We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sivananda Ashram Yoga Ranch
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The perfect place to reconnect with your Blessed Self. Everyone is warm and welcoming; the food is spectacular; the rooms are simple and very clean; Satsang was great and the beginner asana class was challenging yet not too much for beginners.

I must visit for a simple, peaceful yoga and meditation retreat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    18
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
3
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Amboy, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Only two hour ride from NYC, located in beautiful Catskills. Beautiful, rich scenery, warm, kind, welcoming staff, amazing vegetarian food (organic vegetable garden on premises), clean, comfy rooms, fun walking trails, deep spiritual teachings, energizing and overall balancing yoga (asana) classes. It's a pleasure to visit it any time of the year; every season has its charm there. I've been going for about 5 years and can't wait to go again. A real gem!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dushat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Yoga Ranch is perched on high up on a mountain surrounded by beautiful and untouched nature. The entire Ranch has a wonderful energy that is quiet, contemplative and yet celebratory and vibrant. I experienced a real sense of inner peace while visiting the Ranch, my body, mind and spirit all felt accounted for. Everything from the food, to the yoga, to the rooms are simple yet intentional.

The warm and open staff at the Ranch seemed deeply committed to being hosts and welcoming all guests. I had never done Sivananda style Yoga and knew very little about Sivananda Yoga practice however not for one minute did I feel out of place or uncomfortable. The staff were generous with their time and knowledge. They offered me practical ways to maintain a spiritual practice in my life back home.

After spending only a couple days at the Ranch I felt very at home. I fell into the rhythms of the day- waking early for meditation, helping around the Ashram after a delicious brunch, relaxing into the afternoon yoga class etc.

I was looking for an experience that would offer me some time to pause, rest and be with myself. Going to the Ranch offered me this but so much more. I have been meditating daily since I returned and thinking much more about my spiritual health. I left the Ranch feeling calm and peaceful with a new sense of appreciation for nature, my body and life as well as those around me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is one of the best, life changing experiences for me. I came in 6 years ago, novice. The warmth, love, generosity of the staff has touched my heart ever since. Been coming here for 6+ years, was made always welcome by the resident staff. Truth is best revealed in practice and the inspiration, motivation, purpose, job, serenity, centeredness, compassion, freedom and interaction with like minded spiritual persons i found/still finding here is truly an honor, privelege and grace !

Room Tip: Try one of the apartments !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mallik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

At the beging i went for 1 month, maybe less and i stayed 4...the environment its perfect, you are alone and with many people...the energy its sweet and open...you have the best of the 2 worlds (the comfort, amazing food, sauna, etc- and the inside of being in a monastery) this is a experience that you have to had. There's people for all over the world every week, also the staff its so kind and lovely, you are going to feel at home very soon. The place its beautiful, the most amazing view of the mountains, with many different activities everyday...and you are not only going to enjoy it, you are going to awake something in you, you are going to grow!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ram a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

What a wonderful, authentic experience. Couldn't ask for more beautiful natural surroundings. Good trails to hike. Very clean, fresh air. Beds comfortable and clean. It's crunchy and granola and kindof macrobiotic, with two meals a day; it's the real deal. Plenty of food. They are committed to the yoga lifestyle, which includes early satsang, lots of yoga, quiet contemplation, meditation, and chanting. Restrooms are clean with plenty of hot water. There is no room service. It is not a spa environment. It is however a place to get yourself centered, let go of some stress, and concentrate on your mind, body, and spirit. It was my first time at an ashram, and I have to say I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sloopy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I just spent a very pleasant four nights at this ashram in the beautiful Catskills. The volunteer staff were wonderful, but please be minful-these folks are not trained by Disney in customer service, these are people in the midst of a spiritual journey, so don't expect room service! The food was very healthy and plentiful. The mornings were early. If you are looking to replenish yourself ( body and spirit ) in a supportive environment- this is the place to go!.You will be nourished through clean eating, guided through asanas developed to nourish you physically and mentally, you will give back with some karma yoga and you will be invited to meditate and called to spiritual celebration twice daily in the temple( the leader who conducted the satsang is so thoughtful, he explains everything they are doing and makes all new comers feel very welcome- its very inclusive)You may embrace all of it or just some of it, but it will certainly leave you with something you may not have had before.
If you are looking for a weekend of relaxation free of scheduling, go elsewhere. If you are looking for service and fine dining, same advice.
It's an Ashram !!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sugarpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbourne
10.3 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
10.2 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
275 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
9.9 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
438 reviews
8.4 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sivananda Ashram Yoga Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivananda Ashram Yoga Ranch

Property: Sivananda Ashram Yoga Ranch
Address: 500 Budd Rd, Woodbourne, NY 12788-0195
Region: United States > New York > Woodbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Woodbourne
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Sivananda Ashram Yoga Ranch Hotel Woodbourne
Sivananda Ashram Yoga Ranch New York/Woodbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing