We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Perry House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at The Perry House. It has an excellent location- within walking distance to numerous restaurants and across the street from Lees-McRae College. Mike and Robin were so easy to talk with and made you feel like family. The room was very quiet and spacious with a nice bed. We had walked to an excellent tapas restaurant recommended by Mike and got caught in a tremendous rainstorm when we were done. Robin braved the storm and the night to come to our rescue. Need we say more about how wonderful and welcoming Mike and Robin are. We love the town of Banner Elk and will be back and will definitely be staying at The Perry House.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Perry House about 1/2 dozen times this year. Robin and Mike are so welcoming. They (and their sweet dog, Guiness) made us feel like we were part of their family. The location is excellent. We were within walking distance of all the great restaurants in Banner Elk and, sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch, we could relax while watching the world go by. The breakfasts were delicious and we never had the same one twice! Wonderful casseroles, fruit, breads, etc. Robin and Mike were very flexible with our schedules, even getting up very early one morning to make sure we were fed before we had to leave. Also loved the little extras; water bottles in the refrigerator, snacks and chocolate always sitting out and coffee, tea and hot chocolate ready to be brewed. I would highly recommend the Perry House. And, if you're looking for the best reuben sandwich in town, go to Dunn's Deli at the bottom of the hill. Robin and Mike run that too!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The Perry House was a perfect home base for a five-day hiking vacation. Robin and Mike were warm and gracious hosts, without hovering over us. Our room (the Betsy Room) was comfortable, and we enjoyed having a view of the town from our front window. Since there was no refrigerator in our room, they let us keep the snacks we'd brought in their fridge - but as it turned out there were many snacks, as well as coffee and cold drinks, available all the time in the inn.

Robin cooked delectable breakfasts three of the mornings we were there, served family-style, which I appreciate, as I'm watching my weight and would rather not feel pressured to "clean my plate." The other two mornings we walked down the hill to Dunn's Deli, where Mike cooked our breakfasts to order. I recommend his French toast! On those mornings we were free to eat whenever we chose.

The location is excellent - central to lots of wonderful hikes. Grandfather Mountain, Beech Mountain, Sugar Mountain, and the Blue Ridge Parkway are all short drives away. If you want to go just slightly farther, just past Boone, try the Elk Knob Trail for a beautifully constructed trail with fabulous views at the top. There are plenty of restaurants a short walk away - we enjoyed Blue Ridge Bistro, Zuzda, and Frog and Monkey. But don't forget Dunn's Deli for lunch - Mike's homemade soups are outstanding.

All in all this was a wonderful vacation, in great part because of the Perry House. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdionelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The hosts did a great job of welcoming my friend and I while not "hounding" us. The house was nice and the wine and breakfast were excellent. The TV in our room was sub-par, but we weren't looking for that in our stay anyway! It was a short, rainy stay, so unfortunately we didn't get to see much of Banner Elk or Grandfather Mountain, but went to Linville Falls. I would definitely recommend the Perry House to friends and family.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cherreal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband and I just returned from another wonderful weekend at the Perry House. Although we have family in Banner Elk, we always stay at the Perry House, where Robin and Mike Dunn are very gracious innkeepers and continue to make us feel at home. The rooms (and we've stayed in all of them over our numerous visits) are charming and very comfortable. And I can't say enough about the delicious breakfasts. All in all, it's just a treat to visit this B&B and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I stayed only one night (at the last minute) but it was very comfortable and cozy and clean. The house is beaufiful and in the best location in downtown Banner Elk. There are a few shops and plenty of restaurants all within walking distance. Dunn's Deli is yummy as well. Perry House is across the street from Lees McRae College yet a very tranquil setting. Robin and Mike are very gracious and friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. They even invited our son (whom we were visiting at college) to join us for breakfast. Would definitely recommend to others and go back for another stay!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great visit with Robin and Mike. Very gracious hosts! Their home is your home for the weekend. Very relaxing, great breakfast, excellent coffee and superb location in Banner Elk! We already have booked another weekend with them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60898Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.2 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
11.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
629 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 8 in Banner Elk
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
The Lodge at River Run
The Lodge at River Run
#2 of 9 in Banner Elk
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Perry House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Perry House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 153 Klonteska Dr, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7028
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing