We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No fuera de este mundo...”

Puerto Nuevo Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No fuera de este mundo...”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure what all the hype is about. Perhaps it's because I went for lunch rather than dinner, but I ate a rather bland crunchy taco, a rather bland enchilada, and quite literally a puddle of refried beans. I don't mean to be crude, but honestly Taco Bell has better flavor. This was not worth the trip. There's nothing authentic about the food, the ambience is so-so, and the service was downright rude.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    99
    37
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food at a Great Price”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

You must start with the fresh guacamole- made exactly how you like at your table. We dine at this restaurant several times each year during our stay in the Boone, Blowing Rock and Banner Elk area. The food is always delicious (mostly order the combination dinners). I ordered the oyster poor boy sandwich at our last visit. It was excellent ....about 8 large oysters on french bread with onion, lettuce, avocado, plus fries. If you shop at the local Lowes Foods , you should receive a coupon for 10% off the total check. Even without the 10% coupon, the food is very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susandavisellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Our family dined here after making the 5 hour trip to Banner Elk. We eat a lot of Mexican and this was the best! The food was delicious and fresh. I especially loved the fresh guacamole!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mommamims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Don't get the large margarita”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We made the mistake of getting what turned out to be a pitcher of margarita each. So we ate there rather than go to the place we intended to eat. Food (chimechanga) was OK. Service was pretty attentive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HLAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“At least a step or two above other Mexican Restaurants”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We eat here at least once very time we vacation in the high country. The food is always great and the prices are reasonable for the quality of the food. We are impressed by the service here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dt07039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puerto Nuevo Restaurant also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Puerto Nuevo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing