We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time”
Review of Marsh Harbour Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bald Head Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marsh Harbour Inn
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the Marsh Harbour Inn for 2 nights 9/13 and 14. Though the facility needs some updating the staff made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to accommodate us. In particular the breakfast (included in the price) was delicious with various pastries, waffles and pancakes, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, sausages, coffee, tea and orange juice. They let us put a few items in their refrigerator and provided filtered water (which is good because the water tastes awful on Bald Head Island). Use of their golf cart, beach chairs and beach towels was a nice plus, too!

Room Tip: Early September is a great time to go (if you get lucky with hurricane season). The temps are still...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank db17_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Marsh Harbour Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

A perfect spot for a coastal vacation. Relaxing and peaceful. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable and your stay includes an extensive breakfast every morning. The rooms have either a harbor view or a marsh view (a bird watcher's heaven!). There are bikes to ride, kayaks to rent and beaches to explore. No cars allowed on Bald Head Island but golf carts are available. Even the ferry ride over is fun! In addition, fractional ownerships are available for those that want to return to this special spot on the globe!

Room Tip: Each room is different so please ask the reservation specialist. Some have kitchenettes.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My family and I stayed in two suites this August. The Inn was totally awsome. The staff went overboard to provide us with excellent service. Jo, Ron and all the staff were great. Our suites were just perfect and daily maid service was excellant.

We will be back again as often as we can.

Rod, Jo thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popzahler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I think some of the recent reviews are BS because there is no way that they stayed at the same place that I stayed.

The MHI is a nice, B&B with great service from Inn Keeper Jo. Breakfast was good and coffee was available at 7 AM

Our rooms (rented multiple rooms) were clean and the housekeeping staff did a fine job.

The new carpeting throughout the inn made the place look really nice.

There is no way the previous reviewer stayed at the same place. Sorry, I call BS on that

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We recently spent 2 nights at the Inn and were extremely disappointed. While the staff were friendly and the breakfast was decent, the Inn is grossly overpriced. We stayed in Room 6, which had a toilet with a steady water leak, flaking paint on the ceiling, and mold and flaking paint in the bathroom. Our maid service was a quick visit where the dirty towels were removed and 1 of the 2 trash cans was emptied...and this happened only after we flagged the person in the hall at about 4:30 in the afternoon after having a “maid service requested” sign on our door all day. The rest of the Inn looks like it hasn’t seem any updates since it was built about 15 years ago, including no apparent cleaning of the hall carpets over that time period either. We visited on a Groupon deal where our room was “only” $145/night and it still wasn’t a good deal. Imagine how we would hav3e felt if we had paid the published rate of $345/night for our room.

The grocery market prices were highly inflated, the restaurant prices were high, and the ferry price of $26 each way per person (plus $10/day parking) make a visit to Bald Head a pricey experience for nothing you can’t get at other NC beaches. We’ve visited and stayed at almost every beach in NC and Bald Head is at the bottom on our list. The beaches are narrow and crowded, the water wasn’t very clear, and the beach groins on the SW end of the island are just plain ugly. Give me Ocracoke, Ocean Isle, Sunset Beach, or Wrightsville Beach any day.

It truly was a once in a lifetime experience because we would never again subject ourselves to the price extortion that is Bald Head.

Room Tip: Go to another place
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tslthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhi_Rentals, Owner at Marsh Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

In response to this guests email above, I do not agree with her statements. Her room 2 weeks prior to her stay was repainted. New linens and bed spreads, new sea grass rug, the bathroom had no presence of mold or mildew . There has been new carpet installed in all hallways and common areas not more than 3 weeks ago. Obviously, there are issues with this guests statements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Booked this room months ago when they offered a special thru Groupon. Checked in and was upgraded to one of the suites with a kitchen. Beautiful. Accommodations are great. Service was perfect, although it did take me several days to herding to answer te phone to make the reservations.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Recently visited the inn. Third floor suite that supposedly sleeps 6 is actually a great place for a couple, but more than 2 people will be very crowded and uncomfortable in this suite. The second "bedroom" is more of a closet. The "beds" in this room are vertical shelves in the wall, where one would need to climb in head first and ones feet would stick out at the end. I would not put my children in those holes to sleep, maybe my dogs. This second "bedroom" is a great place to store luggage, coolers, and other gear, but not much else. There is also a sleeper sofa in a very small living room/kitchenette space. So, while I think the 2 bedroom suite that supposedly sleeps 6 is a great location with a wonderful view for a couple, groups of 4 or more will be MUCH better off renting a villa or house.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bald Head Island
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
541 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
431 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
271 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsh Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsh Harbour Inn

Address: 21 Keelson Row, Bald Head Island, NC 28461-5060
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Bald Head Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bald Head Island
Price Range: £204 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You wake up in the morning...and step onto your private deck where sailboats rock gently in the marina. Beyond, you see a wide stretch of blue ocean, and to the side a creek winding through serene marshland. Surrounding the harbour are homes, both quaint and majestic—a scene that has inspired this place to be called "the Nantucket of the South." The Marsh Harbour is a boutique Inn, reminiscent of a grand coastal manor estate, overlooking the Harbour on Bald Head Island. Accommodations include nine rooms and four spectacular suites. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the dining room and a wine and cheese reception is hosted on the weekends. Enjoy sweeping views of the Marina, Atlantic Ocean and the marshes from every room. Golf cart (the only island transportation), breakfast, daily housekeeping is included in your rate. We are the only hotel facility on Bald Head Island. Suites are also available for fractional purchase, offering 4 weeks per year usage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marsh Harbour Hotel Bald Head Island
Marsh Harbour Inn Bald Head Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing