We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in rustic inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Balsam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice stay in rustic inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice place and people, special thanks to waitress Sally in the dining room who could not have been more hospitable. They mean what they say in the inn brochure and room manual, it IS an old all wood hotel and you can hear every sound. For us this just added to the charm and we slept soundly in the very cool evening air. (Stayed in early August) No need even for the fans that were provided. Dinner was good but maybe not quite up to the prices charged, but could be close with just a smidgen of improvement. Overall a great place for a night or two if you are driving the Blue Ridge Parkway and need a place to stay that is very close (1 mile) to the parkway. There need to be more old places like this. Was happy to stay and pay just to support them and the old place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ancamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    109
    31
    12
    11
See reviews for
46
175
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Balsam Mountain Inn isn't just a hotel, it's an experience. If you want to revisit the turn of the century, without all the distractions of TV, phones, alarms, and air conditioning but still have the convenience of a private bathroom, then you will love this rambling, wooden hotel with its long front porch lined with rocking chairs. You will feel like hanging out in the large living room/lobby or the cozy library if it's too chilly on the porch, and when it's time for the delicious breakfast, you can sit on the sun porch with its beautiful tile floor and giant windows. The whole hotel is decorated with antiques and art and filled with color and good smells. We loved it here and would definitely recommend it for a relaxing getaway. It's near the Blue Ridge Parkway and Asheville if you want to hike or visit somewhere more populated but still unique.

Room Tip: Each one is different and each one is fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schumac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We've been visiting the BMI 3-4 times per year for the last 15 years. It really seems that the staff has become increasingly grumpy over the last few years. One of our favorite things to do is go to the Inn and look at all of the un-rented rooms, all of the doors are shut now. We also love to order bottles of wine from the restaurant and sit in the rocking chairs on the porch chatting with friends and family, but now we feel like we are intruding as if we've entered someone's home and have overstayed our welcome from the moment we walk in. This last visit, we were walking the halls looking at crafts for sale within the hallways and saw a door open, glanced in and it was the owner. (Her picture is posted in the lobby) She looked at us and we said "hi", she then shut the door. Just strange and grumpy. Another extreme disappointment is the 4th of July celebration. It used to be a BIG to do, families, fun, food, beer & wine, music and the parade. We look forward to it every year. This year, prepaid food tickets, closed off to the community. The party was small and quite. It was sad and broke our hearts how this celebration has been deflated just like the atmosphere the owners have placed on the hotel. With the right staff and ownership, this inn could really be a charming gem to visit. Here's to hoping someday the dark cloud will be lifted.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Kemptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We looked for a place to stay when picking up our granddaughter from camp. Little did we know we would get a great vacation of our own! We stayed 2 nights at the Balsam Mountain Inn and thoroughly enjoyed the quaint, old fashioned atmosphere. Opened the windows at night and crawled under ample comforters into a very comfortable bed. Slept so soundly - loved that! Give yourself a needed respite at Balsam Mountain Inn! Breakfast is included and you can optionally enjoy a delightful dinner too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank therealskinny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I were intrigued by the Singer/Songwriter night at the Balsam Mountain Inn and decided to take a look at the hotel before we booked it. It was love at first sight. The beautifully restored hotel sits grandly on a hill, with a view of the mountains from the porch that runs the full length of the building. Our first room was small but very comfortable, the second somewhat larger, but we spent most of our down time on the porch looking at the mountains in the changing light and reading. With no television, it was quiet and relaxing. Breakfasts were hearty, and the dinners offered southern gourmet cooking. In the extra-wide hallways, paintings, quilts, and other crafts were displayed. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful. On Saturday night, three remarkably talented musicians sang and played their own compositions, some of which have been recorded by Nashville headliners (see the website for upcoming events). We were sad to leave, and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just returned from 3 wonderful and relaxing days at BMI! The inn is very unique and filled with history from a by gone era. Nostalgia is at every corner including our bathroom with a claw-foot tub. We had a second floor bed-siting room facing the huge second floor porch with many rocking chairs. Four large windows allowed cool breezes to flow throughout the day. There is no air conditioning in the inn..... But you don't need it. The 1908 building design and 3500 feet elevation keep the inn quite cool. While it was 90+ at home we enjoyed cool temperatures and even donned a light sweater. Breakfast was delicious each morning. They have a very popular restaurant on site and were hosting a music show and buffet Saturday evening. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Hot teas and coffee are available in the cozy library lined with walls of books. We also ventured into the nearby town of Waynesville and had excellent meals at the Sweet Onion and Frogs Leap! Be sure to visit Mud Dabbers Pottery on Hwy 74. Such a fun and relaxing weekend! Very quaint B&B with no phones or TVs. Don't go there expecting a 21st century inn..... This is an old inn with lots of character and nostalgia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferSpartanburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed there before picking kids up from camp. A bit rustic, but loved it!!! Very peaceful. Love the extra wide halls. Be
Real fast was good, and dinner was Very,Very good. Really enjoyed the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsam
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
9.7 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
6.4 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Property: Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Address: 68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Balsam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balsam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Read, rest, ramble and romp at the Balsam Mountain Inn! Nestled among lofty Smoky Mountain peaks just off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Balsam Mountain Inn was completed in 1908 to serve the highest railway depot in the east. Restored in 1991, the inn now welcomes travelers with 50 cheerful rooms, rocker-filled porches, a fine library and gracious dining. Plump pillows and soft comforters inspire pleasant dreams! In December, 2011, the Inn came once again to be owned by Merrily Teasley, the innkeeper who restored the structure two decades ago. An experienced rescuer of wonderful buildings, Teasley bought the derelict inn in 1990, and her certified rehabilitation effort helped the inn – already on the National Historic Register – experience a rebirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant Hotel Balsam
Balsam Mountain Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing