We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and friendly hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Banner Elk, United States
1 review
“Clean and friendly hotel.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I liked this hotel; however not their (free) breakfast. Only think they had were scrambled eggs (cold and color wasn't look right), pork sausage (I don't eat pork because I am Muslim), pancakes (Every time I eat sweet food I get dizzy) So I have to go out to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Abdurrahim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    197
    99
    27
    12
See reviews for
221
182
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, SC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a skiing trip just after Christmas. The hotel was clean and the location was great. The hot water was an issue as our room and the room next to us both had cold showers both days.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
401 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We liked this hotel very much! The only think I will recommend is to buy better mattresses. Other than that it is excellent.
Mattresses were ok, I think people need a good night sleep after skiing!
We recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nabeab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STALEY,NC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Came here last Thanksgiving night 2012, and since it is the only hotel close to our get together we reluctantly stayed here again and were pleasantly surprised. The girl at the front desk was awesome, very friendly on phone and in person, no problems at all. The breakfast room has been updated and now serves in their conference room, a better feel and overlooks the pool area. Hot waffles were added to the scrambled eggs, sausage links (luke warm and weird texture, I suggest nuking in micro for 30 secs, then they improve alittle) biscuits and gravy I didn't try. 2 kinds of juice, tea and coffee. Coffee was way watered down, (and I like my coffee weak) but try the main lobby hallway carafes, better coffee there. There was a popcorn maker, but was never running. No popcorn. The beds are still A NIGHTMARE. We had room 221, all 4 of us tossed and turned all night the beds were like sleeping in hammocks, slung way low in the center about 5 inches atleast and covered by a few inch topper. New flat screen tv and better cable selection and pic quality, but the reason for coming to a hotel is for sleep, and not much will be found here. The outside of all rooms are surrounded with ceramic tile that are shiny and when icy in winter is an accident waiting to happen. So dangerous, I suggest to get clear paint and add sand and paint on for better traction. Probably looks nice in summer which is a short season, that tile is insane. Never seen a hotel with ceramic tile outside of rooms. If the beds were replaced I would return, but will go somewhere else next yr and drive a bit just for the sleep alone. I will admit the place was very clean, a big improvement from our last visit, and the front desk cust service was awesome, but still the beds the number one reason for a hotel is still sad and lacking. Time to upgrade the beds or close hotel. NO SALT IS USED, ALL OUTSIDE ICE ON CERAMIC TILE, VERY DANGEROUS.

Room Tip: Be careful in winter, snow on outside tile will break your back. Please walk slow. No salt was used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVESJESUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us another opportunity to provide you with a better guest experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed some of our many improvements to our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good night's sleep. We have feather down toppers on all of our beds which can very easily be removed. Hopefully this would improve your sleep quality during stay with us. We thank you for staying with us and we do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. Please call me directly the next time you are coming to the area and I will make sure the feather topper is removed from your bed. We hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

great hotel, breakfast wasn't that good, and the fitness center could be better, but great location, best staff.very clean rooms and pet friendly. great for family vacation. we are going back there for sure

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Guillermo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

my dog and I had a great stay! there could be better beds because the pillow tops shift. my dog absolutely loves his stays - the staff is very attentive to his and my needs which is why we have come back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My 85 yr. old mom wanted to see her grandchildren & great-grandchildren. The stay at this Best Western was PERFECT ! The staff was very kind to my mom. She loved the lobby with the fireplace. Having Breakfast on site was very helpful. This experience really helped make a " LOT" of good memories!! Thank You, David

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lydia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
11.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
11.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
10.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Property: Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Address: 1615 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience outstanding customer service and convenient access to the Blue Ridge Mountains, Lee's McRae College and more at this pet-friendly Banner Elk, North Carolina hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk where guests will find friendly customer service, newly updated guest rooms and convenient access to a variety of Western North Carolina attractions. This Banner Elk area hotel boasts 100 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of a variety of hotel amenities including an seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, fitness center, picnic area, business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 200 guests. The BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk is the only pet-friendly hotel in the area. Guests staying at this Blue Ridge Mountain hotel will have convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including skiing and snowboarding at Sugar Mountain, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains, horseback riding and golfing. Families visiting the area will enjoy spending the day at the Orchards at Alta Pass or the Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park. Grandfather Mountain, just nine miles from the hotel, provides scenic nature trails and ideal picnic areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel Banner Elk
Best Western Banner Elk
Banner Elk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing