We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and quaint-Awesome breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Convenient hotel for our stay for white water raft trip (High Mountain Expeditions is right up the street). I wasn't expecting exterior entrances or the pool to be closed on Memorial Day weekend. Colder than average temps for this time of year was to blame and we noticed some work was being done around pool area. (Nice little pool/outdoor bar area and probably awesome in June/July/August). The rooms were comfortable and beds were very comfy.
I'm not a fan of Hotels with exterior entrances but the area felt very safe. Glad we chose the second level! Breakfast was included and fantastic. Saved me tons of money with 3 hungry kids! Waffle maker is only thing kids missed. Fridge in room didn't have a freezer which would have been nice.

Room Tip: 200's for second level and away from pool request 230-250's if you're staying in the sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamster1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We hope you had a wonderful white water rafting trip with High Mountain Expeditions. They do a great job! There are many other activities in the High Country such as fly fishing, hiking, snow skiing, golf, and so much more. Please give us a call if you would like any information on other activities in our area. Our pool is now open. We did have a cold snap Memorial Day Weekend but it looks like the summer temps are here now. We are sorry if this caused you any inconvenience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip. Thanks again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

For the price, you really can't beat it. The room was clean, the breakfast was hearty, and the staff was fantastic. They were extremely friendly, helpful, competent, and accommodating from check-in to check out. Just when it seems like customer service everywhere has gone out the window, the staff at the Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reminds you that it still exists. It really made a difference, and I would recommend staying there if you are planning a trip that way.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, General Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We thank you so much for the kind words regarding our staff. We take great pride in our guest service and we love to hear positive feedback. I will make sure to share your comments with my staff We all love the opportunity to meet new guests from all over and share in their travel experiences. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Breakfast was excellent. Room was clean. Only problem were the thn walls where we could hear normal-toned talking through the walls.Also, there were spots of mold in the tub-shower. Caulking looked new, but it didn't cover the mold-mildew build up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Y6075IKrichardb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, General Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you loved our breakfast and the cleanliness of our hotel. We take great pride in our cleanliness. I received a separate response from you from the general surveys we send to each of our guests when they check out. We appreciate you bringing the mildew on the caulk in your bathroom to our attention. I wanted to let you know that we have removed the old caulk, bleached and re-caulked the bathroom in your room. I apologize that you found this as this does not meet our standards but wanted to let you know that we have corrected the issue. Thanks again for brining this to our attention. We very much value your business and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

For the price and convenience to my son's college, this hotel was perfect. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Room was clean, bed so so. Breakfast was a disappointment because I am a vegan. Overall, I would recommend this as good basic lodging.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lauri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, General Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We very much appreciate your kind words. We are very close to Lees McRae College and several other great attractions in our area and are happy to hear that our location is convenient for you. I am sorry to hear that you were not in love with our beds. We have feather toppers on all of our mattresses. Please let us know in the future and we can have these removed from your bed prior to check-in if you find them uncomfortable. We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Having stayed at this facility 3 years ago, I felt it had somewhat deteriorated in quality. It was clean, but in need of updating. The shower did not work well, and the toilet made a horrible noise when used. The room had a funny, musty smell. It is "off-season" for this area, but i was surprised when i drove up and there were no cars in the parking lot at 9pm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We greatly appreciate the feedback and will use it to ensure a better experience for all of our guests.

I sent you a seperate email in response to the issues you had while staying with us and have not heard back. We had maintenance go to your room as soon as we heard of the problems from the survey you filled out online and they were able to make the necessary repairs. We very much thank you for bringing those to our attention. Please know that in the future, if you ever have a problem with anything in your room, we have staff on hand 24 hours a day that can fix any issue you have while you are here. We would have loved the opportunity to repair this issue during your stay with us.

It saddens me to hear that you feel the hotel has deteriorated since your last stay with us 3 years ago. We have made several recent upgrades that include adding microwaves and refrigerators to all rooms, adding brand new 37" flat screen TV's to all rooms, and including a hot breakfast buffet with your room. We appreciate the kind words regarding the cleanliness of your room. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel.

I would love the opportunity to discuss this with you further. We greatly value your business and we want to make sure that if you are ever in our area again, you will stay with us. Please give me a call at 828-898-4571 at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Leeann Sparks
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great Hotel in a nice surrounding. Clean comfortable and all things in order... The rooms are spacy for 2 adults and 2 children and it was a pleasure to stay there. easy to reach grandfather mountain and if it had been warmer outside we would have used the pool also.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Henrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Looks like remodeling was going on. Beds could be changed from doubles to queens. I like the décor of the lobby and hallways. Staff was excellent. Breakfast was hot and good. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is important to us and we will use it to make improvements in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
10.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
650 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
11 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 18 in Boone
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
10 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#10 of 18 in Boone
1,024 reviews
11.2 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Address: 1615 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range: £69 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience outstanding customer service and convenient access to the Blue Ridge Mountains, Lee's McRae College and more at this pet-friendly Banner Elk, North Carolina hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk where guests will find friendly customer service, newly updated guest rooms and convenient access to a variety of Western North Carolina attractions. This Banner Elk area hotel boasts 100 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of a variety of hotel amenities including an seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, fitness center, picnic area, business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 200 guests. The BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk is the only pet-friendly hotel in the area. Guests staying at this Blue Ridge Mountain hotel will have convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including skiing and snowboarding at Sugar Mountain, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains, horseback riding and golfing. Families visiting the area will enjoy spending the day at the Orchards at Alta Pass or the Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park. Grandfather Mountain, just nine miles from the hotel, provides scenic nature trails and ideal picnic areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel Banner Elk
Best Western Banner Elk
Banner Elk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing