We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love The Thompson House!!!!”
Review of The Thompson House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Thompson House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Reviewed 19 August 2008

My family has been enjoying the Thompson House for over 14 years! My mom & dad started going after we all were married and started having kids. Once we got wind of this gem of a place, my sisters and I have vacationed with mom and our kids for what has turned out to be one of the most cherished weeks of the whole year!

Eric & Debbie and their family are all outstanding, wonderful people who treat you as if you were members of their family. They know everyone's names, anticipate your needs and the staff is kind, friendly and helpful. Walking into the dining room is just like coming home because you know practically everyone there! The food is abundant and outstanding.

Traveling with my family to The Thompson House is truly one of our favorite weeks of the year. There's always something to do, activities are held each morning....bocci, shuffleboard, lawn dice and more. There is entertainment every evening...bingo, music, magic shows. You can take part in all or just relax by the heated pool and swim or just lay around and read. Whichever you choose, you'll love it!

We already have a countdown...only 50-1/2 weeks until we return next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mk0397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2008

We just returned from a four night stay. We are a family of four with two teenagers. It was wonderful, just what we wanted. You can do as much or as little as you want. There are some organized activities, and plenty of things to do on your own. The food is very good, especially the deserts. The grounds and the accommodations are immaculate and roomy. We will definitely come back again with more relatives. My in-laws golf and the course is right next door. Everyone should go here!!

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank metsin200861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

My family & I have been traveling to the mountains for 50 years. First, it was "The Sugar Maples" & now "The Thompson House" for the last 23 years. The owners Eric, Debbie & their children are beautiful people; better then most relatives!!! The facilities are well kept, food excellent & the mountain views like heaven. If you want relaxation, golf & some FAMILY VALUES, you should pay them a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bronx28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

The Thompson House is more than just your typical Hotel. The staff takes pride in their work and extends an atmosphere which is unparalled. This is a safe and homey experience that can not be put into words. Eric and Debbi will make you feel like you are part of the family, extending themselves without limit to grace their guests. Our kids litterally count down the days until our annual visit occurs, the moment they return home from their vacation. We have been travelling to the Thompson House over the past 20 years, staying the same week each year. You'll LOVE Windham!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rice6roni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We just returned from an outstanding vacation. Husband, wife (50 ish) and two teenagers (girl 13 and boy 15) - we have not stopped talking about how wonderful this vacation was! There was definately something for everyone! Fabulous food, homemade desserts (the real thing), wonderful hosts, cleanliness! You were as busy as you wanted to be. Sitting on your balcony enjoying the solitude of the mountains, reading, enjoying music poolside, joining the many activities for kids while separate from adults, rock climbing, bocci, putting contests, in house massages, bus tour to local winery, nightly entertainment, kids going "creeking", I could go on and on. Not only did the parents enjoy the vacation but our kids have not stopped telling their friends about how cool it was! Having the kids tell their friends it was better than Disney was evidence enough! It doesn't happen often enough where everyone is so happy - We're not waiting until next year, we're heading back Labor Day Weekend!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TKBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Our family has been going to the Thompson House for a week each summer for the past 11 years..Unlike other trips during the year, coming to Windham is a week of relaxation.. The Thompson House is the perfect place for this . The property is well kept and spotlessly clean and the rooms are large and comfortable - some with beautiful mountain views..The breakfasts are excellent as are the dinners..There are also many restaurants in the area if you choose to eat elsewhere. The owners and staff at the Thompson House couldn't be nicer or more helpful..There are tennis courts on the property as well as a putting green and shuffleboard..As I mentioned, its the perfect getaway.KL

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank karinlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

What a fabulous place! Just had a family reunion with upwards of 100 people and it was wonderful. The Thompson House facilities were clean, the staff fantastic and accommodating, the amenities were just outstanding. There was something for everyone...bocce courts, shuffle board, golf, swimming in the heated pool, tennis, nature trails, entertainment at night and a great gameroom with pool tables, foosball, indoor shuffle board and more. The location was great, it was an easy walk to the cute downtown area if you even want to leave the beautiful grounds. I would recommend this facility to a large group or small. I am so impressed, it was easy to get to 31/2 hours from...Windham NH! Truly a treasure!

ps..my son loved the french toast! Great food !

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bettylip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
149 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#3 of 5 in Hunter
127 reviews
8.8 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 3 in Tannersville
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson House

Address: 19 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5307
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Price Range: £96 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Thompson House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over seven generations, families and groups have joined us for traditional hospitality and wholesome entertainment here in this northern Catskill Mountain resort. Located in the beautiful town of Windham, NY, The Thompson House is the ideal place for any type of getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Thompson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thompson House Hotel Windham
Thompson Hotel Windham
The Thompson Hotel
The Thompson House Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing