We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home...only better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wild Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wild Rose Inn
Lewiston, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home away from home...only better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

What can I say, except...WOW! Hubby and I were planning a trip to Woodstock and Bethel Woods (Mecca for many of us!), and of course did a thorough search of B&Bs and Inns. We called Marti, the owner of the Wild Rose Inn, to inquire about certain features. When she thought we were looking for something remote, as opposed to a private outdoor space, she actually referred us to one of her competitors! How amazing is that? We assured her The Wild Rose Inn was perfect, we booked for 3 nights. Are we ever glad we did! Immediately upon arrival, Marti welcomed us with open arms, literally. Showed us our room and also answered a myriad of questions. Throughout our stay Marti was available and accommodating. The decor of The WRI is beautiful, tranquil and her long wall of notable guests was entertaining and perfect for the atmosphere. Our room was comfy, filled with antiques, and IMMACULATE! We chose one of the rooms which has a private covered porch and were content to read a book and watch the hikers and bikers climb the hill next to the inn. WRI's location couldn't be better. About a 3 minute walk to downtown shops and restaurants, but far enough from the hustle and bustle of the notable village. At night, we sat out on Marti's amazing front porch, listening to the rushing fountain in the Koi Pond and were serenaded by the frog peepers. So relaxing... But the best part of our stay was getting to know Marti. You should see the before photos of this c.1840 house. She has sunk her heart and soul into her home and it shows. One can feel the Love she has poured into it. Marti is a one of a kind, lovely, spirited, GENEROUS individual, someone we now call friend. The worst part of our stay was leaving the Shangri la named The Wild Rose Inn. Marti, you will be seeing us again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own charm, and we will choose the room with the gorgeous burled wood bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kargo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Wild Rose is a perfect place to stay in Woodstock. Just outside town on the road to Overlook but only a few minutes walk to everything in town. Just had a great weekend where we didnt have to drive unless we wanted to. Marti - the owner is great fun and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boopenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

My gf and I spent a romantic weekend at the Wild Rose... I'd read the reviews of the inn's charm and the owner's big heart and I was still swept away. The inn is perfectly located a short walk from the heart of Woodstock and I was sad I didn't have more time to soak in the grounds with the koi pond, pool and beautiful deck. Marti is a blast as well as her son, and we spent a breakfast with each and another set of guests talking like we were old friends, sharing life stories and future wishes. The room was comfy (honeysuckle jr) and the breakfasts were perfect. It made for the perfect getaway weekend that couldn't be spoiled by the weather.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We loved the Wild Rose on every count. The Honeysuckle Suite was terrific, the pool was great, and the proximity to Tinker Street was the closest we've ever been. We even walked to and from Woodstock Cucina! We didn't make any waffles, but they looked and smelled great. The Wall of Fame is fantastic. Marti's mom and son Austen were delightful hosts, too. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: Honeysuckle Suite was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilandjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

I was here with 2 friends staying in the Sterling Rose room for a weekend.
The house itself is gorgeous, really looks like from a fairly tale, old fashion style but still everything is renovated and clean. It is 5 min walk from the downtown area. The breakfast was wonderful, especially the waffles. There is a pool and a lot of chairs and beds to rest.
The hosts, Austin and his grandma were just wonderful: helpful with anything we asked for and always at our disposal.
It felt like home away from home! Highly recommended :)

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bumblebee021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

Returning to Woodstock after 13 years, I was so happy to find Wild Rose. It was one of the most comfortable beds ever! The place is so pleasing. I could lay at the pool all day. Marti the innkeeper is a gem. The only thing I dislike about The Wild Rose Inn is having to leave! I look forward to coming back!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piermont, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This very comfortable inn is easily within walking distance of "downtown" Woodstock. Martin & her son are very friendly, accommodating and helpful. The only disappointment is a somewhat Courtyard - like breakfast. It's advertised as an expanded continental breakfast, so I guess I should not have expected a homemade spread with hot choices (there is a make it yourself waffle iron available - just don't try to use it the same time you use the toaster). In general, it's a very good choice for a relaxing stay in Woodstock.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeZ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
3.0 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
8.6 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
8.8 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twin Gables of Woodstock
Twin Gables of Woodstock
#5 of 8 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Rose Inn

Property: The Wild Rose Inn
Address: 66 Rock City Rd, Woodstock, NY 12498-1221
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in the heart of Woodstock village. An award-winning 1898 Victorian B&B with antique furnishings and private whirlpool bathtubs walking distance to fine restaurants, galleries, and hippie boutiques. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing