We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for Family”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Evergreen at The Thompson House
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Windham
1 review
“Great place for Family”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed there for one night and found the rooms to be very clean and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The view was truly lovely. Breakfast was basic continental but there was plenty of it and prepared us nicely for out trip to the slopes. I would definitely consider this place for our next Windham visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norcro_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
10
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Thompson House was by far a great choice. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. The rooms are comfy, cozy, very clean and spacious. Breakfast was very good as well. Fresh hot coffee and hot coca was available all day long. The view from our room was so tranquil and relaxing. The kids had a blast on their outdoor skating rink. It is also minutes away from town. My husband and I are looking forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdoj19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had called to let the front desk know that we wouldn't be until 9pm or so - they were very accommodating. The rooms aren't overly nice but they are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were also very clean. We had a nice balcony off of our room which was a plus. It also has a flat screen. We were there to ski so at the end of the day, a fancy room didn't matter much.

The people who work there are very friendly. The continental breakfast offered is good - very basic but good. There is a little breakfast place on the way to Hunter Mountain (which is very close) that we preferred.

All in all, it was a great stay. We enjoyed ourselves and would go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pck823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Location can't be beat and people were nice. The rooms were extremely dated and not very clean. This may be as good as it gets in the region but for $200/nt I expected something less grungy feeling. Breakfast was decent and it's nice to get a discount on lift tickets for adults.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workingmom_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here for a weekend ski trip. The location is good, close to town and all activities. The staff at the hotel is very friendly. Access to the rooms is very convenient, we stayed on ground level and parked our car right in front of our door. While the decor is outdated (reason why I gave it 4 stars), the rooms are extremely clean, I did not feel uncomfortable staying here. Also, the room I stayed in was very large, 2 queen beds, couch, chairs, with a large walk in closet and mini fridge when you enter. This was great for our ski equipment. We also had a beautiful mountain view, which I think all the rooms have. Our kids also loved the big room. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms give you better access to your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiNY718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Cliff, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Our family has been frequenting The Thompson House for more years than we can remember. There is a charm about the whole place....a good energy.
The rooms have always been well appointed with traditional decor and very clean. We have visited with small children, teenagers and other families. The range of rooms we have stayed in run from the largest deluxe rooms, to the simple smaller rooms. Each time, regardless of the room type, we have been very satisfied.
The family who runs this B&B are very helpful, and friendly. They pride themselves on the satisfaction of their clients.
There is a lot to be said for sleeping in a warm, clean comfortable room after a day of skiing. They offer ski passes that discount the price on the mountain. There is a shuttle bus to and from the mountain. The breakfast is very nice, and stars a wonderful home-made granola. ( Would like to purchase some!!)
The view of the ski mountain from all of the rooms is amazingly beautiful. The location is close to the mountain and the town.
Overall, this is the place to stay if you are skiing Windham.

Room Tip: If you have small children you may want to ask for a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

For years we have skied Windham. I would pass the Thompson House and say to my cheap friends ... why are we always staying at these cheap hotels on the Thruway. This looks so much
nicer

Ahhhh thats gonna be too expensive.... John, plus we get a free breakfast out there."

Well wrong on both counts... The Thompson House is affordable, with clean rooms, gorgeous views, a friendly staff, and a great breakfast free.

Enough said... we are all staying there now... You should too! John Crotty

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFC5811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windham hotels
0.0 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
0.9 mi away
Beds On Clouds
Beds On Clouds
#1 of 9 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cuomo's Cove
Cuomo's Cove
#2 of 9 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen at The Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen at The Thompson House

Property: Evergreen at The Thompson House
Address: 20 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5310
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Evergreen at The Thompson House. Nestled in Windham, NY, at the heart of the picturesque Catskill Mountains and only one mile from Windham Mountain, the Evergreen at The Thompson House offers 25 rooms for your winter getaway. The Evergreen at The Thompson House is located near Windham Mountain and Hunter Mountain, many restaurants, equipment rentals, activities and shopping around beautiful Windham, NY. Ask us about our discount vouchers to both Windham and Hunter Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Evergreen At The Thompson House Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing