We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southwest Fare in the Catskills” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gypsy Wolf Cantina - CLOSED

Gypsy Wolf Cantina
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Milford Square
Level Contributor
111 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Southwest Fare in the Catskills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Pulled in to give it a go, not a bad menu, and good service. Portions were big. Salsa was not bad. Nothing really screamed excellent, but I would give this place another go, and try a different dish on the menus. I had no complaints, but I'm partial to Mexican food, having lived in Santa Fe. So I'm hard to impress. I recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rinchen-Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Bland food. Poor service. Gross bathrooms. Hostess was cheerful and attentive. Cool decorations and paintings. Would not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average food, awesome ambiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

First thing, cash or check only!
Second, I never get tired of looking around at all the decorations.
Third, this is nothing special, but good nonetheless. It's very basic Mexican food. I usually go here for dinner with others who love the place and think its a great deal. I do leave full and happy, but don't expect anything outrageous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TriStateGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awful in nearly every way”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

First, the good. Location, decor, and layout -- quirky and fun. Now the bad (and very bad): (i) a $10 margarita in a thimble glass, and watery; (ii) portion control is out of hand here -- the guacamole, which was tasty, was served in a taco shell bowl, but contained lettuce as a filler so as to reduce the amount of guacamole; the $18 platter contained 3-4 ounces of chicken and beef, and less, still, of cheese, with just a drop of sour cream; (iii) the $18 platter contained plenty of cheap rice and beans, but so little protein as to qualify as a rip-off; (iv) other dishes, enchilada, for one, was light on the cheese in favor of rice; (v) all of the food was gloppy. The prices were EXTREMELY high given the Taco Bell quality and puny portion sizes.
Service was inattentive at best, with each request (when we could flag down the server) greeted with a sigh.
The icing on the cake was the announcement at time of (over)payment that, not only does the establishment not take AMEX, but it takes NO CREDIT CARDS WHATSOEVER. Of course, we were directed to their ATM machine which charges $2.50 for a cash withdrawal.
There are very good restaurants in Woodstock. This is not one of them. Food is mediocre to poor, and the prices are ridiculously high for what you get. A very poor value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JECEsq.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in Woodstock, NY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Good tacos, enchiladas, burritos and guacamole (why no tamales?!). A few good vegetarian options as well, along with steak and chicken entree selections. Margarita's are good and an OK (but small) selection of beers. Usually fairly busy with an eclectic Woodstock vibe. To my knowledge, they only accept cash (no credit cards), and while there is an ATM in the restaurant, I think it's an odd choice given that it isn't exactly cheap. It's a very deliberate decision for me to go there as I just don't keep a whole lot of cash on hand these days, preferring to use CC or debit card. I'd likely go more often if they accepted credit cards - just easier to deal with.

Overall, an enjoyable experience with friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mloeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gypsy Wolf Cantina also viewed

Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing