergo Allegria
Address: 43 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albergo Allegria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Hospitality & Cool Amenities--Albergo Allegria Bed & Breakfast Hotel is set atop the Northern Catskill Mountains where outdoor adventure abounds. The 21 guest rooms boast modern amenities and the grounds offer relaxation-- whether by the fire pit complete with S'Mores, the Batavia Kill Creek that runs through the property, or the extensive farm to table garden. Just steps from the door, guests will trek The Windham Path, a 2 mile crushed-stone trail through pristine nature. The 24 hour guest pantry is among the guest favorites that's stocked with made-from-scratch-cookies, locally roasted coffee, and beverages. Italian for the "Inn of Happiness", Albergo Allegria shines its brightest through its unparalleled breakfast, just check out the reviews! Added Value: In addition to the pre-mentioned deliciousness that's included in the rates, each of the guestrooms are complete with modern amenities including private baths, dream worthy beds, flat screen TV's, HDTV/DVD--included are 2500+ DVD's to choose from! For seekers of romantic indulgence, Albergo Allegria features luxury suites with king size beds, whirlpools, fireplaces, and plenty of space to romp around. Hospitality of a bed and breakfast, and all the conveniences of a world class hotel create an ideal setting that's filled with character and history so you can fully enjoy your time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Allegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Allegria Hotel Windham
Albergo Allegria Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing