We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Thompson House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vienna(Windham)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xenia Resort(Hunter)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (140)
    Filter reviews
    140 results
    Traveller rating
    116
    16
    4
    2
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    116
    16
    4
    2
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsfamily reuniongolf courseshuffle boardfamily resortbreakfast and dinnerlabor day weekendcomfortable and spacious roomsjacuzzi suitethis wonderful placewalking pathwonderful hostsgreat familyski gearfire pita wonderful staybreakfast roommy boyfriend
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    61 - 66 of 140 reviews
    Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

    I've been coming to here for around fifteen years now. Not only are the owners and workers great and willing to accommodate you, but the guests are amazing as well. You will find yourself making new friends. You'll feel like you've gone back in time when visiting the Thompson House. They've done a great job preserving it's history. Lots of entertainment, good food, clean, good people. I highly recommend.

    Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    1  Thank Kristeniemiec
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 July 2014

    I have been going to The Thompson House since my grandparents took me there over 40 years ago. They have managed to keep it the same but in pristine and very clean condition. It has a nostalgic feel so it is always like stepping back in time. Can't really put it into words so you must experience it for yourself if you have appreciation for old fashioned charm. Staff and owners are always warm, friendly and accommodating. You will not be disappointed if you want a great mountain trip experience! Guests who go there are always friendly too so you will most likely make new friends.
    Bring your own wine for the dining room.

    Room Tip: Rooms in Pines, Manor House and Spruce have the most old fashioned feel. If you want to overlook the pool, pick the main house.
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Jill K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 June 2014

    So glad our family chose the Thompson House for our family reunion. It is a hidden gem. The grounds are beautiful, acommendations immaculate, staff gracious, and many activities. I plan on telling friends about our wonderful experience and look forward to going back!

    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Gail T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 June 2014

    As far as I am concerned, this is the best resort in the mountains. Have been staying here on and off for 30 years. Service is amazing, the location is breathtaking, there are always improvements to the property year in and year out, the staff and management are always trying to make your experience the best possible. The meals are outstanding.

    Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Karl S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 June 2014

    What a find! Spacious and very comfortable rooms. Very clean. Location is wonderful! Mountain views, green lawns, blooming flower beds, outdoor heated pool. Even fresh lemonade and homemade cookies by the pool. Excellent cookies made in house by their pastry chef I might add. We attended a concert at nearby Hunter Mt. It was really nice to enjoy the peacefulness of the countryside after the craziness of a country "Woodstock"! We ended up enjoying the hotel and grounds even more than the concert. And the owners are the fifth generation, same family, to own it and their care and love for it shows in every detail. We had a really bad experience with a different hotel in the area a year before so we checked out all the hotels in the area and Thompson House is the best by far. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area. I did not have an opportunity to have dinner there but the continental breakfast was great and you could have a full sit down country breakfast if you wanted. They also have a coffee shop/cafe that had absolutely fabulous food! We will definitely check out dinner next year! On that note we already made our reservations for next year and can't wait to return!

    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank VMA56
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews