We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, awesome ambiance”
Review of Gypsy Wolf Cantina - CLOSED

Gypsy Wolf Cantina
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner
Kingston, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average food, awesome ambiance”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

First thing, cash or check only!
Second, I never get tired of looking around at all the decorations.
Third, this is nothing special, but good nonetheless. It's very basic Mexican food. I usually go here for dinner with others who love the place and think its a great deal. I do leave full and happy, but don't expect anything outrageous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TriStateGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awful in nearly every way”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

First, the good. Location, decor, and layout -- quirky and fun. Now the bad (and very bad): (i) a $10 margarita in a thimble glass, and watery; (ii) portion control is out of hand here -- the guacamole, which was tasty, was served in a taco shell bowl, but contained lettuce as a filler so as to reduce the amount of guacamole; the $18 platter contained 3-4 ounces of chicken and beef, and less, still, of cheese, with just a drop of sour cream; (iii) the $18 platter contained plenty of cheap rice and beans, but so little protein as to qualify as a rip-off; (iv) other dishes, enchilada, for one, was light on the cheese in favor of rice; (v) all of the food was gloppy. The prices were EXTREMELY high given the Taco Bell quality and puny portion sizes.
Service was inattentive at best, with each request (when we could flag down the server) greeted with a sigh.
The icing on the cake was the announcement at time of (over)payment that, not only does the establishment not take AMEX, but it takes NO CREDIT CARDS WHATSOEVER. Of course, we were directed to their ATM machine which charges $2.50 for a cash withdrawal.
There are very good restaurants in Woodstock. This is not one of them. Food is mediocre to poor, and the prices are ridiculously high for what you get. A very poor value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JECEsq.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in Woodstock, NY”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Good tacos, enchiladas, burritos and guacamole (why no tamales?!). A few good vegetarian options as well, along with steak and chicken entree selections. Margarita's are good and an OK (but small) selection of beers. Usually fairly busy with an eclectic Woodstock vibe. To my knowledge, they only accept cash (no credit cards), and while there is an ATM in the restaurant, I think it's an odd choice given that it isn't exactly cheap. It's a very deliberate decision for me to go there as I just don't keep a whole lot of cash on hand these days, preferring to use CC or debit card. I'd likely go more often if they accepted credit cards - just easier to deal with.

Overall, an enjoyable experience with friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mloeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Ridge, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mexican”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Great food but hard to figure out when this restaurant is open.
No lunch menu. Dinner is great but not always open. Reservations not available ( at least not when I've tried to make them...no answer on phone ). BUT. If you can get in there , it's the
Best Mexican food and atmosphere you would want!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hedges58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Ole Mole”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Here is a good Mexican restaurant that serves children with respect and accommodates their taste buds. I have been here a number of times and each time I find it to be good. I hold the term great for those that deserve that status, but this restaurant is currently good. The nachos are a good starter, especially the one with the kitchen sink thrown in. Chimichangas anf Fajitas are good tasting.The only draw back is the inconsistency.of two of my favorites, Black Bean Soup and the Chicken Mole. I have had nights were the soup was thick and very tasty and other evenings where it was watery and tasteless. The other dish is the Chicken Mole. For those of you who have never tasted this delicacy, you must try it at a highly rated true Mexican restaurant and you will enjoy a rainbow of wonderful flavors. Having had this dish in Mexico and Texas and San Diego, I am not an expert on Chicken Mole but when you have been to the top of the mountain it is difficult to start all over. The chef's I say this because of the inconsistency
of the preparation. I would still order the soup and the chicken and hope that it is a good night to taste, you will enjoy both.Order a Patron Margarita and the food will taste even better.
Worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank passionrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gypsy Wolf Cantina also viewed

Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing