We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spirit Is Here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodstock Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Spirit Is Here”
Reviewed 27 August 2008

My wife and I just came back from a wonderful stay at the Woodstock Country Inn.Carol was a pleasure to meet and very helpful and straightforward.I must say that I went back to rekindle the kindred spirit and sense of peace I felt at the festival 39 years ago....Sure, the town of Woodstock is great but that spirit resides at the Woodstock Country Inn. You can just feel where Dylan and The Band drew from. There is an atmosphere there that connects you back to what' s important. The fact that the house is immaculate and beautiful, the salt water pool invigorating and the bed so very comfortable doesn't hurt either.
Thanks very much to Carol and her lovely staff...
Eric Roberts [not really]

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank featman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
88
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2008

My girlfriend and I celebrated her birthday at the Woodstock Country Inn in June. We came up from New York City in hopes of finding a relaxing place to spend the weekend. We found that and much more. The inn is nestled in a beautiful wooded area at the end of a long country driveway. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms, which had access to a private balcony that overlooked the mountains. Our favorite part of the stay was having coffee out on the balcony each morning. Our room was clean and fresh — with rustic furnishings. We found ourselves wanting to take a break from the cafes and shops in Woodstock just so we could go back to the inn and relax around the pool. Carol, the innkeeper, is an amazing host. We really enjoyed talking with her over breakfast. She has plenty of great stories about Woodstock and the inn. We would recommend this B&B for anyone looking for a quiet, beautiful place to unwind and enjoy the country.

  • Liked — Private accommodations in a secluded setting with beautiful mountain views
  • Disliked — No complaints. Great place!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCitywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend last year. It was so charming. We had a room upstairs with a balcony and we loved it. Everything was crisp and clean, had a great country energy and is located down a private drive off one of the nicest roads around Woodstock. The village of Woodstock is an amazing place but sometimes it can be a bit much to be there for a few days. Being isolated from the busy downtown was great. We took several walks along the road up to the lake. Another day we just hung out in the hammock and drank some wine. The Inn sits in a little valley surrounded by beautiful lush green hills. At night we fell asleep to the frogs and crickets. Coming from New York City, it was such a pleasant way to spend a weekend. Carol the Innkeeper is great, she was particularly refreshed after returning from her summer in Nova Scotia (I believe). Keep in mind that she rents the entire Inn out for the summer to a celebrity British rocker, so definitely plan to visit in the Spring or Fall or you won't have your call answered. Down the road is the Bear Cafe, one of the nicest restaurants in Ulster County - definitely go while in Woodstock!

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petercasella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinwoodstock, owner at Woodstock Country Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2008
Thanks so much for all the kind words! I would like people to know that I don't rent the inn out EVERY summer and when I do it is only for July and part of August. As this reviewer noted, I re-open for Labor Day weekend. Thank you, Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson valley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Spend a stay here reading on your private patio or porch, napping in the hammock under the tree, then sleeping all night in your fluffy yummy pillowtop bed with sunshine-dried sheets. ZZZZZZZzzzzz. Over your scratch breakfast, made with organic everything and local roasted coffee with glass-bottle local milk, ask the delightful proprietor about her "best sleep ever!" anecdote.

  • Liked — beds, lovely rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aviettepress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

We had a family event to attend in the Catskills and wanted a night to ourselves. The innkeeper, Carol, gave us a recommendation for the Bear Cafe. It was great- make reservations on a weekend, even out of season.
The inn was lovely. We hope to come back and use the pool. It looks great.. It is set in a meadow and it just looks so relaxing. Also true for the hammock- I can just imagine reading a book there. The inn is. close to town and all the wonderful shops. We were very bad in the Fletcher Gallery, but the watercolors we bought will bring us pleasure for many years.
We loved the inn. It shows Carol's attention to every detail. The rooms just look inviting and I for one love all the white paint and country look. Our room looked like it had a private deck and I loved the soaking tub, but we might be tempted to go for the room Carol made out of the garage - it has cathedral ceilings in the bedroom and a sitting room and small fridge.
Pictures by the previous owner Jo Catrine are lovely.
Breakfast was great- how does Carol make her eggs taste so good?
Also, best part is talking to Carol. We got to hear about her early life in Woodstock, her interaction with the Band. She also told us about Levon Helm's midnight rambles. We can't wait to go back for a session. Sounds wonderful. Carol is great. She made us a fire when we got there on a rainy and cold Friday afternoon. The common room with the fireplace was all ours.
What a treat. We will be sure to go back. We felt we met a new friend in Carol. Thanks Carol for a wonderful stay.
Donna

  • Liked — The innkeeper
  • Disliked — bit hard to find- especially at nigh
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldcbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2008

I came to the town of Woodstock to visit my daughter and found the loveliest bed and breakfast. The rooms beautifully decorated and clean. And the innkeeper and her assistant were just wonderful. Also the view is just spectacular, and though it is just outside the center of town it seems as if it is in it's own little tranquil world.

  • Liked — the full breakfast was organic
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JohnWestVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

My husband and I needed a break from our stressed out New York City lives, and the Woodstock Country Inn was the exact slice of heavenly peace and quiet that we had been seeking. As soon as we pulled into the long driveway and were surrounded by the tall trees and pretty mountain views, we knew we had chosen the right place.

The b&b is on a beautiful piece of property with a great view of the mountains. The vibe is almost more alpine than Catskills, with all of the pine trees around, although maybe that's because we were there in March. In any event, we were finally able to unwind and breathe again after spending a night in this tranquil house.

The town of Woodstock is very cute with lots of cozy shops and galleries. Upon Carol's recommendation (proprietor of the Inn), we went to the Bear Cafe for dinner and had a lovely time. The food and ambiance was great and exactly what we had been looking for (without even knowing it).

Carol, who owns and runs this b&b, is a kind and lively woman who will make you feel comfortable and at ease right away. We were delighted as she regaled us with stories about all the fascinating people who have stayed at her inn over the years!

Before we left and went back home to the city, on Carol's recommendation we took a walk from the inn down to the gorgeous Cooper's Lake (a short walk down the road). I definitely recommend this activity!

In short, we relaxed, had a great time, and got in the fresh country air we so desperately needed. Thank you, Carol!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMMossNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.6 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
3.8 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
50 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
18.1 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
499 reviews
11.3 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Country Inn

Property: Woodstock Country Inn
Address: 185 Cooper Lake Road, Woodstock, NY 12498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed elegance in an idyllic, peaceful natural country setting. Absolute quiet on nine acres surrounded by mountain views. 4 Rooms with private baths, private decks, cable tv, a/c. Wi-fi. Heated saline pool in wildflower meadow. Delicious organic breakfasts. Recommended by NY Times, Fodors, Weekends Away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodstock Country Hotel Woodstock
Country Inn Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing