We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Every thing I expected . This small Inn was very confortable. They a good Breakfast and a beautiful and quiet view of the stream . Good place to be .
O Bed & Breakfast, atendeu as expectativas . Lugar lindo e calmo . Muito bom para descansar e repor energias.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for your kind words and glad you enjoyed your peaceful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    123
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
68
293
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Woodstock Inn provided the perfect pre-Christmas getaway. Situated in the town of Woodstock, and just a short walk to downtown, it's a great value-oriented spot for a quick trip.

I loved that you get to see and pick your own room, and that the photos and descriptions are accurate on their website. No trick photography to make their quaint rooms look palatial. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable for two adults. Comfy bed, stall shower, mini fridge and a cozy gas fireplace in room 8A.

The staff is really what makes the Woodstock Inn shine. There is a friendliness and hospitality that speaks of a bygone era in travel. None of this wham bam thank you ma'am transactional commoditization of a room. No. You're staying at their place, which they take pride in.

During our two night stay, we walk through town, ate at the tiny but tasty noodle bar one night, the Bear Cafe the next night and took in a great hike on Overlook mountain that's not to be missed!

Enjoy and thanks for the stay Woodstock Inn.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty small as compared to most newer hotels/motels, but the Woodstock Inn makes up f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks! Getting to know our guests personally is certainly a highlight of working at the Inn – it offers us the opportunity to enhance your visit by sharing our experiences and knowledge of both Woodstock and the Hudson Valley. And also glad the web site offered you the information you needed when choosing a room. Hope you’ll be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay. The whole staff was very accommodating. It's a beautiful piece of property, and the rooms are really nice. The breakfast was much more than I expected. I definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delmasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks for your comments and we hope you’ll be back. The grounds are beautiful in other seasons and eating breakfast on the blue stone patios next to the stream is a lovely way to start your day in warmer weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I travel to Woodstock at least twice per year and this is my preferred lodging place. So friendly, clean and perfectly situated to the town and surrounding recreational offerings. I have always been pleased with their customer orientation and beautiful setting. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Our repeat guests are such a pleasure! Glad you can enjoy all the offerings when you visit and we really look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent our Christmas in Woodstock, we stayed at the Millstream and loved it! Karen, the owner, was gracious and looked like she did not stop working even though it was a holiday. The room was cozy and spotless and the breakfast was a pleasant surprise. As vegans we were totally taken care of, which is rare. Non vegans were also very happy. I can't wait to get back in the spring. And the hiking in the area was amazing!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit - especially during a holiday - and that our diverse breakfast foods met your particular dietary needs. Look forward to your spring return visit - the trails will be beautiful and abloom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Tappan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Woodstock is becoming our home away from home and this is giving us the opportunity to try each of the local accommodations. This trip we were looking for a place on short notice to lay our heads for the night and despite being a bit over-priced for the area, a room was available, so we booked it. Not fond of sharing bathrooms, thos motel and cottages style lodging offered the private bath I prefer, despite its miniscule size. However they can be a bit tricky for larger (plus size) patrons to use, and there is no place to put toiletries down while you are in there. On the up side there is good water pressure.

Having read other reviews it appears there are a variety of accommodations available on this property, but to improve room amenities and size you will pay quite a bit more here. Our #2 quaint tiny motel room was cute and sparsely appointed in a dated simple style, with two to three feet of space to walk around the bed. Accommodations included an end table, small dresser and a hard wood side chair. There is a cheap plastic yard chair on the porch you could carry in if more than one person wants to sit down inside. An old TV is wall mounted and a noisy wall mounted heater blows intermittently. We would have turned it off, but the dry air produced seemed like it might combat the awful smell of damp rotting dead things pervading the room. It was obviously a long standing problem so we picked up Febreeze at the store, but it really couldn't alleviate the stench. We will consider trying out other rooms on this property in the future, but will probably want to check them before committing. All our luggage and fabric goods actually smelled funky when we left, and had to be aired out upon our return home. We might have addressed this to management, but we arrived late, left early and I was not inclined to make a fuss after the fact.

This was our third stay in town over a two month period and we will concede that despite the humble, smelly accommodations, the location is still just convenient enough to park your car and walk to everything, considering the lack of lighting or sidewalks that causes nighttime excitement when cars need to pass. One of our favorite restaurants, Joshua's is just a block away. Speaking of food ... in all our travels we have never before encountered the schedule peculiar to this town. Elsewhere, no self respecting motel/hotel would wait until so late in the morning to set out a continental breakfast! Since it isn't a B&B with a scheduled hot cooked meal being offered at a dining table, there should be no excuse to delay offering yogurt, fruit and granola until 9 am, when most busy folks are long gone. With other activities to attend to, I actually had to return between 9-11 in order to check out, but was at least able to grab a banana then.

With money to burn I could see vacationing here during spring and summer months to fully appreciate the unique grounds and setting. Having to venture out to "the office" in all weather to get breakfast may be less daunting in mild seasons. The variety of accommodations available through this one establishment gives the "Inn" on the Mill Stream an advantage, and we will definitely try again in the spring and hopefully have more good things to report.

Happy Travels!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CherelleDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We appreciate your input and glad you enjoyed our location even though some things were not to your liking. Certainly, with a late check in and early departure, your time here was limited and we hope on your return visit you will have time to enjoy the grounds and setting. Please know our innkeeper is always on site and had she been contacted could have quickly addressed your situation by simply moving you to another room and then attending to your concerns. Each room is personally inspected by the innkeeper prior to a guest’s arrival so this was obviously a sudden change in the room’s condition. Surely had we known of any concerns the room would not have been released to you, or any guest and a different room provided instead.
Also, there are several upgrades currently in progress at the inn including new flat screen televisions and additional shelves for toiletries in the standard rooms. We value each guest’s feedback and want your stay to be enjoyable. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. My family enjoys staying here often. We came after our wedding and enjoyed our stay very much! Woodstock is one of our favorite places. The inn has a fantastic breakfast...the granola is my favorite! The rooms are very clean and quiet and the location is PERFECT for walking through the town! The room is a little small-but perfect for a weekend trip. If you want a lot of space I'd recommend upgraded to one of the cottages, but we enjoyed our time there and felt comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRand82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks for your review. We do strive to make all our guests comfortable so we're glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.4 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
9.0 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
10.4 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
11.1 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream

Property: The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Address: 48 Tannery Brook Rd, Woodstock, NY 12498-1522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the natural beauty of our Woodstock NY bed and breakfast located in the peaceful Hudson Valley. Enjoy the warmth of a bed and breakfast with the amenities of a boutique hotel. Our stream side setting - complete with bluestone patios, hammocks and fully landscaped gardens - is the perfect place to just unwind or relax after an active day touring Woodstock or the Catskills. We are a chic sanctuary, walkable to all attractions in the heart of Woodstock's village, including galleries, museums, shops and restaurants. We have 18 private rooms and studios with complimentary gourmet continental breakfast and Wi-Fi. We also have two stand-alone cottages available. Our rates starting at $169 offer something for everyone, while our innkeeper's care, knowledge and attention to detail ensure you will have a fully authentic Woodstock experience when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Woodstock Inn On The Millstream Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing