We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place; friendly and helpful owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Perry House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice place; friendly and helpful owners”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had a great time. Easy place to find and convenient to the business area. No big crowds, but lots of pleasant conversation. And a beautiful garden lot.

Great breakfasts. Variety of food, and not repeated over the two mornings we were there.Much nicer than the "free breakfast" motels in the big chains.

Mike and Robin were great to talk to, and had a lot of info on the area.

Our only concern was the low level of lighting in the bathroom. It's hard to take out contacts when you can barely see your eyeballs :).

Well worth the cost. I'm sure we'll get back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
59
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We visited the Perry House for our honeymoon weekend. We loved it! The setting was beautiful and there were so many things for us to do in the surrounding towns as well as Banner Elk. Robin and Mike were very welcoming and the house itself was charming. Also the breakfast was wonderful!

Room Tip: We were able to see all the rooms. They look smaller online- they are all a nice size in real life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

First of all I must say I am a bit biased regarding the Perry House & Dunn's Deli because my husband and I live here and Robin & Mike are friends of ours but having said that, we are aware of the extra special care that they put into each and every customer that they serve. I don't know if this is something that the Dunn's want to start doing but this is where they graciously allowed us to have our wedding (right at Labor Day no less) and it was honestly the most beautiful wedding I have ever witnessed. Everything was stellar from the accomodations, flowers, food, wedding cake, furniture and our hosts! All of the services were provided by local people and I do not believe a more beautiful wedding could have been achieved. If a person cannot be extremely pleased with the accomodations that the Dunn's offer then it is probably best to just stay home or visit another city.

Room Tip: Our wedding party did rent out the whole house as it was too much to expect the Dunn's to keep u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovethe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We looked into the Perry House for a quick overnight to enjoy a short weekend trip of skiing. It was such a nice touch to arrive and see our names on the Chalkboard welcoming us. The decor was still winter-themed with lots of snowmen (my favorite). And who could have asked for better with snow coming down the two days we were there. The accommodations were a value for the price. Breakfast was very good, and the fellowship with other guests was fantastic. You are within walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. Sugar Mountain and Beech Mountain are a short drive away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back soon. PS: Dunn's Deli is yummy and just down the street from the inn. Thanks Robin and Mike, we will return soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liongrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solomons, MD
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We considered ourselves fortunate to be able to book a room at the Perry House, given MLK weekend. Atmosphere and food were terrific. Robin and Mike were delightful, and we had as much fun meeting and talking with the other guests as we did doing other things in town. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeePeeEmDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I really liked this B&B. They did a good job adjusting their breakfast for my husband who is gluten and cheese free. Normally, we don't care too much about restaurants but this one was within walking distance of several. We enjoyed the snacks and wine they kept stocked in the den. Great for sitting on the big porch and snacking while winding down. I'm very picky about a clean place and this one was. Not fancy but clean and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The Perry house B&B is close to everything in banner Elk. You can walk to the shops and restaurants. Mike and Robin make you feel like family coming for a visit. We stayed in the Betsy room with a queen bed and a view of the town and a view of Grandfather mountain in the distance. The hosts leave candy and nuts for you to have and water and soda in the fridge. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and hot cider are always available and always a nice btrakfast in the morning

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkimperial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.2 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
12.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
451 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 8 in Banner Elk
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast
6.0 mi away
The Shady Lawn Lodge
The Shady Lawn Lodge
#1 of 3 in Newland
183 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Ridge Village
Blue Ridge Village
#1 of 9 in Banner Elk
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Perry House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Perry House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Perry House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 153 Klonteska Dr, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7028
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing