We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired but nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel has a wonderful location saddled between Banner Elk, Blowing Rock, Beech Mountain,etc. Unfortunately, it is tired and in need of repair. Employees were very accommodating, though, and breakfast was good!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for completing a review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We take great pride in our guest service, so I am very happy to hear you were pleased with our staff. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast as we have recently begun including it with your room.

I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the hotel. We have made several upgrades to our guest rooms recently including adding flat screen TV's, adding microwaves and refrigerators to every room, adding feather toppers to all of our mattresses and building a brand new fitness center. We are in the process of renovating our exterior siding as well and you may have been in a room close to the renovations.

We should have the exterior siding renovations completed within the next couple of weeks. Please give me a call at 828-898-4571 if you would like to discuss this further. We would love to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Place is a dump. Beds are horrible. Do not stay here. Went for coffee and breakfast and all picked over and coffee empty. No one in sight to take care of. Very disappointed. Building is in need of lots of repairs. Slippery Tiles in all walkways.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Hilda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied during your stay with us. We have made several recent upgrades including adding microwaves and refrigerators to all rooms, adding flat screen TV's to all rooms, adding feather toppers to all of our mattresses, adding a brand new fitness center and so much more. We are also in the process of renovating our exterior siding. I am sorry if your room was close to the renovation area.

We would love for you to give us another opportunity in the future. We can make sure your room is assigned away from any renovations and we can also remove the feather topper from your mattress. Please call me directly at 828-898-4571 to discuss this further. We certainly value your business and want you to come back and see us.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The guest service of this hotel was truly excellent. The location is good for visiting the Grandfather MTN and Blowing Rock areas. The value is excellent for the price. The rooms were updated and very tasteful. Good breakfast each morning. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel that is away from the Boone madness (traffic), but still close enough to drive over and to many attractions. Right between Sugar Mtn. And Beech Mtn. This is a nice quite and Cosy place to rest.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank TALMADGE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

First off, this motel is PET FRIENDLY, which is what got me staying here in the first place.

I have seen the negative reviews of this location and think that the negative reviews reflect people that stayed here on the weekends. My room this time was $90, but the SAME room goes up to $135 or MORE on the weekends. But as someone who has visited this area since the '70s, I can tell you that this is unfortunately the nature of the hotel industry in this part of North Carolina.

I stayed in the same room this year that I have stayed in before. I can tell you that the room HAS been updated and a few problems fixed.

The only reason my review this time around has gone down is that there is no longer a restaurant and bar on premises. Although I don't drink, the bar WAS a nice touch for a motel in this price range.

The staff is GREAT, the complimentary breakfast was VERY good, and the value for the money was unsurpassed. Just bear in mind that the room rates go up on Friday and Saturday nights.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms on the side of the building (versus the back) should have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCole61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The room was very nice and extremely clean. The decor was impressive and seemed to be fairly new. The double bed was more like a twin. The beds have a feather/down pillow top under the sheet, which was so nice. The room we had was on the first floor and since my father in law cannot get around it was perfect, no steps. The ice machine, drink and snack machines were inexpensive and centrally located for us. I especially enjoyed the bathroom amenities, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, lotion dispenser in a hotel is a big plus in my opinion. We were in the back of the hotel, which was awesome, no noise whatsoever. The hot breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel. The food was great tasting and there was plenty of it. I cannot say enough about the front desk staff who was very courteous and friendly. Checking in and out was very fast. I would highly recommend staying here if in the area. I know we will.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My wife and I wanted the cool of the mountains and an inexpensive place to stay. This place was just what we wanted - good bed, clean room, friendly staff and good price from Bestwestern.com. The best part of the stay was the breakfast - we did not expect a full hot breakfast. We did not get the name of the hostess but she was excellent. We would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
10.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
650 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
11 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 18 in Boone
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
10 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#10 of 18 in Boone
1,023 reviews
11.2 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Address: 1615 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range: £69 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience outstanding customer service and convenient access to the Blue Ridge Mountains, Lee's McRae College and more at this pet-friendly Banner Elk, North Carolina hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk where guests will find friendly customer service, newly updated guest rooms and convenient access to a variety of Western North Carolina attractions. This Banner Elk area hotel boasts 100 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of a variety of hotel amenities including an seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, fitness center, picnic area, business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 200 guests. The BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk is the only pet-friendly hotel in the area. Guests staying at this Blue Ridge Mountain hotel will have convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including skiing and snowboarding at Sugar Mountain, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains, horseback riding and golfing. Families visiting the area will enjoy spending the day at the Orchards at Alta Pass or the Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park. Grandfather Mountain, just nine miles from the hotel, provides scenic nature trails and ideal picnic areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel Banner Elk
Best Western Banner Elk
Banner Elk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing