We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the 1980s TVs say it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

take yourself back to the 80s in this self-styled 'homage to the past'. No wifi, no flat screen TV, no more than one glass of wine in each bottle in the bar, no sense of humor in reception. The only upside was the proximity to the ski slopes. Badly needs a makeover.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnnysailorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

This past year we have started working on refurbishing all the rooms. We have just replaced and updated the wireless internet system that we are all very excited about. We have also started replacing the carpet in the rooms. In addition we are putting in a fitness center, should be ready in the next month. Also the new flat screen televisions are scheduled to be installed by the end of this year.

We would love for you to give us another opportunity to take care of you. Please give us a call if you are ever in the area again. Again, we are terribly sorry that your experience with us was not a good one.

Sincerely,
Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
1-877-877-4553 Toll Free
1-828-898-4572 Local

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great price for close proximity to slopes. Room was updated in the last couple of years. Perfect for just a clean room to crash in after a day on the slopes.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

We appreciate you for taking the time to respond and give your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am so delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant. We strive to provide superior customer service to our guest. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank You.

Sincerely,
Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager
Best Western Plus Mnt. Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We decided to stay at the BW BE for it affordable price and the great location. Just a few minutes to several different shops/bars/restaurants in the area along with Sugar Mt. The staff was very nice (considering it they were coming off the busiest weekend they had all season). The rooms are comfortable and the beds are nice also. Small bathroom but it worked. The walkways are very slick with ice and snow so be very careful on the tile (they do a good job of posting this info).

We also ate breakfast in the restaurant on site before going skiing. Went in not expecting much but was very impressed. I enjoyed everything I ordered.

Only complaint would be the air/heater is pretty loud, but it really did bother me.

This is a great economical option to chose if you plan a spending any time in the highlands area of NC.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ekaplan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager
Best Western Plus Mnt. Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Our room was facing the pool, although apparently the pool is only seasonal since it was closed this past December. Room was very clean and spacious. Location was very good, close and convenient to everything. We ate breakfast every morning at the hotel and it was definitely worth the $7 for the buffet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitty274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you, for your feedback and for taking the time to respond. I am so delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant. We strive to provide superior customer service to our guest.

Our pool is an outdoor heated pool open seasonal. This past winter has been warmer than usually, but we needed to close the pool to do some repairs.

We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay again with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We were there to ski Sugar and didn't want to spend a lot on a hotel. In this case I really feel that we got a bargain. The room, though small, was very nice. It was updated, clean and very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We chose a room with two twin beds which were incredibly comfy with the pillow tops and soft cotton sheets. The buffet breakfast had us wishing we had eaten elsewhere but it was not expensive either. The hotel is every bit as nice as the pictures make it look. It had a real cozy lodge feel and I relaxed by the fire in the lobby for a while. Great stuff!

Side note: I had a really bad experience with Extreme Snowboard and Ski rental shop down the street. When they actually made us pay for a pair of defective boots that we were unable to use. Rent elsewhere! The woman who is the General manager at Extreme was very rude and confrontational.

Room Tip: I usually ask for an upstairs room so I don't have noise from above. And it's always smart t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

We appreciate your feedback and for taking the time to respond. I am so delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 828-898-4571.

Sincerely,

Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Excellent place to stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful my wife and I have stayed here many time and will always stay here on our trips to Boone and Banner Elk.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1928ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

We appreciate you for taking the time to respond and give your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am so delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant. We strive to provide superior customer service to our guest.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank You.

Sincerely,
Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager
1-877-877-4553

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed for a few days of skiing. Staff is very accomodating. Clean. Not so quiet but I don't mind that. They had good breakfast buffets at the restaurant. One of the nights we ate, they had one cook. They were very apologetic and gave us a break on the drinks but the food was still good. Only comment is they charged us taxes "up the kazoo" and were too much in a hurry to dispute it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonzfamilyexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback.

As for the taxes they are high at 12.75%, but this is not up to the hotel how much tax to charge. State tax is at 6.75% but it can change and every hotel has to charge a 6% occupancy tax, taxes are per night.

We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay again with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge
1-877-877-4553
1-828-898-4571

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
10.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
650 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
11 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 18 in Boone
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
10 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#10 of 18 in Boone
1,024 reviews
11.2 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Address: 1615 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range: £69 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience outstanding customer service and convenient access to the Blue Ridge Mountains, Lee's McRae College and more at this pet-friendly Banner Elk, North Carolina hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk where guests will find friendly customer service, newly updated guest rooms and convenient access to a variety of Western North Carolina attractions. This Banner Elk area hotel boasts 100 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of a variety of hotel amenities including an seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, fitness center, picnic area, business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 200 guests. The BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk is the only pet-friendly hotel in the area. Guests staying at this Blue Ridge Mountain hotel will have convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including skiing and snowboarding at Sugar Mountain, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains, horseback riding and golfing. Families visiting the area will enjoy spending the day at the Orchards at Alta Pass or the Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park. Grandfather Mountain, just nine miles from the hotel, provides scenic nature trails and ideal picnic areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel Banner Elk
Best Western Banner Elk
Banner Elk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing