We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed after high anticipation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bald Head Island Limited
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointed after high anticipation”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Having been recommended highly we ventured to this remote island location only to start paying exceptionally high prices starting with parking at ferry then the ferry charges to and from island. Was very disappointed in the entire stay starting with check-in. Value very poor, remote, poor service at all dining venues. Will not be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Small but quite adequate for two. (No service was required.) Restaurants a little lacking, but food at the club (optional membership) is good. No cars - just golf carts (provided). Recommended. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoePerry3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishaNC, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you back on the island soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A great place to vacation with the whole family far from noise and bustle. Long, long beaches and no cars makes it peaceful and relaxing. The homes available are excellent and the company makes it easy to sort out arrangements.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishaNC, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Great feedback! Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Unless you have a boat, the only way to reach BHI is the poorly managed ferry. As other reviews indicate, it does not run on time. We arrived at the ferry 10 minutes before the scheduled departure, and the ferry had just left for the previously scheduled departure, meaning it was 50 minutes late. The ferry was nearly empty so if the captain had waited to the acheduled departure time, he would have been back on schedule. Because there is no competition in island transportation, you are at the mercy of the poorly managed ferry service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank CitasDash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishaNC, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Bald Head Island Transportation, Inc. takes our commitment to customer service and safety seriously. Without further details from you, such as the date and time of travel, we cannot provide anything more than a general statement as to how we were unfortunately unable to satisfy your commute.
Our service is subject to many of the same influences as any transportation system anywhere in the world. At extremely busy times, such as during Labor Day Weekend, we are inundated by extremely high passenger and baggage volume. It is quite possible that this was the case in this instance. There are many reasons that the ferry which is mentioned may not have been able to wait. For example, if the passenger traffic is heavy departing the island, say on a Monday of Labor Day Weekend, the demand for the ferry is greatest on the island, and it would have to get back there as quickly as possible to accommodate the mass exodus from the island. Again, we can only speculate without more detailed information but it is important that all customers recognize there are many factors, some beyond our control that can cause us to get off schedule. These include high passenger volume, mechanical issues, weather delays, medical emergencies and navigational issues encountered along the route.
One thing to always keep in mind is that on those busy, summer weekends, when we are running two or maybe three ferries to meet the demand, that another boat will be along in less than a half hour. And if you are stuck waiting somewhere, either of our ferry terminals are not bad places to relax while waiting for the next boat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We loved our house but will not rent through Bald Head Island Limited again. Unfortunately we had a series of transportation and accounting errors (an overcharge, a notice of an additional charge emailed to us the evening we arrived, in error, by Bald Head Island Limited and an unauthorized charge to our bank account after being told in writing that our account was not charged). It got to a point where I was spending my time trying to make sure I had all documentation ready if needed. And the Guest Web Account online is blocked the day after you arrive so you are not able to access your information. Thankfully I had supporting documentation on my phone.
Transportation did not pick us up on our day of departure even after we were confirmed. We called as we were waiting outside and were told we were on the list and to hold tight sometimes they run a little late. After 3 calls to Bald Head Island Limited we discover there is a transportation computer error and our name is not on the list to be picked up. So confusing, so frustrating. Last year on departure day, we were picked up on time but it took our luggage 2 1/2 hours to arrive at the dock.
When we returned I attempted to notify upper management to make them aware of our experience but received no reply from any of the addressees until the 3rd attempt.
Maybe everything that could happen did happen to us. We are trying to love Bald Head but this trip was extremely frustrating. I spent more time dealing with someone else's mistakes than enjoying our family trip. While expressing their apologies, Bald Head Island Limited resolved their accounting errors, which should not have happened in the first place. Hopefully measures have been put in place so that accounting, transportation and communication errors do not occur for future guests, but I don't think we will take our chances by renting through them again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank SCL421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishaNC, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We at Bald Head Island Limited Property Management regret your frustrations surrounding your recent trip to Bald Head Island. We are selective in the homes we manage, so we are glad your experience with the home was a good one. Our apologies for the accounting inconvenience, please let us know if you need any further assistance. Your comments about tram services have been passed along to the transportation company, Bald Head Island Transportation Inc. Bald Head Island is truly a special place and the service your received isn't typical so we hope you reconsider and give us another chance by visiting again. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Stephens Church
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

If you're expecting Myrtle or Virginia beach or Daytona or Clearwater, then go to those places! Bald Head Island is a much more restive, spiritual place. Maritime forest for walking, wide uncrowded beaches for walking And swimming, there are no hotels and houses are not cheap. Golf carts or bicycles only way for getting around. Terrific golf course, two clubs with restaurants ( in season) a nice harbor side restaurant. And a sandwich place. Great grocery store for provisions for home meals. Also not cheap. Cape Fear looking out at frying pan shoals is magical. If you want the typical "beach" vacation go somewhere else.cool hip families love this place. Been going for a dozen years or more and flat out love it. We'd buy he'd if we could. But if you're a party banger. Please stay away!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishaNC, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your comments!! We agree, Bald Head Island is very special and magical. We look forward to seeing you back on the island soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advance, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We've been to Bald Head 2 years in a row. We love the place. It's different - not your "usual" beach vacation. But we like that. The beach is the most beautiful I've ever seen. Love the golf cart experience - it's fun. Love biking around, seeing all the nature and critters. The only complaint I have is the first time we went in June, it was so HOT - incredibly hot. We had to stay in the water or in the house, of course, to stay cool. Love going to the Maritime Market. WE love it and are planning another trip very soon.

Room Tip: Have a friend that has a house there. Ha.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukiedorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishaNC, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We are ready for you to come back too! Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bald Head Island
4.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
516 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bald Head Island Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bald Head Island Limited

Property: Bald Head Island Limited
Address: 6 Marina Wynd, Bald Head Island, NC 28461-5073
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Bald Head Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bald Head Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bald Head Island Limited 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Bald Head Island Limited reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bald Head Island Limited Hotel Bald Head Island
Bald Head Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing