We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware - breakfast is obligatory!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1902 Turnpike House B&B
Ranked #6 of 8 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2008

First timers at a B&B, not knowing the etiquette involved, made our stay unpleasant.

The hot tub is self service; we took the cover off ourselves, and had to wait for the water to heat. Meanwhile we sat in the hammock hanging in the yard and got covered with black dirt and dust that had collected on the hammock. There was broken glass littering the yard.

Our room was off the mudroom, not attached to the house itself; I believe a later addition, and was cold. It was tiny. The bed was bumpy and the wall unit heater made loud noises all night.

The next morning we unknowingly insulted our hosts by sleeping in (exhausted from lack of sleep) and missing breakfast. They were extremely insulted and admonished us for our 'rudeness,' raised their voices at us in front of the other guests, and asked us to leave, which we gladly did.

I was shocked that they valued two plates of wasted food more than cultivating a customer relationship.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SharpTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1902TurnpikeHouse, Owner/Innkeeper at 1902 Turnpike House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2009

We were surprised to read this review as we felt that it was our other guests, (as well as ourselves) who were treated rudely.

It is our policy not to be intrusive, so everything in the house can be considered "self-service" including the hot-tub. However during check-in this guest was told which door to knock on if they needed any assistance. The hot tub is kept hot all the time, so there was no need to wait, but, as we had just had a rain storm earlier in the day, I would have advised against the hammock. We police the grounds on a regular basis and I could not find any glass after their departure.

The room they stayed in is in a new addition to the property , but was the room HE PICKED, probably for price. It was cold and the heater was working overtime as they left the window open!

Due to having a full house, we had two seatings for breakfast, and this guest picked the earlier one. When they did not appear, we gently tapped on their door to let them know we had served and were rudely yelled at through the door that she was ill and they would not be coming to breakfast. This could have been avoided if he had mentioned something when he came and got coffee 30 minutes before serving. (he did not "sleep-in.)

For the health of our other guests we asked that they not come through the dining room as they prepared to leave. We did not raise our voices, nor were there any guests present, they were eating breakfast.

It is our policy to be gracious and thoughtful hosts to all of our guests, but that requires communication from both sides which we did not receive in this case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 86 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2008

With our son starting college here, we needed to find that 'home-away-from-home' for the next four years. Well, we've found it! Paul and Cindy are the most gracious hosts. Their B&B is just lovely with a nice porch to sit out on and room for the kids to kick a ball. They have a great attic space which they let us use for our kids for just an extra $20 which was very reasonable so three of them slept there. Breakfast was delicious and they let our son join us for no extra charge. They gave him their number and said to call if he ever needed anything -even if it was just a home cooked meal. We have stayed their twice now and will happily go back.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank travelbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2006

Paul and Cindy are wonderful hosts and have stocked the pantry with snacks, sodas, spiced cider and fresh cookies. Cindy bakes some of the best snickerdoodles I've ever had! (My wife even got a dozen for us to take on the road.)

Paul is a chef by trade and it shows in the breakfasts. The blueberry-stuffed french toast was just amazing.

The B&B is very cozy and romantic. Our room was great with plenty of room. The common living room is very warm with a wood-burning stove and the dining room has a beautiful glow.

1902 is centrally located very near the Blue Ridge Parkway, Grandfather's Mountain, Linville Falls and many other attractions.

We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this little hideaway.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia
11
Reviewed 10 July 2006

We really enjoyed staying at this B&B - The food was magnificent and the accomodations perfect. Thank you Paul and Cindy!

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.3 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
1.3 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 8 in Banner Elk
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banner Haven B&B and Cabin Rentals
4.9 mi away
Taylor House Inn
Taylor House Inn
#3 of 6 in Valle Crucis
278 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Lodge at River Run
The Lodge at River Run
#2 of 9 in Banner Elk
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1902 Turnpike House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1902 Turnpike House B&B

Address: 317 Old Turnpike Rd, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7537
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range: £67 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing