We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Nice stay in Banner Elk. We enjoyed the pool. The room was more than adequate and clean. The hotel staff were helpful and very friendly. The location was perfect for our mountain activities. Overall, it was a pleasant stay in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    193
    95
    27
    12
See reviews for
213
180
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The BW Mountain Lodge was very convenient for a visit to friends staying on Beech Mtn. Our dog was welcome, too. The lodge seemed very nice, although we didn't have time to enjoy all the facilities. Reception/lobby area nice, and staff very friendly. Breakfast so-so, but attentive staffer (Mary?) a definite plus.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington
Level Contributor
337 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a great place to stay. the people are very nice, rooms are quiet, breakfast is good, fresh and hot and the amenities are perfect. Good restaurants are close by and the staff is very helpful. Stay there if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TallTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have printed your comments and shared them with our staff. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the mountains.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Best Western over a weekend in July, 2014. The hotel is very worn out and in need of renovation. For the price we paid, it should have been much nicer. There are slick floor tiles on all of the concrete walkways, that look very sloppy and crude. And once you get in the room, it just seems very worn and out of date. The room was also dark, and the toilet cycled on and off the whole time. The beds are very comfortable, if you like a soft bed. Sound proofing is non-existent -- you will be able to hear your neighbor's conversations. The rate included a hot breakfast which was just adequate and nothing special. The problem is that there is no alternative hotel in the area, except for the Smoketree lodge, and it is even worse (but much, much cheaper) than the Best Western. So, if you stay over night in Banner Elk, you will probably have to stay here. Too bad. It just goes to show how a little competition is a good thing!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied during your stay. We take great pride in our rooms and our service but we understand that there will be customer issues from time to time. We love the opportunity to correct an issue and hopefully get you back to stay with us again. We have made many recent improvements to our hotel including adding microwaves and refrigerators to all rooms, adding large flat screen TV's, and adding a fitness center. We will continue to make improvements and look forward to sharing them with you on your next trip to Banner Elk. I was unable to locate your reservation with us based on your Trip Advisor screen name, but would certainly like to know which room you stayed in so we can make sure we have corrected the problem you had with the toilet in your room. I would love to discuss this with you. Please call me at your earliest convenience at (828) 898-4571. Thanks again so much for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary by taking a slow trip on the Blue Ridge Parkway and the immediate area. The scenery is spectacular, and staying in Banner Elk at the Best Western was the best compliment possible to the countryside. The staff went out of their way to help us with restaurants, areas of interest and recommendations. We loved it and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank henryl271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your anniversary! We are so pleased to hear that you both had such and enjoyable time in our Mountains! We very much appreciate your kind words. I have printed your comments to share with the entire staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Banner Elk.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Pretty standard motel fare but the staff makes this one worthwhile. Rooms are your usual motel furniture fare, polyester drapes and bedcover..albeit pretty clean. Very good staff. Service was attentive from the front desk to the breakfast in the morning. Leaky toilet flush valve was fixed within hours of notifying the manager. Hotel is quiet and well kept even if a little worn. A little pricey on the weekend, but your in a vacation area. Yeah, we'd go back here again, it wasn't bad for the money spent. Pet friendly for those who need it.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel seemed very quiet except for some barking dogs in the adjacent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. I have printed your comments to share with everyone. We have made many recent improvements to our hotel including adding microwaves and refrigerators to all rooms, adding large flat screen TV's, and adding a fitness center. We will continue to make improvements and look forward to sharing them with you on your next trip to Banner Elk. Thanks again so much for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stay away from this BW. Very disappointed in the cleanliness. And the free breakfast isn't even worth being free. The pool wasn't warm...supposed to be heated, it wasn't. I had intended to stay for 3 nights but left first thing the next morning. Very disappointed, cant believe this was a BW. This is by far the worst BW I've ever stayed at. It will make me think twice about sticking with BW as my "go to" choice in hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me start by saying thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I want to apologize for all of the issues you had during your stay. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel so it concerns me that you had so many problems. We keep our pool temperature at 87 degrees and this is the first time we have had a complaint that the water is cold. The temperature of the pool is normally always above the air temperature in our area which should make it feel warm. I am very sorry this was not a comfortable temperature for you. I have gone to the room that you checked out of and inspected the room for any damages or smells and haven't found any. We want everyone that stays with us to enjoy their stay, but we know that from time to time, there will be issues. We like to be able to correct these issues that may arise immediately to ensure you have a great stay and to avoid any problems for future guests. I have read our log that we keep at the front desk to see if anything was noted during your stay and it does not look like the issues you had were brought to the attention of any of our staff members. I would love the opportunity to discuss your stay with us so I can better understand the problems you had so we can get them corrected. We greatly value your business and want to do everything we can to ensure you stay with us in the future. Please give me a call at your earliest convenience at (828) 898-4571.

Sincerely,

Shannon Maness
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
11.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
11.2 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
10.0 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
12.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Property: BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Address: 1615 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience outstanding customer service and convenient access to the Blue Ridge Mountains, Lee's McRae College and more at this pet-friendly Banner Elk, North Carolina hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk where guests will find friendly customer service, newly updated guest rooms and convenient access to a variety of Western North Carolina attractions. This Banner Elk area hotel boasts 100 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of a variety of hotel amenities including an seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, fitness center, picnic area, business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 200 guests. The BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk is the only pet-friendly hotel in the area. Guests staying at this Blue Ridge Mountain hotel will have convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including skiing and snowboarding at Sugar Mountain, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains, horseback riding and golfing. Families visiting the area will enjoy spending the day at the Orchards at Alta Pass or the Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park. Grandfather Mountain, just nine miles from the hotel, provides scenic nature trails and ideal picnic areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel Banner Elk
Best Western Banner Elk
Banner Elk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing