We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired and dated...”
Review of Blue Ridge Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Ridge Village
Certificate of Excellence
New Smyrna Beach, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A bit tired and dated...”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Blue Ridge Village, a Festiva Resort, was quite disappointing. An average rating is very generous and it's maybe poor and even terrible in a few respects. The first impression is that the buildings are very dated on the exterior, there are no "views" and the place has poor curb appeal...doesn't feel like a resort but more like an unhappy low priced condo community. The staff had two in a row where the arriving guests had newly issued key cards that didn't work so myself and the guest before me were back at the check-in desk for new keys since we couldn't get into our third floor room (no elevators, which we knew but carrying armloads of things upstairs and then travelling back down to drive to the front desk wasn't expected). Banner Elk is a charming little town, the leaves and mountains were beautiful, the weather and golf was excellent but the resort was a bust. On a positive note, with the exception of serious black grunge around the bathtub the unit itself was updated, well furnished and comfortable. This is just an old property hanging on as best it can. We enjoyed our vacation but won't return to Blue Ridge Village under any circumstances.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWalterH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    118
    20
    17
    10
See reviews for
140
96
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vale, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have spent many years with our parents at this time share during pre-peak season leaf looking and the leaves never disappoint. This year we were very disappointed with the property itself and lack of concern from staff to help make our stay better. We had no life jackets for our children to wear this year for the paddle boats even after my husband brought it to their attention. Their response was that other people had taken the life jackets back to their rooms and maybe they will bring them back later. Seriously? We used the pool once and it was OK until I washed my son's clothing he wore back from the pool. The olive green shirt he put on to wear back to the room, now has orange stains all over the shirt so it is ruined. It was related to the pool water. We didn't go back needless to say. Nothing left to do but play putt-putt for kids there. As far as the room itself, dishes were put away dirty and the floors are filthy-black. The mop I was supposed to use to mop the floor had hair all over it and was a brown color. On the positive side, I can say it is a quiet place to stay and I felt safe staying at this resort area. Families need to be aware the "things to do" for kids are limited.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was our first visit to the Banner Elk area and our accommodations at Blue Ridge Village were excellent. We had a spacious two bedroom unit, on the ground floor with a partial view of the pond. Our unit was clean, comfortable and well supplied. The temperature was dropping significantly in the evenings so we particularly enjoyed the gas fireplace.
The resort offers many amenities and we took advantage of the tennis courts a number of times. The entire complex is very well maintained.
I thank the staff for their helpful suggestions about sites to definitely take in. Grandfather Mountain was a dominant vista in Banner Elk and we were thankful to be told that you can drive to the top and enjoy the views as well as the challenge of the Mile High Suspension Bridge.
My husband and I look forward to returning and highly recommend Blue Ridge Village.

Room Tip: To avoid having to carry luggage, stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Spent one week at Festiva Blue Ridge Village II (9/30-10/4) timeshare exchange. The amenities are great -- awesome indoor pool, small lake with paddle boats, great tennis courts, mini golf, fishing on site. Resort sponsored activities were very nice and ample. The units were absolutely gorgeous. Photos don't even begin to do them justice. Saw another comment about unit needing to be renovated. Upon our arrival, all but 2 buildings have been renovated. One building was well into its facelift and the other one is scheduled to be completed by year end. Our unit was 7A (2 bedroom townhouse) with master and sitting area upstairs and second bedroom and living room, dining room and kitchen down. The views were wonderful. A large deck extended along the first floor and the master had another deck upstairs. There is a large 2 person whirlpool tub in the master bath which also has double sinks. Fireplace in living room was great. The area has numerous ski resorts (open in season). Being in North Carolina high country, the leaves were well into fall color this first week in October. The scenery is beautiful. Grandfather Mountain is a must see as is a day trip to Blowing Rock about 25 minutes away. Easily accessible to the Blue Ridge Parkway which has numerous scenic overlooks. Driving on 221 past Grandfather Mountain and before the entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway, you'll see a gentleman who has been selling honey and jelly on the side of the road for years. In Banner Elk, highly recommend Stone Walls Restaurant for fine dining as well as The Pink Fish. The Banner Elk Café had an awesome burger. Drive over to Valle Cruces to The Mast General Store in continuous business since 1883. It's a real treat. If you're Lutheran, attend worship at Holy Communion Lutheran Church on Clarks Creek Road. It's 1.4 miles off route 105 and the windiest mountain road we've been on. Never got the car out of first gear (manual shift). Cutest country church we've seen with great southern hospitality. We had a great week and would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shallotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I visit many timeshare type resorts throughout the southeastern part of the country. This is by far my most favorite location. The weather in summer, the snow in winter, the leaves in the fall.
The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The condos are very nice and very comfortable. This is truely a home away from home....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethton, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times (it's only 45 min.from our home in Tennessee) and have always enjoyed our visit. This last visit was only for a weekend with another couple who also enjoyed the stay.
They have a large pond with paddle boats and fishing. I caught a large trout (about 16"), hooked another which broke my fly off and several small bluegills (lots of fun on a fly rod). The resort booked a golf outing for Saturday at the Linville Falls Golf Club which is a typical mountain course with several interesting hole and very uncrowded.
The resourt has a Putt-Putt course which our niece and her family enjoyed earlier in the year. They also have tennis courts and an indoor pool. We have used the pool on a couple of occasions, but it isn;t real convenient because of the location (the condos are space around the lake and require either a long walk or ride in the car. It's also not as much fun in the summer as an outdoor pool would be. But due to the location in the mountains which can get rather cool even in the summer it's the best way to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssptn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This resort is located in a perfect place to enjoy all of the local activitys that they have year round i would recommend this resort as one of the best late summer and fall trips to take you have grandfather mountain blowing rock live music art and craft shows museums and lots of antique places from boone nc to banner elk nc

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.9 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
10.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
452 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#6 of 18 in Boone
396 reviews
1.6 mi away
Highlands at Sugar
Highlands at Sugar
#6 of 9 in Banner Elk
73 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 8 in Banner Elk
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ridge Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ridge Village

Property: Blue Ridge Village
Address: 3781 Tynecastle Hwy, Rt 1 Hwy 184, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Ridge Village 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Ridge Village is the perfect retreat from the stress and strain of everyday life. The woodsy villas are nestled in the mountains close to several ski areas and breathtaking Grandfather Mountain. Banner Elk is a vibrant mountain community with plenty of year round events for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Ridge Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Village Hotel Banner Elk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing