We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Have stayed at this hotel now 2 years in a row while skiing, employees were friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean and well maintained. Plus this year I noticed there breakfast was much improved over last year. Great place to go if your from Florida area and looking for one of the most southern points with high elevation to ski.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank WILLIAM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed there during the thanksgiving week 2013. I was great, staff is awesome. Location couldn't be better. Is really close to the Beech Mountain Resort and even closer to the Sugar mountain ski Resort. Plenty of restaurants and attractions close by.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLAUDIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Even though the hotel building is older, the rooms were very clean, lobby and common areas very nicely decorated and (best free) breakfast amazing. Staff went out of their way to visit with guests during breakfast and make sure they were taken care of.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel was nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful with local inforamtion. The beds need new mattresses on them due to indentions in them from being slept in on in the same space and extra blankets or heavier blankets for the winter, bedding on beds was summer weigh. The room I stayed on was on an exterior wall and had poor insultation making the room cold in the 7 degree temperatures. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel has exterior walkways that were icy when I visited. Hotel is close to local ski resorts with multiple restaraunts in good proximity.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Not many choices in chain hotels, but this hotel is very well suited for the area. Very clean & accomodating rooms, helpfull hotel staff. Only 1 minor issue was the weather stripping at the bottom of the door was non-existent, so on sub -zero evening had to put a towel along the foot of the door to keep the 'cool breeze' from flowing in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank 4swamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Excellent staff assistance and friendly relations. Convenience to work location major decision in choice. Exrrewemw weather conditions (-8 degree) severely taxed the heating system. Demands for 72 degrees was never met,...highest was 68.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I rented a room in this hotel for a week end on the snow at Sugar Mountain at the end of January 2014 and it proved to be a good choice. This place is very close to the resort, it is very well kept and is very welcoming, it has a nice entrance hall that looks like a mountain cabin living room with a fireplace and homey furniture and has friendly employees. My room had 2 double size beds. I was expecting larger beds, like queen size, but they were very comfortable and after a day of ski, size did not matter much. Room and bathroom were clean. I did not like the fact that the door of my room did not close properly unless lifted to let the lock engage. I heard that someone complained at the front desk for this problem too. Another thing that I did not like was the extremely slippery wet tiles at the entrance and around the building that almost made me fall. I think they needed to install appropriate ones considered that this is an hotel that also caters to skiers and if there is snow around, there will be water on the tiles. The breakfast in the morning make me partially forget the things that I did not like. They offer a free full breakfast including scrambled eggs, sausages, grits and waffles, cereals, etc.
Overall a very nice experience, but those tiles..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelsafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
11.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
10.3 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
621 reviews
11.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
339 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Address: 1615 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range: £63 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience outstanding customer service and convenient access to the Blue Ridge Mountains, Lee's McRae College and more at this pet-friendly Banner Elk, North Carolina hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk where guests will find friendly customer service, newly updated guest rooms and convenient access to a variety of Western North Carolina attractions. This Banner Elk area hotel boasts 100 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of a variety of hotel amenities including an seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, fitness center, picnic area, business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 200 guests. The BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk is the only pet-friendly hotel in the area. Guests staying at this Blue Ridge Mountain hotel will have convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including skiing and snowboarding at Sugar Mountain, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains, horseback riding and golfing. Families visiting the area will enjoy spending the day at the Orchards at Alta Pass or the Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park. Grandfather Mountain, just nine miles from the hotel, provides scenic nature trails and ideal picnic areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel Banner Elk
Best Western Banner Elk
Banner Elk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing