We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wild Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wild Rose Inn
Long Island
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Funky Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Inn has a really great feel to it to go along with the Woodstock town. There are pictures on the walls of the famous people that have stayed there. We were primarily to attend one of Levon Helm's Midnight Ramble which is right in the village of Woodstock and we heard that they go until midnight, so we wanted to stay close by. It was 5 minutes away from "The Ramble". We stayed in the least expensive room, which was $200.00 a night with a two night minimum because it was on the weekend. Our room was really nicely decorated in period style and there was a small flat screen tv and a whirlpool tub to make the accommodations a little nicer than your average inn. There was a back yard pool for guest use and the continental breakfast was yummy, with a lot of choices.

The village of Woodstock is pretty centrally located between Saugerties, Kingston and Phoenicia. We went to Kingston for a ride on the Hudson and went to Saugeties to see the lighthouse and to check out the antique stores (which weren't exciting) and we went to Phoenicia to ride on the Catskill Mountain train ride along the Esophus Creek. There are a lot of cute shops in Woodstock and there was great dining if you were a vegetarian, as we are.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbumLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Wild Rose Inn recently. I had never seen or been there so I was not sure if my decision to stay there was a good one. I was extremely pleased with the accommodations, from the rooms to the breakfast provided, to sitting outside on the porch. The salt water pool was an extra bonus. Marti, the owner made sure that our needs were taken care of.
I am actually planning another trip to that part of the country, and will be staying there if a room is available.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meiorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Several friends and I recently spent a weekend at the most wonderful Inn, in Woodstock, NY. First and foremost, the Inn Keeper, Marty was outstanding in every way.She was the perfect hostess. Breakfast was simple and delicious. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable and private, each with full bathroom. Will DEFINITELY visit again!!!

Room Tip: There are NO bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FranMathiesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

My boyfriend and I have had the pleasure to stay at the Wild Rose Inn for a second time. We have the honor to meet and befriend the inn keeper, as well as her staff. As soon as you drive up, the sounds of the Koi pond and beautiful architecture automatically put you in a relaxed state. The rooms are private, clean, great breakfast & coffee,and most importantly comfortable.. We felt welcomed with all of our needs taken care of without feeling you do not have privacy from the other guests or the inn keeper. We also played cards in the dining room while drinking a bottle of wine with complete comfort and ease....Thank you Marti for the opportunity to meet you and making us feel as if Woodstock is our home away from home. We look forward to always coming back each year and jumping into your pool during the summer! ps....make reservations @ The Black Bear Restaurant for dinner, 2 miles down the road, Breakfast at Oriole 9 is a must, you can walk there from the inn.

Room Tip: books quick, easy to register online/phone
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

The moment I stepped onto the stone walkway of the Wild Rose Inn and under the leafy canopy I knew I was in for a treat. Tiles from Tunisia, a fountain, gigantic trees smile down on you at the pool. And Marti, the vivacious owner, welcomes you with a crystal flask of brandy and two chocolates. All in this tasteful serene Victorian surroundings.










s.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doit32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

My husband and I were very happy with our stay at the Wild Rose Inn. The things we always hope for when we stay at Inns/B&Bs is cleanliness, a comfortable bed, and a satisfying breakfast. The Wild Rose fulfilled those hopes and more. The Inn was clean, comfortable, cozy, and beautifully decorated. The grounds include a coy pond, a pool, outdoor sitting/lounging areas, and pretty landscaping. Marti the Innkeeper was very nice, gracious, and attentive to our needs. We especially liked the eclectic breakfast. The pool was a big plus for us because our stay was in late July and we like to swim. Another big plus was the location. It was about a quarter of a mile (3-4 blocks) from the charming town of Woodstock (loved hanging out in town). Parking was easy in town, but we preferred the pleasant walks every day and if only one of us used the car to venture further away, the other wasn’t stuck. The town has many interesting things to see, great shops and places to eat. However, we had our best meals at the Red Onion and the Bear Café which were within a few miles from the Inn. To us, Woodstock was a great place for a peaceful and interesting vacation in a New Age type of environment. There were plenty of things to do and we loved that the culture of the community was rich with art and music. Our stay at the Wild Rose Inn was a great find and it made our experience in Woodstock perfect. We are definitely going back to Woodstock and staying at the Wild Rose again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamVaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

My teenage daughter and I were fortunate enough to call the Wild Rose Inn home during a weekend visit for one of Levon Helm's midnight rambles. I thought the location, just a couple of blocks off the main street and shops of Woodstock, was ideal. Close to everything, but very peaceful.

The Inn itself is beautiful, as are the grounds. Guest rooms are on the ground floor and are accurately represented by the pictures shown on www.thewildroseinn.com . I had a chance to look in all of the rooms and they all looked great. Bedding/linen quality was good, including the fold-out couch my daughter slept on in the Honeysuckle Rose suite. Nice touches like the in-room brandy setting and Mr. Bubble in the private bathroom, which was also very nice. The pool looks great and I'm sure is appreciated in the summer.

Marti is a great hostess with lots of local knowledge, great restaurant advice, and a lot of pride in her home. She has created a special place that is extremely comfortable, relaxing, and easy to love. Breakfast in the Tea Rose room is simple but delicious, especially the homemade muffins. The front porch, just outside the stained glass Tea Rose windows, is a great morning coffee spot, sounds of chimes and the koi pond fountain go well with a selection from the Wild Rose library.

There are lower priced places in Woodstock, but you get what you pay for, and I thought the Wild Rose was appropriately priced as one of the few higher end choices in town. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverRkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
8.8 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
8.7 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Morning Glory B&B Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Rose Inn

Property: The Wild Rose Inn
Address: 66 Rock City Rd, Woodstock, NY 12498-1221
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in the heart of Woodstock village. An award-winning 1898 Victorian B&B with antique furnishings and private whirlpool bathtubs walking distance to fine restaurants, galleries, and hippie boutiques. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing