We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's so quiet here ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Balsam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Garner, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's so quiet here ....”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place to get away from it all! No television no telephones...just. Peaceful porch with rocking chairs, a reading room, an old fashioned game room - and QUIET! Restaurant food was fabulous and the service top shelf! Such a quaint B&B- will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeniandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    113
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
50
187
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First time visit didn't disappoint. This old hotel was just what we thought it would be. Old wooden walls and floors that creak. No a/c no problem, cool nights in May made for good sleeping. Fan in the room helps drown out the noise if you need to. While you hear other guests all around, the whole place quiets down at night. Two long wooden porches across the front are great and full of rocking chairs.Very close to Blue Ridge entrance. Takes a little over an hour to get to Biltmore using the parkway. Great food in the restaurant. Blueberry cheesecake was the best. I don't think I'd stay more than a few days, but this was a fun 2 day get away. I may go back in the fall.

Room Tip: Second floor may not have as much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normalfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet,SC-USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Balsam Inn is located in the NC mountains about 30 minutes from Asheville.and is a high quality B&B and the staff is great.. Excellent rooms, GREAT breakfast and a dining room for dinner which is FIRST CLASS. Be ready for a quiet getaway. No telephones or televisions just total peace and quiet. Nearby town of Waynesville offers a lot of shopping and many good restaurants. Try the Patio for a unique lunch experience. Plan to go back in the Fall as this is a place that deserves a repeat visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryd495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We've visited the BMI a number of times in the last few years and it remains, hands down, our favorite place. It is quaint, quirky and absolutely delightful. No phones, no TV, no AC and very little cell service or wifi - what a great escape! No interruptions when you're relaxing on the lovely porches, enjoying the incomparable view of the Balsam Mountains.
We experienced some confusion over our room reservation which was made months in advance, but found that they were more than accommodating in resolving the problem. For future visits (which I know there will be), we'll call a week ahead or so to confirm our room selection, just in case.
Breakfast is included in the room rate and varies by day - always ample and delicious. The dinner menu offers a wonderful selection, as does the wine list. Service is friendly, unhurried and quite enjoyable. Cudos to the BMI - they really do it right.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor, which is just a bit more quiet. It's also a good idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredtonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I recently spent the weekend at this Inn during my tour of the Appalachians and reveled in the opportunity to relax in such a setting. This is the place you go to unplug from it all (literally though, you have no choice as cell reception is spotty at best) and relax. I didn't go in with any expectations but quickly soaked in the charm and insight it offers of days gone bye. Built around the turn of the last century, the rooms at the Inn offer only what you need and none of the things you don't when its backyard is the beautiful peaks of the Appalachian Mountains. The Inn includes a beautiful dining hall and sun room where we enjoyed a solid breakfast each morning before heading out. The tiny community of Balsam is hidden in a mountain pass between the towns of Sylva and Waynesville, should you desire to venture into either town for additional shopping and dining opportunities. The staff (notably John behind the lobby desk) were very personable and quick to offer insight and assistance. Our favorite moment from our stay at the Inn was taking in the last light of day on its long, inviting front porch, stocked full with rocking chairs, while we enjoyed a bottle of wine and a game of dominoes.

Room Tip: Room 204, one of the smaller rooms, is quaint and sufficient if you do not plan on spending much tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 81RYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Balsam Mountain Inn for a night while I biked the Blue Ridge Parkway and my wife drove the car and did day hikes. The Inn's location was good, just off the Parkway. The Inn is very charming in a retro funky way. Its 1900's charm is in the interior wood walls, wide corridors, old photos, and local art for sale. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch, sipping a beer and looking across at the hills as the sun set, smelling the balsam trees.
The Inn's restaurant had a surprisingly good menu; we enjoyed the food and service.
Fancy? No. Thin walls? Yes. Would we stay again? Definitely; it's one of a kind!

Room Tip: Floors creak so better to be on the second floor. First floor rooms hear guests in the room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a delightful spring weekend at this lovely inn. Beautifully restored, it's the little touches in decorating, dining (both breakfast and dinner), and customer care that set this inn apart from others. There are quite a few rooms, making this quite an operation to get right, and they do. A great place to get away from it all. We stayed in a room 234, a sitting room that was bright, beautiful, large, and quiet. We loved having our own little piece of the second floor porch right outside our window. Try to catch a singer/songwriter night!

Room Tip: Room 234 is on a corner, so has lots of windows, and is over the gift shop, so there's no one st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knoxgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsam
5.0 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
9.7 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
144 reviews
10.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
6.4 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Property: Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Address: 68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Balsam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balsam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Read, rest, ramble and romp at the Balsam Mountain Inn! Nestled among lofty Smoky Mountain peaks just off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Balsam Mountain Inn was completed in 1908 to serve the highest railway depot in the east. Restored in 1991, the inn now welcomes travelers with 50 cheerful rooms, rocker-filled porches, a fine library and gracious dining. Plump pillows and soft comforters inspire pleasant dreams! In December, 2011, the Inn came once again to be owned by Merrily Teasley, the innkeeper who restored the structure two decades ago. An experienced rescuer of wonderful buildings, Teasley bought the derelict inn in 1990, and her certified rehabilitation effort helped the inn – already on the National Historic Register – experience a rebirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant Hotel Balsam
Balsam Mountain Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing