We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - would love to return!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience - would love to return!”
Reviewed 7 September 2006

We had the pleasure of staying in one of the new cottages. In fact, when we arrived, we were able to choose the one we wanted. This was a business/pleasure trip, where three other couples joined us for three nights. They, too, were most pleased with the accommodations, even the couples who stayed in smaller rooms.

Beverly, the Innkeeper, was very pleasant and most accommodating. There was a very warm and welcoming room in the main house, available to any guest, 24/hr a day, setup with soft drinks, coffee and tea available to brew and sweets. If you got a food craving in the middle of the night (not that we did), one could pop over and fix something. Although the cottage we stayed in had a small kitchen. Our place was comfortably decorated with beautiful furniture and the bathroom had a spa tub. We could use the window a/c if needed, but on most nights, even on a hot day, the temperature cools and you can open windows, especially if you want to hear the crickets and outside noises. There is a street outside, with cars occasionally driving by, but I am a very light sleeper and the noises outside didn't bother me. In fact, I loved listening to the rock fountain that Beverly built this summer.

There was another couple we knew staying at a diffeent B&B just down the road. I gather their host and hostess (husband/wife team) are not nearly as welcoming and as open to guest's requests as Beverly. In fact, our friends complained about all the rules.

Beverly let us decide what time we wanted to eat breakfast and she asked us what we would like. The first morning she made oatmeal especially for my husband. The following mornings she would give us her recommended specialities (cottage cheese pancakes, sausage and egg casserole, quiche) and she would fix any of those. Homemade bread was always on hand as well as fruit, cookies and brownies.

If you can plan your visit to that area, then you can, hopefully, have your choice of a room that you would like (king, queen, etc.). If you just show up, you might end up with one of the smaller rooms, although they are appointed with fine linens, comfortable beds,etc. They are just smaller.

There are even two rooms in the attic. They would not be my choice, but on a NASCAR weekend in Bristol, TN, you might want to consider enjoying the hospitality of Beverly and her great breakfasts. Bristol is only an hour's drive. We have stayed there before. In the way of comfortable hotels, well, there just are not any to the quality of this B&B's accommodations.

We also had the pleasure of meeting two couples, long-time friends of Beverly's. They have been attending the NASCAR race in Bristol for almost 20 years and have stayed at this B&B for many of those races. We loved meeting and talking with them.

It's a great place to relax and enjoy a beautiful area. We recommend it highly. P.S. I left a small pouch that Beverly mailed to me immediately.

  • Liked — accommodations and Innkeeper hospitality, meeting new people
  • Disliked — soft bed
  • Tips/Secrets — plan ahead to get the best room
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hoddie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    6
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
64
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2006

We have been to many B&B's all over America and Banner Elk Inn is one of our top 3 favorites. The owner is gracious, the food is incredible and the accomodations have always been better than expected. We have stayed in the "duplex" directly beside the main building and it has been excellent. This last time we brought friends, stayed in the new cabin and we were all impressed with the accomodations and ambiance the innkeeper has designed into the cabin and the new waterfall outside. She has always gone out of her way to make our stays very pleasent. Beverly is creating the kind of B&B that speaks well of her goals and that the town of Banner Elk can be proud of .

  • Liked — Clean, comfotable, delicious breakfasts, within walking distance to park, town, restaurants.
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Tips/Secrets — The newpaper "The Mountain Times" (which is free) has listings of local events. There is a wonderful, warm and inviting Methodist church on hwy 194 north of Banner Elk.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tchaike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2006

AVOID. The fire escape is inoperable and behind two locked doors. We rented what was advertised as a 4 person suite -- it had two beds. We stayed two nights. The beds were not made up, towels were not replaced, breakfast consisted of an apple, the owner pretended not to be the owner, and when we asked for better service, we were told to leave in front of the other guests. There are many nice places to stay in the Mountains, this is the worst we've stayed in in our 10 years of coming here.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank CorneliaPinehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeverlyLait, Owner at The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
This review was posted in 2006. It is now 2012. These lies have stayed in print 6 years. The person who wrote the review was taken out of an assisted care living facility to come to a special event, the Scottish Highland Games, and stay at her first choice of accommodations, The Banner Elk Inn. In just two days, there were 6 incidences caused by this person, all of which were unpleasant. We did our very best to accommodate her and give her the best service possible but she was such an angry person, we could not help her. I had talked with her for 4 entire months about this reservation so it would have been impossible for someone to think that I was pretending not to be the owner. Other guests, realizing something was wrong, began to complain. The only solution was for me to find accommodations for her elsewhere, and refund her money, which I was able to do. Please remove this review; it is entirely inappropriate.
Beverly Lait
Innkeeper/Owner/President
The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2005

We loved our get-away to the Banner Elk Inn Bed and Breakfast. It was quaint and charming with a rustic feel. It was the perfect place to ring in the New Year with a nice living area and fire place. There are also cottages on site which are newly built and well decorated. Our rooms were clean and cozy with great down-filled bedding and decor that surpasses typical hotel style furnishings. The cottage cheese pancakes were delicious. Beverly, the owner, allows guests to decide what they would like for breakfast and the time at which the meal would be served. The location is convenient to Sugar Mountain and Grandfather Mountain.

Dine at the Zudda's (?) Tappas Restaurant which serves only the most delicious appetizers, especially the Lobster Bisque soup. Linville Falls was also gorgeous.

Scott and Elizabeth, NC

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Where
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.2 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
12.0 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
441 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 9 in Banner Elk
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Archer's Mountain Inn
Archer's Mountain Inn
#7 of 9 in Banner Elk
264 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lodge at River Run
The Lodge at River Run
#3 of 9 in Banner Elk
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages

Property: The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages
Address: 407 Main St E, Banner Elk, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9239
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banner Elk Inn, B&B, Cottages, and Cabins -- a classic, Historic Inn, with 3 new luxurious cottages for two, a new Bark&Stone cabin for families and rental cabins. Winner of The People's Choice Award, #1 B&B in Avery County, the Inn offers perennial gardens/waterfalls & fountains/fireplaces/whirlpools/Private Baths/down comforters/cable TV/DVD library, snack bar & great breakfasts. Wireless available everywhere. In the heart of the High Country, near Grandfather Mountain, Sugar Ski Resort, Beech Mtn and Valle Crucis with easy level access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing