We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Germanton, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Went to spend some quality time with my grandchildren before school started and the room was great...only problem was the beds were too small for two children to sleep in...Other than that the hotel was great. The breakfast they offer is amazing and the swimming pool was very clean. This place is located by many nice restaurants and close to many places to go. Overall the trip was great and my grandchildren loved it...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Melodi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    208
    103
    32
    14
See reviews for
240
194
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa FL
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I truly enjoyed this stop on my drive across the Blue Ridge Parkway. Not really easy to find from the BRP, but welcoming and clean. I requested a lower floor so I could park at the door for easier luggage transport and I received that. Comfy beds, a good functioning room refrigerator and a superb breakfast make this place well worth the drive. The breakfast attendants offered me coffee upon entering and I had the best fluffy scrambled eggs ever! You could tell they were not the standard powdered eggs you get from most free breakfasts. I'd happily return.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if you don't want to carry heavy loads up and down stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaFLRuthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 1 night at this location. We found it to be clean and staff extremely friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel and the ladies working in the dining area provided prompt service with a smile. Great value in a cute little town. We stayed midweek. The hotel was not crowded so our stay was quiet. No major issues and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Aug2013uu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I booked at room here and would have cancelled within 5 minutes of my arrival if I could have. I was given a room that smelled like a wet dog and once I kicked my shoes off I realized that the carpets were damp. I was told that they had been cleaned 2 weeks earlier! The next room did have dry carpets but the wall were so thin that I could actually hear the occupants changing their alarm clock! The staff acted as though they were doing me a favor to even wait on me.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, General Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our guest rooms so I do hate to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your room. We did have our carpets professionally steam cleaned the week prior to your arrival. We thought that all rooms were completely dry. I am very sorry that the carpet in your room was still damp.

We want you to stay with us again and give us another opportunity. I would love the chance to discuss this further with you. We value your business and want you to come back and see us. Please call me directly at (828) 898-4571.

Sincerely,

Shannon Wooten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I'm gonna be honest, we've stayed at the hotels, at beach, and they've been horrible. Very Dated, and just plain disgusting. Maybe I'm just over opinionated, but I consider the Best Western a huge step-up. The rooms are very well maintained, and Clean. Plus, they had Wireless Internet (something hard to come by, further up the mountain) and it's free :) Staff was very friendly from the start, smiling, and just very welcoming. However, when we tried to checkout over the phone, someone from the front desk answered sounding very aggravated having to answer/deal with us.

The one little thing I didn't understand though, was there's no elevator at this property. If your staying on the 2nd Floor, it's a huge hassle trying to lug up suitcases and the like. The Breakfast is basically your normal, free hotel Breakfast. Nothing out of the ordinary, just the basics. Also, if your allergic to pets, try to consider a different hotel, this place is pet friendly, and bound to set off allergies.

All in All, besides the experience of checking out, I was very happy to stay here, and we will be returning. It's very clean, and a step up from other local hotel/motel options.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room on 1st Floor, on the left side of the building. You can park right up to your room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Lets start with the free breakfast that tasted is on par with breakfast at Folsom County Prison. (I havnt been to prison but I love Johnny Cash).

Then when we booked an extra night,because the town is so wonderful. ..they did so without informing us that they doubled our rate. The GM admitted her employees mistake but said tough [--]. When we called corporate to complain, the GM lied about admitting the mistake.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billyandbobthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, General Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. We value your business and very much appreciate you staying with us. I am sorry that you feel that you were not informed of the rate increase on the weekends. We felt that we made you aware of the rate increase, as you were very upset about the rate going up on Friday night when you requested to extend your stay. We have your initials by the rate increase, which we require before extending a guests stay. You chose to check out of one room and keep the second room. We did give you a manager’s special rate for the one room you remained in, and we gave you a late check out on your departure date. We were sold out the weekend you stayed with us and we could not reduce our rate any lower than the discounted rate we honored for you. You did mention at checkout that if we did not lower your rate to your weekday rate you were going to “blast us on Trip Advisor” and we let you know at that point that our rate would remain the same. We have a very strict policy of making sure that all guests are aware of the rates up front as we require initials by all rates. I am sorry that you feel you were not made aware of this.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful town. We do hope that you will come back and give us another opportunity in the future.
Sincerely,
Shannon Wooten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Upon checkin Neelan saw that me and my elderly friend were struggling
with our bags during the rain . She made several trips on her way off
her shift to assist us and it was with such an upbeat , caring,
attitude, that her genuine and sincere interaction made us feel like she
cared about us as people and not just customers . Then Shannon escorted
my friend to breakfast and back due to me being in pain. And the front
desk was exceptional due to the request to let me stay while my elderly
friend goes to church which is beyond the checkout time. I normally stay
at La Quinta however this will change due to my experience this visit. I
am retired from the airline so I travel a lot. I will be making Best
Western my choice for future travel lodging. Thanks for the experience
that exudes customer service which is what makes the difference between
one lodging and the next !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
11.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
11.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
23.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
201 reviews
10.3 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Property: Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Address: 1615 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience outstanding customer service and convenient access to the Blue Ridge Mountains, Lee's McRae College and more at this pet-friendly Banner Elk, North Carolina hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk where guests will find friendly customer service, newly updated guest rooms and convenient access to a variety of Western North Carolina attractions. This Banner Elk area hotel boasts 100 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of a variety of hotel amenities including an seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, fitness center, picnic area, business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 200 guests. The BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk is the only pet-friendly hotel in the area. Guests staying at this Blue Ridge Mountain hotel will have convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including skiing and snowboarding at Sugar Mountain, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains, horseback riding and golfing. Families visiting the area will enjoy spending the day at the Orchards at Alta Pass or the Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park. Grandfather Mountain, just nine miles from the hotel, provides scenic nature trails and ideal picnic areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel Banner Elk
Best Western Banner Elk
Banner Elk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing