We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check your voicemail”
Review of Jackalope's View

Jackalope's View
Ranked #22 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Price range: US$16 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jackalope's View and The Vault Bar are located halfway up Beech Mountain and Boasts one of the most beautiful views you could have. Downstairs is a culinary treat with upscale and fine dining choices, while upstairs in our Vault Bar provides a casual dining atmosphere and full bar. The Vault is currently open Thursday through Saturday from 5:00p until 2:00 am business permitting. Jackalopes is open Thursday through Monday from 5:00pm until 9:30pm. Reservations are encouraged for Jackalope's. Jackalope's View Is Now Open For Breakfast! 7:30AM to 10:30AM!!
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
572 reviews
463 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Check your voicemail”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have never been to Jackalopes but its not for lack of trying. We have a summer home in Banner Elk and our friends who also have a home there also left several messages on their recorder. We were trying to make a reservation for 4 for dinner but no one ever returned any of our messages. Frankly, we just gave up. We felt if they did not have the common courtesy to return our calls they did not deserve our business. After reading some of these reviews it looks like they did us a favor.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    47
    27
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Another wonderful dinner!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Friday evening my husband and I stopped at Jackalope's View at 4:55pm, they start serving dinner at 5pm. We sat outside on the deck, the weather was perfect. We enjoyed the new appetizer, the cheese plate, it was great with Smoked Gouda, Brie, Cabrales, Crusty bread slices, Genoa Salami, Prosciutto wrapped asparagus, Olive relish, Almonds, Pickled onion rings and sliced Figs. The bread bowl contained a Honey oat roll, a Multi grain roll, a white roll and the oil for dipping had balsamic vinegar and a paprika coated cheese ball in the dish, oh how tasty that was. I enjoyed the Wiener Schnitzel and Sauerkraut with mashed potatoes and sauteed zucchini/squash. My husband enjoyed the Pork Roast and Sweet potato compote with the same chef's starch and vegetable of the day. Both meals were wonderful, prepared and seasoned perfectly!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarmonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome views.....ok food!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were in town for an event and had Sunday Brunch....the weather and views were jaw dropping,especially if you sit on the terrace with a Bloody Mary.
The brunch menu was weird...small fruit and salad section which was fresh and tasty.
The entrees were sauce laden...even the scrambled eggs came with fruit crepes with creamy sauce....no healthy or low carb options available. This restaurant has a very good reputation and could do a fun brunch that even included a chicken salad or something other than eggs Benedict .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but too salty”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I had the Sunday Brunch today. I ordered the Eggs Benedict which was very tasty but the home fries, while prepared well, had so much salt on them, I could barely eat more than a couple of bites. My husband felt the same way. Service was good and friendly. You can always add more salt to your food at the table if you like more, but once it's on there, you are stuck!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banner elk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yuck.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Appetizer pizza okay for bar food, but never had a decent dinner here. Way too expensive for the over-oily everything! Just yuck. Trout was dripping in oil & veggies were overcooked. Very generic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archers_Mountain_Inn, Owner at Jackalope's View, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Hi, we are very saddened about your experience. Almost daily we hear we have the "best Trout ever"! We also don't know what pizza you experienced, as we don't serve pizza?

We invite you to return as we pride ourselves on the cuisine, the panaramic views, and the service. Please allow us to buy you a complimentary appetizer or cocktail, and try us again?

Best, Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jackalope's View also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Beech Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Jackalope's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing