We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough”
Review of Highlands at Sugar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highlands at Sugar
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this place because it is pet friendly. We love the area and the condo is in a great location. The scenery is beautiful, however the unit we stayed in is dated and needs some TLC. The sofa is newer than any other furnishings, however the shower /tub has mold on caulk, the shower head needs replaced and darkening curtains would be helpful due the strong sunlight streaming in the day making the unit very warm. We put up a towel to keep rooms cool. The 1 bedroom unit has a king bed which is firm. We brought our own pillows, glad we did. We will come back again. We are grateful for the kind staff and pet friendly stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Highlands at Sugar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was a lot better than I expected for the price and the location. When you go here, if you are following the gps, after typing the address and it says you have arrived, keep driving until you see the sign. It is actually on highland drive according to the gps. Also arrive early to meet the well mannered and help staff.

Room Tip: Stay on the back end rooms of the hotel to get a majestic view of the mountains everytime you walk o...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

View was incredible! We stayed in 105I and had an incredible time. I was so nice we stayed an extra night. The lobby sells wood, for $6 a stack, so we enjoyed the fireplace three out of four nights. Pool and hot tub (plus Jacuzzi in room) were so nice after a day of skiing. Kitchen was well equipped and there is a Food Lion within a mile, so we didn't have to eat out. They provided dish, dish washer and laundry detergent so we didn't have to stock up. Our condo had cards and satellite tv, plus games available from the lobby so we enjoyed it immensely. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Our gps and google maps didn't have the right location, so coming in late it was hard to find. Sugar Mountain finally had to help us. The lobby closes at 5, so when I called, I couldn't get anybody to help with directions. I booked through hotel.com, so I didn't speak directly to the Highlands. They had our key, directions, and everything in an after hours lockbox, so once we did find the place, everything was great. I would go back just for the view, but being 5 minutes from skiing was great.

Room Tip: Don't trust GPS or google maps, the location is wrong as shown.
Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Therese O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at Highlands at Sugar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to your next visit soon!! We are aware of the map issue and working to get it correct so it will be easier to get to us using a GPS.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This resort was perfect for our needs. Spacious accommodations and SPECTACULAR views. Stayed in the 106 building which seems to be the highest on property - my god was it breathtaking. It's not the most modern, or the most luxurious, but we had a great time. Not many places have working fireplaces in the units anymore. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: 106 building for sure!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeachBound29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at Highlands at Sugar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

BeachBound29, Thank you for your comments, we are glad you have enjoyed staying with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed in 100d. Fantastic view! Had dustings of snow two days during the week of Jan. 11-18 that drifted up to one foot against the door. The resort scraped and salted their property. Their lots and road were in better condition than the state road (same one as Sugar Mnt. ski resort is on). I can see getting up the hill to the resort could be a problem with heavy snow and ice. That would be my only concern in rebooking this resort. Staff was super friendly and helpful. 2 BR unit was open, large, and well designed. Large living area. Great sized jacuzzi with super hot water. A few small cosmetic problems with unit, but hey, my house has those too.

Room Tip: Pets are allowed with additional fee. Looks like all units would have a good view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frogmoretiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at Highlands at Sugar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Frogmoreiger,

Thank You for staying at The Highlands at Sugar and writing a review. We are thrilled to hear we provided you with an all round outstanding vacation.Hopefully we will see you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This place is disgusting! First, if you go during snow season you have to have snow tires or chains to access the resort. We checked in, walked into the unit and walked back out!! It is gross!! We saw 3 roaches in the 3 minutes we were inside and had seen enough. The wall was splitting and was held together by drywall tape. The king bed had a huge dip in the center like the springs were broken. We are humble, easy to please people but this place needs to be torn down. Feels dirty and unsafe!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelbug1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at Highlands at Sugar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Travelbug1718,

I am sorry to hear your impression of The Highlands at Sugar was not what you were expecting. The Highlands is in the process of transitioning to a new management company to help correct concerns at the property. We have hired a new pest control company to better suit the needs of a mountain location. As we are located at the top of Sugar Mountain, the weather does need consideration when planning a trip in winter where snow chains or four-wheel drive is necessary.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you about your visit so please feel free to contact me at the resort, 1-828-898-9601. We hope you will consider visiting us again under the new management company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My Family and I have stayed here several times and thoroughly enjoy the views, the roomy 2 bedroom units, and the staff. That being said, the quality and condition of the unit you stay in may vary. Our last stay was in 101C which has great views but needs a few minor repairs and is somewhat dated. We also had a little visitor that chewed a chunk out of our loaf of bread in the kitchen cabinet. If your ok with a few minor issues like this, which I am, the view and the staff make the stay worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, General Manager at Highlands at Sugar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Highlands at Sugar. We made note of the small issues you experienced and we will make sure they are addressed. We cannot wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.3 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
11.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
621 reviews
11.0 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Blue Ridge Village
Blue Ridge Village
#1 of 9 in Banner Elk
295 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 8 in Banner Elk
182 reviews
3.2 mi away
Smoketree Lodge
Smoketree Lodge
#7 of 9 in Banner Elk
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands at Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands at Sugar

Address: 2173 Sugar Mountain Dr, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9858
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Banner Elk
Price Range: £85 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlands at Sugar 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highlands at Sugar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing