We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to stay again!”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Our stay here was a nice change of pace from other hotels we've stayed at. Everybody was so helpful and polite. The room was very clean and the restaurant had good food. The mountains are so beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtnluvr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge
1-877-877-4553
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    197
    99
    27
    12
See reviews for
221
182
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My family and I stayed in 2 rooms at this property from Nov 22-26, 2011. Our rooms were adjoining. I received a call the morning of our arrival from an employee who was assigning rooms to those guests arriving that day. She informed me that they did not have ADJOINING rooms available; what she meant was that there were no CONNECTING rooms available. It was very confusing speaking to this lady as she does not know the meaning of adjoining, so I was concerned as to what I would find upon arrival. The rooms were in the back of the motel, and we felt unsafe. There were very few cars during our stay, so why we were assigned such terrible rooms is a mystery, except perhaps she was not happy with my explaining to her that adjoining and connecting rooms are NOT the same thing. The rooms were dirty, there were cobwebs EVERYWHERE, inside and all around the door frames of both rooms. The door of one of the rooms would only close if you slammed it; we returned one evening to find one of our rooms had the door open!!! Sinks were not cleaned as we would find them with toothpaste, coffee machine was not cleaned out, feathers (from their pillows) were found every day on the floor so they obviously were not vacuming, in general the rooms in this motel are rundown and not clean. There is some sort of a mattress cover that does not fit properly, so your head and feet are lower than your back as a result. I would not recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Make sure they do not give you a room in the back, scary and ugly. All other room areas had pots wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. It appears that we definitely failed when it comes to housekeeping and the assignment of your rooms. My staff and I reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue in the rooms you occupied. In addition, we are re-evaluating our inspection processes to ensure these types of issues do not occur in the future.
We want you to feel that your comments have been heard. Please know that we truly have taken your experience and have used it as a training tool to prevent these issues from happening in the future. We would love for you to give us another opportunity to take care of you. Please give us a call if you are ever in the area again.
Again, we are terribly sorry that your experience with us was not a great one.

Sincerely,

Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cary NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Banner Elk Best Western is one in which I have stayed a number of times over the years while working in Boone, NC. The motel is comfortable and cozy. Drinks and dinner were good. Location is beautiful and close to attractions.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassieminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

All rooms have outside entrance doors which make for a noisey stay and VERY THIN WALLS, may hear things you don't care to hear, especially if you are traveling with children. Front desk was very nice and the breakfast was good. Overall, okay for a one or two night stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank churchgirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2011

i was on a motorcycling-fall-foliage-tour, solo, but had 2-Harley's on a trailer, so, I booked through the HarleyOwnersGroup website, for the "discount", for wich i didn't get, of course.
No-smoking in the rooms, no fridge or micro in the room, and, very limited food/restaurants close-by. didn't have the "complimentary"breakfast, but, did enjoy the fresh-lobby coffee, several-times. this was an "off-peak" time for the hotel, as they were no-where near capacity,so, i had plenty of space to park my truck&trailer,and, 2-bikes, no-hassles.
the staff made this place bearable, they're genuine friendliness, and, helpful, accomodating service made-up for the lack-of the simple amenities that EVERY hotel in this price-range should have. Did i mention that everyone spoke english ? the hotel owner/operator knows he's the only game in town, so, he charges as much as he wants,,,i'd do the same...

Room Tip: request a room that faces the courtyard/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houstonhog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elloree, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My wife and I were on a spontaneous trip to the mountains and needed nothing more than a place to stay. We were told that we got the last available room...and paid the price for it. The room was clean, but the beds were extremely uncomfortable. The shower head was broken...permanently on pulse with very poor water pressure. When I shared my disappointment with the front desk staff during check-out the following morning, a very friendly lady said, "I'm so sorry!" And that was that. For this price...$175.09...you would at least think breakfast would be included....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawrenceville, ga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The staff at this hotel was wonderful, from the front desk to housekeeping, everyone had a great attitude. The breakfast was great as well. But the beds were so uncomfortable that I woke up at 3am every night and I'm not the type of person that has trouble sleeping. I've been more comfortable on my sleeping bag and pad while camping. It's very unfortunate because this is the only reason I won't be staying at this hotel again or recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reece71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
11.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
11.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
10.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Property: Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Address: 1615 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience outstanding customer service and convenient access to the Blue Ridge Mountains, Lee's McRae College and more at this pet-friendly Banner Elk, North Carolina hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk where guests will find friendly customer service, newly updated guest rooms and convenient access to a variety of Western North Carolina attractions. This Banner Elk area hotel boasts 100 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of a variety of hotel amenities including an seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, fitness center, picnic area, business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 200 guests. The BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk is the only pet-friendly hotel in the area. Guests staying at this Blue Ridge Mountain hotel will have convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including skiing and snowboarding at Sugar Mountain, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains, horseback riding and golfing. Families visiting the area will enjoy spending the day at the Orchards at Alta Pass or the Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park. Grandfather Mountain, just nine miles from the hotel, provides scenic nature trails and ideal picnic areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel Banner Elk
Best Western Banner Elk
Banner Elk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing