We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1902 Turnpike House B&B
Ranked #6 of 8 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Below is the review I wrote in June of 2009. My visit in February of 2010 was just as good as always, and I'm looking forward to getting back next February.

Paul, Cindy and the House are all equally great. The breakfasts are imaginative and delicious. The hot tub is terrific and avaiable any time. The rooms are lovely and super clean. I always look forward to getting back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skier51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2010

This is an outstanding bed and breakfast! Cindy and Paul are lovely hosts and go out of their way to welcome you to their home. The rooms are clean and beautifully furnished. We have spent several vacations there and plan to return. One of the things we liked best was Chef Paul’s outstanding breakfasts. You will leave feeling very well fed! There are always fresh baked cookies on the sideboard to welcome you and the fridge is well stocked with sodas and other treats for guests. Another “best” is the large porch that overlooks a well-kept garden attracting many birds with its feeders. The porch provides a scenic view and pleasant gathering place where we often met other guests before breakfast. The only negatives would be the little inconveniences typical of an old home. This is our home when we visit the mountains of North Carolina.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Turnpike Inn. The hosts, Paul and Cindy, could not have been nicer or more helpful. The rooms are great. The food is fabulous, and there are so many nice places to relax in the yard and on the beautiful front porch. There are many things to do in the area regardless of the season.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sn0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

If you love bed and breakfast inns, this is your place to go. Nestled in the mountains of North Carolina, you will find a wonderful bed and breakfast inn with a warm and cozy atmosphere. The owners will make you feel like you have known them forever. The service, food, and accomadations are wonderful. This was our fourth trip to stay there and we will continue to stay there as we go the Bristol races. The home was built in 1902 and still maintains the character from that time period. Banner Elk is located near Boone, North Carolina which is known for great sking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This was a magnificent B&B! Cindy & Paul were verey accomodating. This was our first trip to the area and they were extremely helpful with familiarizing us with the local attractions, restaurants, ski times, and discounts on the slopes. We stayed in the larger suite and it was absolutely perfect! Plenty of stretching area and room to hang out. The main house is beautiful and dining was a pure pleasure. Pauls chef skills are a definite plus to this B&B!

We will be back this season and I look forward to seeing Cindy & Paul!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinagallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I took my teenage son to Boone to snowboard last winter and we stayed at the 1902 Turnpike House for it's value and convience to the slopes. It turned out to be better than expected. The house was decorated beautifully for Christmas and the rooms were very quaint and comfy. Paul and Cindy were so friendly and made us feel at home. I remember the hot apple cider and Paul's never ending cookie jar. And breakfast was amazing as Paul used to be a chef. We would love to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaVeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We have stayed several times at 1902 Turnpike House Bed & Breakfast. We loved it so much we keep going back. Cindy & Paul are great. They make sure you are taken care of.
We especially liked sitting out on the front porch, relaxing, watching and listening to the birds sing. The flower garden is beautiful and lots of trees. It is so nice and cool in the summer time.
The pantry & the refrigerator is full and ready for the guest. Not to mention the Homemade cookies soooo good.
Last but not least, The most delicious breakfast you have ever eat.
The room and private bath was very spacious and clean.
We just enjoyed every minute of it. Plenty of restaurants , shopping & things to do near by.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CatherineShook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banner Elk hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 8 in Banner Elk
187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Valle Crucis Farm
Valle Crucis Farm
#6 of 9 in Banner Elk
25 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blue Ridge Village
Blue Ridge Village
#1 of 9 in Banner Elk
301 reviews
2.1 mi away
Highlands at Sugar
Highlands at Sugar
#5 of 9 in Banner Elk
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1902 Turnpike House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1902 Turnpike House B&B

Address: 317 Old Turnpike Rd, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7537
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range: £68 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing