We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great side trip”

Bald Head Island Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Old Baldy, built 1817, is North Carolina's oldest lighthouse. Restoration projects by the not for profit Old Baldy Foundation allows visitors today to enjoy the tower and climb to the top for a breathtaking view of the island and surrounding area. Tickets available in the Keeper's Cottage, home to the Smith Island Museum of History and lighthouse gift shop.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great side trip”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

BHI is an unique place with much to do, and Old Baldy is top of the list. For less than a cup of coffee at Starbucks you can gain entry into the historic lighthouse center which includes a small but very informative museum about the island and the lighthouse as well as access to the lighthouse itself. The climb up is worth it as the view is incredible. You can imagine Blackbeard pulling up to fix his ship before off again. A fun little excursion.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TVBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    56
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great view at the top!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

100+ steps to the top via a narrow staircase. Best time is probably early morning as it gets quite stuffy especially at the top. Worth the climb for the spectacular view!

Went with another family + kids. The 6 yr olds were troopers all the way up and down.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HTCormier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Awesome View!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My Aunt and Uncle got married at BHI in 2012, and while my family and I were there we decided to climb to the top of the lighthouse; it was one my favorite things we did while on the island! The view from the top is amazing- I took so many pictures I ran out of storage on my memory card! It is truly a beautiful view you will never forget! However, the climbs up and down are a little shady: the stairs are wooden and appear to be unstable, and there is one small square opening leading to the top of the lighthouse, which is kind of creepy. But the view from the top is so worth the climb! I loved my stay at BHI, and I loved climbing the lighthouse! :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olivia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We'll worth the climb”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Bald Head Island and the lighthouse are well worth the trip. Climb the lighthouse early before the heat of the day as there isn't much air flow inside. Amazing views of the island.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JbirdIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK stop on this exclusive island”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We decided to come up to Bald Head Island on our boat for an afternoon and visit the lighthouse. It costs $20 to more the boat at the Yacht Club and 5 minutes to get to the attraction. It was a pretty good spot and had a little museum house in the old light keeper's house. The lighthouse dates from the early 1800's and is full of history. It is very hot and muggy near the top and requires one to climb a restricted ladder at the top to get to the top ledge. The windows by the light are very smudged and restrict the view of the surroundings. All the pictures I took had ugly patches caused by the dirty glass. I don't think the whole experience was $6 per adult and $3 per kid. It can be done very quickly and the museum is very small. This is an okay place that should be free to visitors based on the quality of the offerings.

Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bald Head Island Lighthouse also viewed

Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bald Head Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing