We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Motel with potential...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Old Tappan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Motel with potential...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Woodstock is becoming our home away from home and this is giving us the opportunity to try each of the local accommodations. This trip we were looking for a place on short notice to lay our heads for the night and despite being a bit over-priced for the area, a room was available, so we booked it. Not fond of sharing bathrooms, thos motel and cottages style lodging offered the private bath I prefer, despite its miniscule size. However they can be a bit tricky for larger (plus size) patrons to use, and there is no place to put toiletries down while you are in there. On the up side there is good water pressure.

Having read other reviews it appears there are a variety of accommodations available on this property, but to improve room amenities and size you will pay quite a bit more here. Our #2 quaint tiny motel room was cute and sparsely appointed in a dated simple style, with two to three feet of space to walk around the bed. Accommodations included an end table, small dresser and a hard wood side chair. There is a cheap plastic yard chair on the porch you could carry in if more than one person wants to sit down inside. An old TV is wall mounted and a noisy wall mounted heater blows intermittently. We would have turned it off, but the dry air produced seemed like it might combat the awful smell of damp rotting dead things pervading the room. It was obviously a long standing problem so we picked up Febreeze at the store, but it really couldn't alleviate the stench. We will consider trying out other rooms on this property in the future, but will probably want to check them before committing. All our luggage and fabric goods actually smelled funky when we left, and had to be aired out upon our return home. We might have addressed this to management, but we arrived late, left early and I was not inclined to make a fuss after the fact.

This was our third stay in town over a two month period and we will concede that despite the humble, smelly accommodations, the location is still just convenient enough to park your car and walk to everything, considering the lack of lighting or sidewalks that causes nighttime excitement when cars need to pass. One of our favorite restaurants, Joshua's is just a block away. Speaking of food ... in all our travels we have never before encountered the schedule peculiar to this town. Elsewhere, no self respecting motel/hotel would wait until so late in the morning to set out a continental breakfast! Since it isn't a B&B with a scheduled hot cooked meal being offered at a dining table, there should be no excuse to delay offering yogurt, fruit and granola until 9 am, when most busy folks are long gone. With other activities to attend to, I actually had to return between 9-11 in order to check out, but was at least able to grab a banana then.

With money to burn I could see vacationing here during spring and summer months to fully appreciate the unique grounds and setting. Having to venture out to "the office" in all weather to get breakfast may be less daunting in mild seasons. The variety of accommodations available through this one establishment gives the "Inn" on the Mill Stream an advantage, and we will definitely try again in the spring and hopefully have more good things to report.

Happy Travels!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CherelleDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We appreciate your input and glad you enjoyed our location even though some things were not to your liking. Certainly, with a late check in and early departure, your time here was limited and we hope on your return visit you will have time to enjoy the grounds and setting. Please know our innkeeper is always on site and had she been contacted could have quickly addressed your situation by simply moving you to another room and then attending to your concerns. Each room is personally inspected by the innkeeper prior to a guest’s arrival so this was obviously a sudden change in the room’s condition. Surely had we known of any concerns the room would not have been released to you, or any guest and a different room provided instead.
Also, there are several upgrades currently in progress at the inn including new flat screen televisions and additional shelves for toiletries in the standard rooms. We value each guest’s feedback and want your stay to be enjoyable. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    123
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
68
293
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. My family enjoys staying here often. We came after our wedding and enjoyed our stay very much! Woodstock is one of our favorite places. The inn has a fantastic breakfast...the granola is my favorite! The rooms are very clean and quiet and the location is PERFECT for walking through the town! The room is a little small-but perfect for a weekend trip. If you want a lot of space I'd recommend upgraded to one of the cottages, but we enjoyed our time there and felt comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRand82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks for your review. We do strive to make all our guests comfortable so we're glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Returned over and over to this quaint lovely clean little motel right in heart of Woodstock. Park yourcar and go walking or sit by lovely stream and enjoy. Breakfast is great and the staff always friendly....great getaway

Room Tip: End units little bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Glad we can be your go-to getaway! It's such a compliment when our guests return for future stays - thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
279 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were in Woodstock on business. It was in October during the beautiful fall colors, so we decided to stay at this Inn because it was in the woods and on a stream. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. We walked down to the stream to take various photos of the all the trees in color along the stream. It was easy to walk into the town of Woodstock. The town is quite small with limited restaurants & bars. There are many shops, but only open during the day time. The breakfast was average with breads, cereal, coffee, juice & fruit. The one problem we had while staying here was the internet was not working very well. Being that we were in Woodstock on business, it made it difficult to do work when the internet was not working well. Overall the place has charm in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
So pleased you were able to take the time to enjoy our dramatic foliage season - the colors change by the moment at that time of year and make the days perfect for strolling into town. Thanks for notifying us about the internet since we know it's important to our guests and also for seeing the charm in our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great location a half mile walk from the main downtown strip. Situated on an attractive brook and a super friendly cat that follows you around. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. Outstanding breakfast - organic and/or locally sourced breads, grains, dairy, super yummy smoked salmon, yogurt.

The knock is that the bathroom is poorly laid out and extremely difficult to negotiate (toilet practically under the sink, no shelf space for toiletries, really short shower). Also, the common room (breakfast room) could use a couple of comfortable couches so you can relax there in the evening with a bottle of wine.

Overall, a great stay at Woodstock Inn for a couple to getaway to the charming town of Woodstock. Recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We really appreciate your review and the delicious description of our breakfast - as well as the suggestion for the lobby. We do offer a variety of rooms and sizes, from the standard which you were in, to suites and stand-alone cottages. Even our bathroom options include full-size spa tubs so if luxury is what you're after we certainly can accommodate your desires. Thank you for the input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I drive often between homes in Maryland and Vermont. We often divide the trip up with a stop along the way. Why not Woodstock, NY this trip I asked and looked for a B&B. It's a gem, we enjoyed our stay and will include it in future trips. The price is reasonable and the location is convenient to places in town. If you want the space and amenities of a chain or high end resort this would not be for you - but it is cozy and clean - some of the units are converted from an older "historic" motel, but we found that charming. The location is quiet, by a stream. Breakfast was excellent and we were on our way for a trek through the Catskills to points south.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruxtoncar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Glad you appreciate our charm and unique aspects, as well as our convenient location. See you on your next journey northward!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isernhagen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were highly satisfied with our stay in this hotel. The hosts are very friendly, the rooms are very charming and the breakfast is excellent. We experienced the spirit of Woodstock New York, and enjoyed the natural beauty of the countryside.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.4 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
9.0 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
10.4 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
11.1 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream

Property: The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Address: 48 Tannery Brook Rd, Woodstock, NY 12498-1522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the natural beauty of our Woodstock NY bed and breakfast located in the peaceful Hudson Valley. Enjoy the warmth of a bed and breakfast with the amenities of a boutique hotel. Our stream side setting - complete with bluestone patios, hammocks and fully landscaped gardens - is the perfect place to just unwind or relax after an active day touring Woodstock or the Catskills. We are a chic sanctuary, walkable to all attractions in the heart of Woodstock's village, including galleries, museums, shops and restaurants. We have 18 private rooms and studios with complimentary gourmet continental breakfast and Wi-Fi. We also have two stand-alone cottages available. Our rates starting at $169 offer something for everyone, while our innkeeper's care, knowledge and attention to detail ensure you will have a fully authentic Woodstock experience when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Woodstock Inn On The Millstream Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing