We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the main drag, but worth seeking out”

Mountain Gate Indian Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 37 Restaurants in Woodstock
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
USA
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Off the main drag, but worth seeking out”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

When traveling to this part of the Catskills, you might ask do they really have authentic Indian food? The answer is yes.
I have dined here with people from various countries and they have all been surprised that they are getting the real deal in the hamlet of Woodstock.
The kitchen does a great job turning out what you want and will work with you should you have food allergies. Service might not be up to NYC standards, but it is worth keeping in mind you are eating in a family run place.
Enjoy eating here when visiting Woodstock.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohayomountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    4
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad place and Indian is our favorite food!!!!!!!!!!! PS I am sorry but ....”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I am sorry to say we love Indian food and this restaurant has always been awful in most ways . It would be so easy to make it better...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Maybe on a Tuesday”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The night I went in, I was the only diner--initially-- I had to walk into the kitchen to let them know I was there. Meal was average. Wondered how they could mess up Naan?? Tuesday nights are buffet nights, maybe I will chance it again then.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank missjean64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ikephil
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Yes, there is an Indian Rest. in Woodstock”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Mountain Gate has authentic Indian foods and is very good.
Don't miss their Tuesday night buffet. It's the best deal in town.
The owner is the chef and he is awesome. Try the vegitarian/ or meat dishes/ and the breads. So good. It's off of Tinker St....just around the corner from the Fletcher Gallery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ikephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Was just ok”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We were in the area for vacation and decided to have dinner at Mt. Gate. The Tues. night buffet was available and that's what I ordered. My husband ordered a lamb dish. He enjoyed his. I wish I'd have ordered from the menu too. The buffet was really haphazard and tucked into a small area in the back room. Didn't seem very clean. The food was mediocre. I've had much better Indian food at numerous restaurants near home so I was disappointed. Looks like others really enjoyed it, based on older reviews. If you like Indian, give it a try. I probably won't if I'm back in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MP_PhD1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Gate Indian Restaurant also viewed

Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Been to Mountain Gate Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing