We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

For the price and convenience to my son's college, this hotel was perfect. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Room was clean, bed so so. Breakfast was a disappointment because I am a vegan. Overall, I would recommend this as good basic lodging.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lauri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, General Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We very much appreciate your kind words. We are very close to Lees McRae College and several other great attractions in our area and are happy to hear that our location is convenient for you. I am sorry to hear that you were not in love with our beds. We have feather toppers on all of our mattresses. Please let us know in the future and we can have these removed from your bed prior to check-in if you find them uncomfortable. We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Having stayed at this facility 3 years ago, I felt it had somewhat deteriorated in quality. It was clean, but in need of updating. The shower did not work well, and the toilet made a horrible noise when used. The room had a funny, musty smell. It is "off-season" for this area, but i was surprised when i drove up and there were no cars in the parking lot at 9pm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We greatly appreciate the feedback and will use it to ensure a better experience for all of our guests.

I sent you a seperate email in response to the issues you had while staying with us and have not heard back. We had maintenance go to your room as soon as we heard of the problems from the survey you filled out online and they were able to make the necessary repairs. We very much thank you for bringing those to our attention. Please know that in the future, if you ever have a problem with anything in your room, we have staff on hand 24 hours a day that can fix any issue you have while you are here. We would have loved the opportunity to repair this issue during your stay with us.

It saddens me to hear that you feel the hotel has deteriorated since your last stay with us 3 years ago. We have made several recent upgrades that include adding microwaves and refrigerators to all rooms, adding brand new 37" flat screen TV's to all rooms, and including a hot breakfast buffet with your room. We appreciate the kind words regarding the cleanliness of your room. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel.

I would love the opportunity to discuss this with you further. We greatly value your business and we want to make sure that if you are ever in our area again, you will stay with us. Please give me a call at 828-898-4571 at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Leeann Sparks
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great Hotel in a nice surrounding. Clean comfortable and all things in order... The rooms are spacy for 2 adults and 2 children and it was a pleasure to stay there. easy to reach grandfather mountain and if it had been warmer outside we would have used the pool also.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Henrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Looks like remodeling was going on. Beds could be changed from doubles to queens. I like the décor of the lobby and hallways. Staff was excellent. Breakfast was hot and good. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is important to us and we will use it to make improvements in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Hotel was nice and clean with a freindly staff, central location is close to ski resorts, shopping and dining in Banner Elk. Breakfast was very good and would stay at hotel again andrecommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Steven Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Sincerely,

Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Was a little pricy when I went, if I had a little notice I might have been able to get lodging right off the slopes for the same price. But the room was fine and so was the service and it really wasn't far from the slopes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Snowboarding trip to Sugar Mountain and this was a great hotel that was close by. Breakfast was great and the service was great. Hotel should consider outlets that are more convenient to travelers. As the only bedside outlets were already being used by the lamp and clock, and you had to move the nightstand to get to it. The survey asked about my satisfaction with high-speed internet in the room, but I was not told about high-speed internet at check-in and didn't see an available SSID to connect to while in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
11.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
10.3 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
411 reviews
10.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
635 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Address: 1615 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range: £67 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience outstanding customer service and convenient access to the Blue Ridge Mountains, Lee's McRae College and more at this pet-friendly Banner Elk, North Carolina hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk where guests will find friendly customer service, newly updated guest rooms and convenient access to a variety of Western North Carolina attractions. This Banner Elk area hotel boasts 100 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of a variety of hotel amenities including an seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, fitness center, picnic area, business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 200 guests. The BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk is the only pet-friendly hotel in the area. Guests staying at this Blue Ridge Mountain hotel will have convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including skiing and snowboarding at Sugar Mountain, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains, horseback riding and golfing. Families visiting the area will enjoy spending the day at the Orchards at Alta Pass or the Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park. Grandfather Mountain, just nine miles from the hotel, provides scenic nature trails and ideal picnic areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel Banner Elk
Best Western Banner Elk
Banner Elk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing