We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the mountain and the condo”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Highlands at Sugar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highlands at Sugar
The Villages, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the mountain and the condo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had a l bdrm and a 2 bdrm with 5 adults and 3 children. We were in the first
building so we didn't have the same view as the people higher on the mountain.
That's my biggest complaint. The condos are older but are very spacious and
clean. Nice towels, great water pressure, nice fireplace-didn't use it. Huge Jacuzzi
tub. The wine and appetizers were good. We didn't participate in the other dinners
and breakfast. Hard to find so get good directions from the staff before you leave.
Staff was good and listened to my husbands complaints, no working phone, light out in our hallway and no hair dryer. We would go back. Our children felt the pool
needs some updating. We rely on reviews before booking condo. There is a lot to
do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    24
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
29
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We found the resort to be clean, great front desk staff, prompt service for maintenance issue. As for being dated, it seems to me resort replaces appliances as needed, furniture is old, but comfortable. Our villa had great stereo speaker system for our 2 floor, 2 bedroom, 2 bath, with whirlpool tub, New large flat screen TV, full kitchen, and balcony on each floor with a beautiful view of other mountains. The resort had a nice wine and cheese party one night and a very nice full breakfast one morning. Overall, we had a very nice vacation here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snagelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

After reading the previous reviews, I was VERY reluctant to stay at the Highlands at Sugar. After returning home and looking at the pictures of our trip to Banner Elk, I AM SO GLAD we stayed there. We had a fantastic time there. Our unit was very up to date and clean. The updates the resort looked to be doing were fantastic. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTNLVR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

This place is set on the mountain, and location is beautiful. However, the apartments are dark, dirty, very out of date and falling apart. We found liqueur bottle in a bedside cabinet, holes in walls, burns in carpets, dirt everywhere, dripping toilet, which kept us awake. The bed sheets and pillows smelt musty. I would recommend not to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banner Elk hotels

Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

My second time here. Reception staff is excellent, but resort is showing neglect. Wife had to wash kitchen cupboard knobs before use, as were sticky with grease (cooking fumes?). Kitchen in general not well cleaned and lacking some basic utensils (e.g. no spatulas, no Teflon pans, etc.). Had heavy rains and 2nd floor leaked by deck door. Told them Sunday morning . . . nothing done. Maybe because Sunday? Told them again Monday morning. Still no effort to repair. I feel sorry for owners of this unit as it's being ruined. All decks, in units andat clubhouse, are maybe beyond repair due to not being treated for so long. Units need wood treating and paint. Some windows don't open/close properly and rattle when it's windy. Bottom line, I wouldn't buy one of these - they won't last much longer in my opinion. Too bad, as location is great. Hopefully they'll undertake a more rivorous upkeep program soon.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank vibrioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at Highlands at Sugar this past March and it was a GREAT vacation. The unit was nice, fireplace was used as we had unexpected snow and colder weather than usual. The jacuzzi was nice and relaxing, staff was great. Location, just an awesome view of the mountains and not far from snow tubing, hiking and the ski resort as well as other interests, Grandfather Mtn., Boone, waterfalls, caverns and just scenic drives. We plan to return this fall when the leaves start changing colors and just to have another great vacation at the Highlands.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwcsaberiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This place was excellent! Very easy going staff that helped with booking the place. The rates were great due to the off-season. A bit difficult to find but when we got there the staff made us feel very welcome. The exceeded our expectations. The place was clean, spacious, and had everything you needed for a 2 night 3 day ski trip! I would definitely recommend this place but maybe I should stay quiet so it doesn't get too busy and I can't reserve it again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
11.7 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
10.8 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Ridge Village
Blue Ridge Village
#1 of 9 in Banner Elk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.3 mi away
Archer's Mountain Inn
Archer's Mountain Inn
#7 of 9 in Banner Elk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands at Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands at Sugar

Property: Highlands at Sugar
Address: 2173 Sugar Mountain Dr, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9858
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlands at Sugar 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highlands at Sugar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing