We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Air - Relaxing Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Balsam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We looked for a place to stay when picking up our granddaughter from camp. Little did we know we would get a great vacation of our own! We stayed 2 nights at the Balsam Mountain Inn and thoroughly enjoyed the quaint, old fashioned atmosphere. Opened the windows at night and crawled under ample comforters into a very comfortable bed. Slept so soundly - loved that! Give yourself a needed respite at Balsam Mountain Inn! Breakfast is included and you can optionally enjoy a delightful dinner too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank therealskinny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarzenaBWyszynska, Guest Relations Manager at Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we really appreciate the feedback given, even if it has taken us a while to get back to you. For that I am very sorry.

We are currently under new management and going through a renovation, while still keeping our old world charm. We would love to have you back to see the improvements we have made!


Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again

Kate
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I were intrigued by the Singer/Songwriter night at the Balsam Mountain Inn and decided to take a look at the hotel before we booked it. It was love at first sight. The beautifully restored hotel sits grandly on a hill, with a view of the mountains from the porch that runs the full length of the building. Our first room was small but very comfortable, the second somewhat larger, but we spent most of our down time on the porch looking at the mountains in the changing light and reading. With no television, it was quiet and relaxing. Breakfasts were hearty, and the dinners offered southern gourmet cooking. In the extra-wide hallways, paintings, quilts, and other crafts were displayed. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful. On Saturday night, three remarkably talented musicians sang and played their own compositions, some of which have been recorded by Nashville headliners (see the website for upcoming events). We were sad to leave, and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarzenaBWyszynska, Guest Relations Manager at Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we really appreciate the feedback given, even if it has taken us a while to get back to you. For that I am very sorry.

We are currently under new management and going through a renovation, while still keeping our old world charm. We would love to have you back to see the improvements we have made!


Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again

Kate
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just returned from 3 wonderful and relaxing days at BMI! The inn is very unique and filled with history from a by gone era. Nostalgia is at every corner including our bathroom with a claw-foot tub. We had a second floor bed-siting room facing the huge second floor porch with many rocking chairs. Four large windows allowed cool breezes to flow throughout the day. There is no air conditioning in the inn..... But you don't need it. The 1908 building design and 3500 feet elevation keep the inn quite cool. While it was 90+ at home we enjoyed cool temperatures and even donned a light sweater. Breakfast was delicious each morning. They have a very popular restaurant on site and were hosting a music show and buffet Saturday evening. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Hot teas and coffee are available in the cozy library lined with walls of books. We also ventured into the nearby town of Waynesville and had excellent meals at the Sweet Onion and Frogs Leap! Be sure to visit Mud Dabbers Pottery on Hwy 74. Such a fun and relaxing weekend! Very quaint B&B with no phones or TVs. Don't go there expecting a 21st century inn..... This is an old inn with lots of character and nostalgia.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferSpartanburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarzenaBWyszynska, Guest Relations Manager at Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we really appreciate the feedback given, even if it has taken us a while to get back to you. For that I am very sorry.

We are currently under new management and going through a renovation, while still keeping our old world charm. We would love to have you back to see the improvements we have made!


Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again

Kate
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed there before picking kids up from camp. A bit rustic, but loved it!!! Very peaceful. Love the extra wide halls. Be
Real fast was good, and dinner was Very,Very good. Really enjoyed the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarzenaBWyszynska, Guest Relations Manager at Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we really appreciate the feedback given, even if it has taken us a while to get back to you. For that I am very sorry.

We are currently under new management and going through a renovation, while still keeping our old world charm. We would love to have you back to see the improvements we have made!


Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again

Kate
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We got a 'discount' from Amazon Local, and drove there from the Outer Banks (2 days). I think the place must be about to go under. Linens, bedding, etc were so old that we could NOT sleep. Our 'upgraded' room had two "loungers" made out of bark so we couldn't sit on them. They were more like a torture rack. The 'breakfast', the 1st day, was French toast, about 2"x2"! I thought French toast consisted of at least one piece of bread. The ice machine was broken. The wifi DID NOT work and there was no cellphone reception. Dinner (at a high price) was a disaster. The place is FALLING APART. There were pieces of the chimney outside our window.

Housekeeping decided not to come back (after promising that they would) b/c my husband was sleeping early in the morning when they first showed up.

Library smelled so bad that it was impossible to read in there, despite there being '2000' books (smelly, moldy etc). The walking trail was unpassable.

Again, there is so much more I could say, It was HOT in the room, no A/C, and we had to sleep with the room door open to the common hall with a broken-down fan. Soaking tub was slippery with no safe way to exit. An accident looking for a place to happen.

All in all, our 2-day, high-priced vacation would have been better spent at a Motel-6 (where I would never stay). Guess what -- I won't be returning to the 'beautiful' Balsam Mountain Inn ever again.

Don't waste your money!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go there. Old and not up to par -- uninhabitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill G, Innkeeper at Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Maureen,

We’re sorry you weren’t happy with your time at Balsam, and also that we didn’t have a chance to talk with you about your concerns while you were here. If we had, we certainly would’ve addressed them as best we could, or helped you find more suitable lodging.

Since we didn’t have that chance, we can only say that we’re glad that you made it home safely, and also glad that a strong majority of TripAdvisor reviewers report much happier experiences at our inn.

Best wishes for a happy summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place to get away from it all! No television no telephones...just. Peaceful porch with rocking chairs, a reading room, an old fashioned game room - and QUIET! Restaurant food was fabulous and the service top shelf! Such a quaint B&B- will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeniandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarzenaBWyszynska, Guest Relations Manager at Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we really appreciate the feedback given, even if it has taken us a while to get back to you. For that I am very sorry.

We are currently under new management and going through a renovation, while still keeping our old world charm. We would love to have you back to see the improvements we have made!


Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again

Kate
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First time visit didn't disappoint. This old hotel was just what we thought it would be. Old wooden walls and floors that creak. No a/c no problem, cool nights in May made for good sleeping. Fan in the room helps drown out the noise if you need to. While you hear other guests all around, the whole place quiets down at night. Two long wooden porches across the front are great and full of rocking chairs.Very close to Blue Ridge entrance. Takes a little over an hour to get to Biltmore using the parkway. Great food in the restaurant. Blueberry cheesecake was the best. I don't think I'd stay more than a few days, but this was a fun 2 day get away. I may go back in the fall.

Room Tip: Second floor may not have as much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normalfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarzenaBWyszynska, Guest Relations Manager at Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we really appreciate the feedback given, even if it has taken us a while to get back to you. For that I am very sorry.

We are currently under new management and going through a renovation, while still keeping our old world charm. We would love to have you back to see the improvements we have made!


Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again

Kate
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsam
5 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
301 reviews
6.4 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Address: 68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Balsam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balsam
Price Range: £78 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Read, rest, ramble and romp at the Balsam Mountain Inn! Nestled among lofty Smoky Mountain peaks just off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Balsam Mountain Inn was completed in 1908 to serve the highest railway depot in the east. Restored in 1991, the inn now welcomes travelers with 50 cheerful rooms, rocker-filled porches, a fine library and gracious dining. Plump pillows and soft comforters inspire pleasant dreams! In December, 2011, the Inn came once again to be owned by Merrily Teasley, the innkeeper who restored the structure two decades ago. An experienced rescuer of wonderful buildings, Teasley bought the derelict inn in 1990, and her certified rehabilitation effort helped the inn – already on the National Historic Register – experience a rebirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant Hotel Balsam
Balsam Mountain Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing