We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The first night we stayed in one of the efficiency which for me, a 6 foot 3 inch man was a bit small. The next night we stayed in one of their larger suites and it was wonderful. A king size bed in a large room with a cathedral ceiling, big screen flat screen tv, a fireplace and a bathroom with a whirlpool bath. And it had a back door leading to a semi-private patio on the beautiful stream. The grounds were very well kept, the breakfast was delicious, and the Innkeeper and her staff were excellent and professional. Next time was are in Woodstock NY we know where we will be staying. Just a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Our variety of rooms allows us to meet many people’s travel needs and so glad you were able to enjoy your time with us! While the staff’s professionalism is just what we do here at the Inn, it is nice to get a pat on the back every once in a while – thanks. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    128
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
77
310
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falun, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This place was as nice as the pictures! So relaxing to sit in those chairs beside the millstream, it was almost hard to get out of them to make the short walk into town. We chose a small room, and it was indeed very small, but clean and cozy! Owner is very friendly and willing to help and give suggestions. She brought us wine from her kitchen as she happened to have an open bottle in her fridge! If ever back in the area we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKH202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Many a day has been enjoyed watching the Millstream flow past – it really is mesmerizing. Thanks for noticing our room details and we agree that Karen is a generous person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staten island ny
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were upgraded to cottage 11. It was quaint. At night we keep the door open , there was a screen door, so we can hear the stream. The owner was very nice. Location was walking distance to town. The property is well maintained. We ate at Cucina. It is a delicious italian restaurant in town..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Glad you were able to enjoy your time in Woodstock and got to experience some of our town’s great restaurants. With the warmer weather upon us it is a treat having the evening’s fresh air flow through our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

To be fair, let me first list the good:
1) Great location with a very short walk into town; 2) Very clean room (though there were ants coming from the sink area - hey it's the country so you're gonna see a bug here and there); 3) Uh, that's really it.
The bad:
1) If you're looking for a charming country B & B with a warm, welcoming proprietor, look elsewhere. This is a motel and the woman that runs it, Karen, is anything but warm; 2) The "millstream" is very picturesque. Unfortunately, don't plan on skipping through the grass to get a close look - every square inch of the lawn is smothered in what appears to be the droppings of some substantial, mutant geese. Seriously, every square inch. There is some outdoor furniture on the grounds but not one guest used it while we were there due to the "fertilizer" on the lawn. It is truly disgusting; 3) The millstream abuts a rather busy road so some of its charm is lost when looking at heavy traffic flow to its immediate left; 4) Karen, the manager, is at best aloof. Working in the hospitality business was probably not the best career choice. She does not make you feel welcome and seems to be incredibly stressed. She's the type of person that you immediately feel uncomfortable around; 5) We were in one of the small rooms and by "small" I mean prison cell. We actually got a good laugh immediately upon entering. But the real guffaws came when I had to pee. Bathroom is so small that your @$$ is almost against the door when you're brushing your teeth. And, as other people have noted, you have to be a contortionist to be able to twist into position to sit on the bowl - it's literally halfway under the sink, So when you are doing your business, your face is literally in the sink. It's like being in a dentist's chair when you have to rinse and spit. It was silly; 6) Our mattress was lumpy, hard and uncomfortable; 7) There is a common walkway that leads to all the units on our strip. It was extremely noisy when walked on so we were awakened several times when the night owls came back to their rooms; 8) Don't expect a typical, hearty B & B breakfast. More akin to a La Quinta but without the waffle maker.
I think if we paid substantially less than the $160 per night that we paid, I would not have been so critical. But the room was simply not worth it.
I almost felt sorry for Karen because she just looked so stressed. She seemed to be doing everything - from getting the breakfast all laid out, to accepting payment for rooms to cleaning the rooms! I guess she has good reason to be stressed.
I debated publishing a critical review because of that. But I feel that I was misled by some of the glowing 5 star reviews I had read on Trip Advisor (and again, as another reviewer speculated, I wonder how many of these reviews are legit or plants.)
If you want that classic B & B experience, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeSPF40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write, and sorry things were not to your liking. With Mother Nature delaying the arrival of spring this year our lawn aerating had to be done later than usual. What you saw was not fertilizer, but "corings" from the rich soil of the lawn.
Karen is indeed a busy, hands-on innkeeper. Her contagious warmth and care is in fact the reason many guests return year after year - unfortunately, you didn't get to enjoy that. And, we can assure you all reviews are authentic - that is a strictly-enforced Trip Advisor policy. We don't portray ourselves as a 'traditional' B&B, rather as a hybrid that can cater to the many eclectic needs of the folks who want to enjoy Woodstock for any variety of reasons. We know it takes all kinds of people - and all sizes of rooms - to make the world go round, and we really hope your next vacation getaway is more enjoyable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Outstanding service! nice rooms very nice staff, breakfast was amazing every morning. Karen is the best, she even gave me several car rides and recommended the best places to eat. I loved the town and the Inn, very relaxing and all around beautiful. I really loved the good coffee and Lox!!

Room Tip: I loved Unit 1 because it's at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
A specialized getaway is always a treat – glad you got to enjoy your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We are currently expecting and wanted a quiet weekend getaway to relax and have some romantic time. We opted to stay in one of the bigger rooms with a whirlpool tub which was amazing!!

The grounds are gorgeous, well maintained and landscaped. Karen was very friendly and full of suggestions, some other staff working around the inn were more introverted, but none the less it was very cozy and clean.

The breakfast is definately a step above typical continental breakfast with fresh fruits, granola, and bagels.

I would definately come back for a quick weekend away, especially during the warmer months when a dip in the stream would be welcomed.

Places like this are the reason I opt to stay at Mom and Pop inn's and BB's because the attention to detail, cozy atmosphere, and personal service cant not compare to any Hilton!

Room Tip: Choose a larger room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess81286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Glad you got to relax at the Inn during this special time in your lives. Our personal service and attention to detail are traits we embrace for all guests, whether they’re enjoying a quiet babymoon, a full-fledged family vacation or just wanting to get away for some R&R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was there with my wife on Easter 2014 and we loved it. Karen, the manager, loves her clients and you can see it in the details. The rooms are clean and cozy and the breakfast, though humble, is nicely assorted with high quality ingredients. Of course, you stay there to vistit Woodstock, but you can also sit outside watching the stream and relax, read or, if you feel active, Karen will give you suggestions to go jogging or for a hike.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hèctor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
The opportunity to be as active - or as relaxed - as you’d like is a great benefit of staying at the Inn. And Karen’s passion is evident in all aspects of the Inn. Look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.4 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
52 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
875 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
503 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
10.4 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream

Property: The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Address: 48 Tannery Brook Rd, Woodstock, NY 12498-1522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the natural beauty of our Woodstock NY bed and breakfast located in the peaceful Hudson Valley. Enjoy the warmth of a bed and breakfast with the amenities of a boutique hotel. Our stream side setting - complete with bluestone patios, hammocks and fully landscaped gardens - is the perfect place to just unwind or relax after an active day touring Woodstock or the Catskills. We are a chic sanctuary, walkable to all attractions in the heart of Woodstock's village, including galleries, museums, shops and restaurants. We have 18 private rooms and studios with complimentary gourmet continental breakfast and Wi-Fi. We also have two stand-alone cottages available. Our rates starting at $169 offer something for everyone, while our innkeeper's care, knowledge and attention to detail ensure you will have a fully authentic Woodstock experience when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Woodstock Inn On The Millstream Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing