We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Balsam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spartanburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3 day weekend”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just returned from 3 wonderful and relaxing days at BMI! The inn is very unique and filled with history from a by gone era. Nostalgia is at every corner including our bathroom with a claw-foot tub. We had a second floor bed-siting room facing the huge second floor porch with many rocking chairs. Four large windows allowed cool breezes to flow throughout the day. There is no air conditioning in the inn..... But you don't need it. The 1908 building design and 3500 feet elevation keep the inn quite cool. While it was 90+ at home we enjoyed cool temperatures and even donned a light sweater. Breakfast was delicious each morning. They have a very popular restaurant on site and were hosting a music show and buffet Saturday evening. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Hot teas and coffee are available in the cozy library lined with walls of books. We also ventured into the nearby town of Waynesville and had excellent meals at the Sweet Onion and Frogs Leap! Be sure to visit Mud Dabbers Pottery on Hwy 74. Such a fun and relaxing weekend! Very quaint B&B with no phones or TVs. Don't go there expecting a 21st century inn..... This is an old inn with lots of character and nostalgia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferSpartanburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    111
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
47
185
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed there before picking kids up from camp. A bit rustic, but loved it!!! Very peaceful. Love the extra wide halls. Be
Real fast was good, and dinner was Very,Very good. Really enjoyed the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duck, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We got a 'discount' from Amazon Local, and drove there from the Outer Banks (2 days). I think the place must be about to go under. Linens, bedding, etc were so old that we could NOT sleep. Our 'upgraded' room had two "loungers" made out of bark so we couldn't sit on them. They were more like a torture rack. The 'breakfast', the 1st day, was French toast, about 2"x2"! I thought French toast consisted of at least one piece of bread. The ice machine was broken. The wifi DID NOT work and there was no cellphone reception. Dinner (at a high price) was a disaster. The place is FALLING APART. There were pieces of the chimney outside our window.

Housekeeping decided not to come back (after promising that they would) b/c my husband was sleeping early in the morning when they first showed up.

Library smelled so bad that it was impossible to read in there, despite there being '2000' books (smelly, moldy etc). The walking trail was unpassable.

Again, there is so much more I could say, It was HOT in the room, no A/C, and we had to sleep with the room door open to the common hall with a broken-down fan. Soaking tub was slippery with no safe way to exit. An accident looking for a place to happen.

All in all, our 2-day, high-priced vacation would have been better spent at a Motel-6 (where I would never stay). Guess what -- I won't be returning to the 'beautiful' Balsam Mountain Inn ever again.

Don't waste your money!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go there. Old and not up to par -- uninhabitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill G, Innkeeper at Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Maureen,

We’re sorry you weren’t happy with your time at Balsam, and also that we didn’t have a chance to talk with you about your concerns while you were here. If we had, we certainly would’ve addressed them as best we could, or helped you find more suitable lodging.

Since we didn’t have that chance, we can only say that we’re glad that you made it home safely, and also glad that a strong majority of TripAdvisor reviewers report much happier experiences at our inn.

Best wishes for a happy summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place to get away from it all! No television no telephones...just. Peaceful porch with rocking chairs, a reading room, an old fashioned game room - and QUIET! Restaurant food was fabulous and the service top shelf! Such a quaint B&B- will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeniandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First time visit didn't disappoint. This old hotel was just what we thought it would be. Old wooden walls and floors that creak. No a/c no problem, cool nights in May made for good sleeping. Fan in the room helps drown out the noise if you need to. While you hear other guests all around, the whole place quiets down at night. Two long wooden porches across the front are great and full of rocking chairs.Very close to Blue Ridge entrance. Takes a little over an hour to get to Biltmore using the parkway. Great food in the restaurant. Blueberry cheesecake was the best. I don't think I'd stay more than a few days, but this was a fun 2 day get away. I may go back in the fall.

Room Tip: Second floor may not have as much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normalfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet,SC-USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Balsam Inn is located in the NC mountains about 30 minutes from Asheville.and is a high quality B&B and the staff is great.. Excellent rooms, GREAT breakfast and a dining room for dinner which is FIRST CLASS. Be ready for a quiet getaway. No telephones or televisions just total peace and quiet. Nearby town of Waynesville offers a lot of shopping and many good restaurants. Try the Patio for a unique lunch experience. Plan to go back in the Fall as this is a place that deserves a repeat visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryd495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We've visited the BMI a number of times in the last few years and it remains, hands down, our favorite place. It is quaint, quirky and absolutely delightful. No phones, no TV, no AC and very little cell service or wifi - what a great escape! No interruptions when you're relaxing on the lovely porches, enjoying the incomparable view of the Balsam Mountains.
We experienced some confusion over our room reservation which was made months in advance, but found that they were more than accommodating in resolving the problem. For future visits (which I know there will be), we'll call a week ahead or so to confirm our room selection, just in case.
Breakfast is included in the room rate and varies by day - always ample and delicious. The dinner menu offers a wonderful selection, as does the wine list. Service is friendly, unhurried and quite enjoyable. Cudos to the BMI - they really do it right.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor, which is just a bit more quiet. It's also a good idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredtonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsam
5.0 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
9.7 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
5.2 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
138 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Property: Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Address: 68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Balsam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balsam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Read, rest, ramble and romp at the Balsam Mountain Inn! Nestled among lofty Smoky Mountain peaks just off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Balsam Mountain Inn was completed in 1908 to serve the highest railway depot in the east. Restored in 1991, the inn now welcomes travelers with 50 cheerful rooms, rocker-filled porches, a fine library and gracious dining. Plump pillows and soft comforters inspire pleasant dreams! In December, 2011, the Inn came once again to be owned by Merrily Teasley, the innkeeper who restored the structure two decades ago. An experienced rescuer of wonderful buildings, Teasley bought the derelict inn in 1990, and her certified rehabilitation effort helped the inn – already on the National Historic Register – experience a rebirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant Hotel Balsam
Balsam Mountain Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing