We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great place to relax. Friendly staff, very helpful in making suggestions for local dining and attractions. The temperature range while in the area ranged from a low or 63 to a high of 69 degrees - perfect summer mountain weather. The lodge is beautiful inside and out with a great view of the mountains. The king bed was unbelievably comfortable. Breakfast bar included with room, hot traditional eggs, meat, biscuits, etc, or cereal, danish, muffins, bagels, etc, all-you-care-to-eat and very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We appreciate your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. We are happy to hear you noticed all the many improvements we have made at our property.

We hope you will visit us again soon. Thank you!



Sincerely,
Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This little hotel gets five stars because for a small hotel, it is an excellent choice. The staff is extremely eager to please, and they are quite knowledgeable. Our room had two full beds with a feather bed on top of the mattress. Great pillows, and it was very clean. The pool is convenient and is comfortable to sit by in the evening and enjoy a glass of good wine. Good restaurants are close. Nice place in a pretty mountain town to stay.

Room Tip: Come to our mountains with a positive attitude. I asked the pretty lady at the desk what is hard abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWright-Barron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed sleeping on our feather toppers we have in our guest rooms. We appreciate the kind words about our staff which I have shared with them. Thanks again and we hope to see you on your next trip.




Sincerely,
Leeanna Sparks
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here Memorial Weekend for a quick getaway. Loved it! The room was clean and comfy. The bed had a feather top which felt like sleeping on a cloud. My husband didn't like the pillows as they were too small for him...said it was like sleeping on Chiclets lol, but there were plenty of them.
Room had big flat screen tv, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, fridge and microwave. Beautiful view of the mountains. Breakfast was not amazing but was pretty good. Scrambled egg, sausage, biscuits and gravy, pancakes etc. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Short drive into town for some good food and drinks. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for staying with us during your quick getaway! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in the mountains! Please let your husband know that we also have feather pillows available that may be more comfortable for him in the future. Let us know the next time you are coming and we will have them in your room when you arrive. We hope you are having a wonderful summer and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great stay after last minute trip to Banner Elk. Staff is extremely friendly, rooms are clean, breakfast is wonderful. This is a very nice property. The front desk staff is friendly and accommodating,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in the mountains. We appreciate your feedback and kind words. I will make sure to share these with my staff. We hope to see you the next time you're in our area.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Convenient hotel for our stay for white water raft trip (High Mountain Expeditions is right up the street). I wasn't expecting exterior entrances or the pool to be closed on Memorial Day weekend. Colder than average temps for this time of year was to blame and we noticed some work was being done around pool area. (Nice little pool/outdoor bar area and probably awesome in June/July/August). The rooms were comfortable and beds were very comfy.
I'm not a fan of Hotels with exterior entrances but the area felt very safe. Glad we chose the second level! Breakfast was included and fantastic. Saved me tons of money with 3 hungry kids! Waffle maker is only thing kids missed. Fridge in room didn't have a freezer which would have been nice.

Room Tip: 200's for second level and away from pool request 230-250's if you're staying in the sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamster1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We hope you had a wonderful white water rafting trip with High Mountain Expeditions. They do a great job! There are many other activities in the High Country such as fly fishing, hiking, snow skiing, golf, and so much more. Please give us a call if you would like any information on other activities in our area. Our pool is now open. We did have a cold snap Memorial Day Weekend but it looks like the summer temps are here now. We are sorry if this caused you any inconvenience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip. Thanks again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

For the price, you really can't beat it. The room was clean, the breakfast was hearty, and the staff was fantastic. They were extremely friendly, helpful, competent, and accommodating from check-in to check out. Just when it seems like customer service everywhere has gone out the window, the staff at the Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reminds you that it still exists. It really made a difference, and I would recommend staying there if you are planning a trip that way.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, General Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We thank you so much for the kind words regarding our staff. We take great pride in our guest service and we love to hear positive feedback. I will make sure to share your comments with my staff We all love the opportunity to meet new guests from all over and share in their travel experiences. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Breakfast was excellent. Room was clean. Only problem were the thn walls where we could hear normal-toned talking through the walls.Also, there were spots of mold in the tub-shower. Caulking looked new, but it didn't cover the mold-mildew build up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Y6075IKrichardb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, General Manager at Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you loved our breakfast and the cleanliness of our hotel. We take great pride in our cleanliness. I received a separate response from you from the general surveys we send to each of our guests when they check out. We appreciate you bringing the mildew on the caulk in your bathroom to our attention. I wanted to let you know that we have removed the old caulk, bleached and re-caulked the bathroom in your room. I apologize that you found this as this does not meet our standards but wanted to let you know that we have corrected the issue. Thanks again for brining this to our attention. We very much value your business and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
10.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
646 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
11.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 18 in Boone
416 reviews
10 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#10 of 18 in Boone
1,010 reviews
11.2 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Address: 1615 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range: £65 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience outstanding customer service and convenient access to the Blue Ridge Mountains, Lee's McRae College and more at this pet-friendly Banner Elk, North Carolina hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk where guests will find friendly customer service, newly updated guest rooms and convenient access to a variety of Western North Carolina attractions. This Banner Elk area hotel boasts 100 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of a variety of hotel amenities including an seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, fitness center, picnic area, business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 200 guests. The BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk is the only pet-friendly hotel in the area. Guests staying at this Blue Ridge Mountain hotel will have convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including skiing and snowboarding at Sugar Mountain, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains, horseback riding and golfing. Families visiting the area will enjoy spending the day at the Orchards at Alta Pass or the Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park. Grandfather Mountain, just nine miles from the hotel, provides scenic nature trails and ideal picnic areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel Banner Elk
Best Western Banner Elk
Banner Elk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing