We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Family Wedding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twin Gables of Woodstock
Ranked #5 of 8 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Family was gathering from out of town for a wedding in the area and I was looking for a place where all of us could stay. We booked eight of the ten rooms. It was wonderful to all be together in what felt like a home atmosphere. We hung out in the living room and played games, talked, joked. The staff was friendly.The rooms were lovely. The location was perfect. We could walk to restaurants, stores, swimming holes.
I highly recommend this B and B!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Twin Gables of Woodstock
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

This part of New York can be expensive, so we were happy to find a room at this B&B rather late in the game. Both the room and bathroom were large and clean. I also didn't mind that we had a continental breakfast rather than the hot breakfast many B&Bs offer--sometimes that is kinder to the waistline. I also appreciated the fact that there was parking just behind the building (only four spaces but we always found one open when we returned in the evening), that we were right in the middle of the town, and that coffee was available at all hours with actual milk in the fridge (not just those awful powders full of chemicals). So someone was obviously trying to make the guests happy.

However the decor in the room was really tired. (We were in a front room on the ground floor--I don't know if the other rooms were similar.) I felt like I was visiting a (very nice and very clean) elderly relative who had not updated anything for a long time. I have stayed in a lot of B&Bs over the years, and I enjoy that feeling of being spoiled a bit, like a special guest, and I missed it here. Here there was visible plumbing, painted plywood partitions to create some storage space, kind of cheap curtains over this storage space, badly painted wooden floors visible where the unattractive carpeting left it exposed. Some of these elements are probably compromises that were made to modernize an old building, but they felt jerry-rigged and badly done. This old house has lovely bones and when the owners have the available capital, they would do well to invest in a high-quality upgrade. But until then, it is still a comfortable and convenient place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLFrenchTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was a pleasure to spend some days in this guest house. The staff is very welcoming and efficient, my room was cozy and the bathroom very clean. I particularly appreciated soy milk in the fridge, muffins, fresh fruits and plenty of towels. The location is on the high street but it's not noisy, I could hear crickets and cicadas all night long! There is air conditioning but I never felt the need the use it. Looking forward to see you next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifeonmara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Twin Gables is a cozy bed and breakfast in the heart of Woodstock. Nice to park the car out front and walk the town for dinner and gallery hopping. We had the shared baths, but they were always available when needed. Nicely decorated, friendly staff, and includes continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The room was comfortable, beds firm, bathrooms serviceable; But best of all is the self-service breakfast: wonderful assortment of fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, fresh orange juice, and individually brewed cups of fresh coffee. And its put out in a large living room-type setting with coaches, assorted chairs and tables- a good place to meet fellow guests and exchange idea. It's also located in the center of woodstock, so you can park yo car behind the house and walk to shops and restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geomicdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This sweet little bnb was perfect for us. We were in town for a concert at Bearsville, so only needed a place to lay our heads late that evening after the show, and back on the road early in the morning. The interactions by phone and on arrival were friendly and efficient. The shared bath option here is unique: 5 rooms share 3 bathrooms, so there was never a wait. The art on the walls (by local artists, rotating, and for sale) gave an added dimension. This place is laid back without being unattending. The decor is comfortable, clean, and a little artsy. Painted wide-plank wood floors, tiled bathrooms, great towels and bedding, comfy furnishings. Welcoming but not intrusive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnionRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just spent two nights at TG. It needs some serious TLC inside and out. Its a good location, but you get the feeling that nobody seriously cares. The grounds are all overgrown and flower pots are full of dead flowers. Cobwebs in the doorway. The front door inside the vestibule is black with dirt. Small living room with old couches you can barely get out of. Our room was nice until you notice the broken window and the stains on the ceiling. The breakfast was tasteless fruit and stale muffins, that's it. I have never been to a b & b that had such a terrible breakfast. Never going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rossi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.2 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
2.6 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
54 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
19.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morning Glory B&B Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Gables of Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Gables of Woodstock

Address: 73 Tinker St, Woodstock, NY 12498-1238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: £66 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Woodstock; reasonably priced, charming rooms; free complimentary continental breakfast; 24X7 coffee/tea station; wifi ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing