We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a pleasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Ideally located, extremely clean and exquisitely charming, this is the only place to stay in Woodstock as far as we're concerned. We were warmly welcomed by Karen upon our arrival and each morning at breakfast. We stayed in Room 18 which is the cute apartment over the Cape. With two teenagers, it was the perfect set-up for our family...one bedroom with a king bed, another room with twin beds and a kitchenette. Access to the stream is on-site, downtown is a short walk away and amazing trails, waterfalls and water holes are just a short drive. Also, the extent of the extended continental breakfast was a nice surprise! It surpassed our expectations, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn and in Woodstock, overall.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leemarie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

So glad you were able to enjoy some family vacation time with us. The area’s numerous activities are a treat for all ages, as well as our favorite highlight: sitting by the stream and enjoying the beauty of the day. So glad all your family members were able to enjoy the magic of Woodstock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I am sitting at the inn and waiting to leave and wanted to make sure to leave my thoughts. This is a wonderful inn and a very pleasant surprise. The rooms are certainly small if you stay in the inexpensive rooms and the bathrooms are a tight squeeze, but certainly manageable and a wonderful bargain. Karen was very laid back and accommodating and made it a very comfortable atmosphere to be in. The only things that were less that ideal was the placement of the ac, which blows in your face. But it's so lovely up here you hardly need it. And the level of noise in the morning. But that is attributable to the less than considerate guests and certainly not the inn itself. I must say I was a little concerned after reading previous reviews, but there is nothing to be worried about. This place is clean, beautiful and has a bountiful delicious continental breakfast. We will be back and I highly recommend a stay here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jexxmix81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We do have a variety of rooms to meet people’s different travel needs and budgets – we’ve found with so much to do and so many beautiful spots on our grounds people enjoy all their options. We certainly look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed at the Woodstock Inn with my mother and my sister last Independence weekend. We had a large and recently renovated room. It was spacious and comfortable with a very nice bathroom and a small kitchenette. It also had a small terrace that looked into the Millstream, where you could seat and read quietly. The Inn keeper was very nice and helpful. She gave us very useful advice to visit and enjoy the area. She served the most delicious granola for breakfast and she made it herself!!

Room Tip: ask for the recently renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaIsabelDiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Glad your holiday vacation was relaxing and you were able to take advantage of the peacefulness of the Inn and stream. Karen certainly loves sharing her vast knowledge of the area with guests, and the really lucky folks are those who are here when she’s made her granola! Glad you got to experience both for a true Woodstock getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Every summer we travel to Tanglewood, Cooperstown and Woodstock for music and art events.
the Woodstock Inn is a place we always look forward to....pleasant surroundings, and a warm welcome from the ever-helpful Karen. This is the most relaxing place on our trips. Breakfasts are buffet-informal and very satisfying..........we usually don't need another meal until evening. There is a range of eating places within a walk or a short drive. The Bear Cafe and the Red Onion are our favorites.
Less than 30 minutes away is the beautiful campus of Bard College, where music festivals occur for most of the summer, with the stunning Frank Gehry designed theatre/concert hall.

Room Tip: The higher cost of the larger rooms are worth it, for the extra space. The smaller rooms are fine i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamishToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

What a lovely summer tradition you’ve developed and so glad we are a highlight of your annual travels. The area enjoys such rich entertainment options, it’s really a pleasure when guests use us as a base for their adventures. Look forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and are regular guests at this inn. It's our retreat for all seasons; we return again and again for the beauty, peace and hospitality. Typically, because we stay at least three nights, we choose the larger rooms: each one unique and special in its own way - all delightfully appointed, comfortable and crisply clean. Our latest stay was in Room 15 which has recently been completely renovated: simple, spacious, gorgeous. The beautifully maintained flower beds, old and new growth trees, and rooms with private patios really set this inn apart from most hotels and b&bs; the option to sit outdoors to read, contemplate nature, have a swim or simply take a nap in a hammock delivers a wholly restorative experience to harried inner city New Yorkers (like us). Breakfast is an amply stocked buffet with boiled eggs, lox,bagels, cream cheese, yogurt, yummy home made granola, fresh fruit, sweet breads, milks of every ilk, coffee, tea, etc. Karen, the innkeeper is nothing short of AMAZING: never intrusive, full of " la joie de vivre", ever ready to respond to a guest's need.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doe570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thanks! Your comments are an affirmation that the renovation challenges were all worthwhile. Constantly improving guests’ experiences may keep things ever-changing at the Inn, but staying authentic and offering a peaceful, friendly respite is always what we’re about. Glad you enjoy your visits and we certainly look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a great stay here. It's a beautiful relaxing spot and really close to town. The owner was really helpful and knowledgeable about the area--we went on a great hike thanks to her! Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the smaller rooms, but it was perfect for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JFW731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

So glad you enjoyed the stay – Karen loves sharing her insights about the area with our guests. Thanks for writing in and hope you’ll be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is probably the most difficult review I have done for trip advisor yet. First, MOTORCYCLISTS beware! If you, like my husband and myself, travel with big touring bikes be aware that the driveway is slanted and is all pea-stone. Granted, this is the first time in our traveling that I had forgotten to ask what the driveway and parking areas were like, my fault! It was difficult to park and extremely difficult to back the motorcycles in the morning on the slant on the P stone, it was very very slippery. The room we had, unit nine, looked cute in the pictures. Cute I will admit but tiny beyond belief. The bathroom was the worst part as other reviewers have said. It was difficult to sit on the toilet and not bang yourself on the sink. If you are a large person, forget it you will not fit! The eco-friendly soap products that they provided have the worst odor of any I have ever tried. The odor stayed with me all night very caustic smell. Their website said some rooms have coffee makers and that there is coffee in the lobby. Well, the small rooms do not have coffeemakers. I was told only the larger rooms have coffeemakers. This would be fine except that the coffee that was available in the lobby was only available when the lobby was open. The lobby/office closes at 7pm and does not reopen until breakfast at 9 AM! We do not usually stay at an inn until 10 o'clock in the morning! We are usually on our way by 8 AM. Therefore breakfast at this inn was useless to us. I was told that we could walk up into the village for coffee in the morning. This would be fine except that the walk consisted of an uphill walk on a very narrow street with no shoulder to walk on and fast-moving cars. There was a vending machine on the property but I was told by the lady at the office that the owner had not stocked it recently, therefore they were absolutely no beverage choices available on the property from 7 PM to 9 AM. So, all in all, I felt that the patrons who chose one of the smaller rooms are second-class visitors, no drinks or coffee available for us! Is it really so hard to put a coffee maker in every room, especially when you do not provide it in the lobby 24 hours a day! Not a horrible place, but definitely not worth the money.

Room Tip: Do not choose a small room unless you wish to feel like a second-class patron.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank PFos42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodstockInn, Manager at The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write and letting us know your concerns. There must have been a misunderstanding since drinks are always available in the office or through an honor system and please know, if asked, we certainly provide coffee makers for any room at the Inn. We want all our guests to thoroughly enjoy their visits. Room sizes do vary on our property and many guests have found the standard rooms are a nice option for their needs.
As always, our innkeeper is available around the clock to address any guest concerns if they arise. (Her contact information is displayed in the office should she have stepped out.) And although we've had many motorcycle guests stay without an issue, we weren't aware our lot was a concern. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. We hope the rest of your trip was more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.4 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
57 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Woodstock
The Lodge at Woodstock
#3 of 3 in Woodstock
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
916 reviews
10.4 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream

Address: 48 Tannery Brook Rd, Woodstock, NY 12498-1522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: £140 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the natural beauty of our Woodstock NY bed and breakfast located in the peaceful Hudson Valley. Enjoy the warmth of a bed and breakfast with the amenities of a boutique hotel. Our stream side setting - complete with bluestone patios, hammocks and fully landscaped gardens - is the perfect place to just unwind or relax after an active day touring Woodstock or the Catskills. We are a chic sanctuary, walkable to all attractions in the heart of Woodstock's village, including galleries, museums, shops and restaurants. We have 18 private rooms and studios with complimentary gourmet continental breakfast and Wi-Fi. We also have two stand-alone cottages available. Our rates starting at $169 offer something for everyone, while our innkeeper's care, knowledge and attention to detail ensure you will have a fully authentic Woodstock experience when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Woodstock Inn On The Millstream Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing