We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 stop night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
OHIO
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“1 stop night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stopped here for 1 night while wanting to see Grandfather Mountain. The hotel staff was very nice and gave us a few extra FREE sites to see! The hotel was clean, pool was warm and breakfast was great. I would recommend stopping here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCHOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your overnight summer trip. I hope that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Grandfather Mountain, and I am very glad that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable lodging experience. I hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to the area. We would definitely love to host you again and give you a few more ideas for sites to see.

Thank you!

Caren Peoples
Best Western Mountain Lodge, Banner Elk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    194
    95
    27
    12
See reviews for
216
180
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Visiting Friends Here in Banner Elk and made reservations at the Best Western....After a friendly check in, proceeded to our room which was beautifully decorated. Had a Great Night out At Bellas Neighborhood Italian Restaurant just up the road(Excellent by the way) and returned to the BW for a wonderful night of uninterupted sleep. This morning I went for coffee downstairs and found not just the normal comp breakfast but also eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravy, grits etc etc.... Much more than we expected. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you very much for your review! We value our guests' feedback and appreciate your high recommendation. I am glad to hear that you were able to get a wonderful night's sleep after an enjoyable evening. We definitely look forward to hosting you again and providing you with another superior experience.

Thank you,
Caren Peoples
Best Western Mountain Lodge, Banner Elk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This entire experience met and exceeded our expectations. The hotel is excellent condition. Wi-Fi is fast and dependable. The rooms are clean and stocked. The complimentary breakfast is out of this world. Staff is friendly, courteous and professional. The pool is heated and fun. We were a family of four with children aged 9 & 11. I felt very safe and comfortable with the location of the hotel and the other patrons. Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ricardo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwbannerelk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words! I am so very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your trip. We strive to provide our guests with the most comfortable and enjoyable experience possible, so I we are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Caren Peoples
Best Western Mountain Lodge, Banner Elk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Thanks to other trip advisor reviewers we selected this hotel for a weekend trip and we were very pleased! The location was great and the hotel grounds were really relaxing, inviting and well kept. My kids enjoyed an evening swim in the heated pool and popcorn that was self serve and made available in the lobby (coffee was also available) The front desk and housekeeping staff were super friendly and helpful. And the breakfast staff made you really feel at home! They were very genuine and not that fake friendly because they have to be. I also appreciated the opportunity to be able to
enjoy a breakfast at a hotel where you saw the actual scrambled eggs come hot and fresh from the skillet! As for the room we had two full size beds that were very comfortable and the room itself was clean and comfy. The room had a microwave and fridge included, but I was surprised that there wasn't a freezer portion in the fridge (not certain if all rooms include the fridge and microwave).
We truly enjoyed the lodge feel and our stay at the Best Western and look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustUs1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

As the title of the review indicates, this pet friendly hotel has rooms set aside especially for those traveling with pets. This means that you never have to stay in a room where a pet has been if you have an allergy to cats or dogs. This Best Western is on my list of top three pet friendly hotels. The only reason I don't rate it higher is that the buildings containing the rooms date from the 1970s

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank BCole61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varnville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a wonderful location, surrounded by beautiful mountains. While it was only a weekend visit, I found myself needing assistance for various things from the staff. Each staff member I spoke with was so helpful and professional at all times. The room was clean and comfortable. I hope to visit again someday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyandDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Nice stay in Banner Elk. We enjoyed the pool. The room was more than adequate and clean. The hotel staff were helpful and very friendly. The location was perfect for our mountain activities. Overall, it was a pleasant stay in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
11.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
11.2 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
10.0 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
12.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Property: BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Address: 1615 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience outstanding customer service and convenient access to the Blue Ridge Mountains, Lee's McRae College and more at this pet-friendly Banner Elk, North Carolina hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk where guests will find friendly customer service, newly updated guest rooms and convenient access to a variety of Western North Carolina attractions. This Banner Elk area hotel boasts 100 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of a variety of hotel amenities including an seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, fitness center, picnic area, business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 200 guests. The BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk is the only pet-friendly hotel in the area. Guests staying at this Blue Ridge Mountain hotel will have convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including skiing and snowboarding at Sugar Mountain, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains, horseback riding and golfing. Families visiting the area will enjoy spending the day at the Orchards at Alta Pass or the Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park. Grandfather Mountain, just nine miles from the hotel, provides scenic nature trails and ideal picnic areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel Banner Elk
Best Western Banner Elk
Banner Elk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing