We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deli”

Ben's Kosher Gourmet Dellcatessen
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Woodbury
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, New York, USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Deli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Good deli sandwiches (pastrami, corned beef) excellent (free!!) pickles, cole slaw. Nice friendly service. Clean, comfortable dining rooms.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
359 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“great service, delicious corned beef, cole slaw”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Day before thanksgiving is always an iffy day food wise...my family had a craving for some authentic deli fare. We had corn beef, pastrami, chicken wrap, mushroom/barley soup, Dr. Brown's sodas...the complementary cole slaw and pickles are delicious! Figure $11/ sandwich. $5 for soup...humongous! Our server was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pierogyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good job with tough large group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I went to this restaurant with a large group following a funeral. It was a group with very old, hard of hearing members, and young screaming kids. The restaurant did a good job with the service (which was not an easy task with 20-30 different orders and general craziness). I didn't think the food was the best ever, but due to the large group, I had a good chance to try a lot of stuff and it all was above average.....matzah ball soup, pastrami on rye, liver app, knockwurst, and potato knish. I'd recommend this if you need something for a large group and/or are driving by on 495 and want a decent sandwich. Very convenient to the road and easy parking are also a plus.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NuttyCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Georgia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

OMG, it was a GREAT roast beef sandwich! Great pickles! Service was good. They have a HUGH variety of to-go food. I could have eaten there every day. Just exactly what you would expect from a NY deli. Don't delay -- go now!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yodibuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Traveling to New York last week, I wanted a pastrami sandwich from a deli. On a recommendation I went to Ben's which was a mistake. I asked for a hot sandwich and it was served at room temperature. I asked the waiter to make it hot (as ordered) and I think they microwaved it. The pastrami was hot but dry and not juicy. I think when you want real deli food you need to be in Manhattan at Katz's or Cargenie Deli. On my next New York trip it will not be at Ben's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toyman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ben's Kosher Gourmet Dellcatessen also viewed

 
Woodbury, Long Island
Woodbury, Long Island
 

Been to Ben's Kosher Gourmet Dellcatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing