We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome surprise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sugar Ski & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We booked this property because of it's location to a blue ski lift on Sugar Mountain. The balcony had a great view of the mountains and top of the Big Red lift. If you're new to skiing, you may not want this location unless you can ski on a blue run, which is what Big Red is. Otherwise you will be driving up and down the mountain every day. Our room, 521, is the nicest room in building 5 and well worth the upgrade charge. Granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, tile floors in the bathrooms, tile shower in master room, wood floors in kitchen and dining area, surround sound, flat screen TVs! Easy access from the parking lot, easy access to the slopes, nice hot tub in the pool room to ease the aches and pains from a long day of skiing. Only 50 yard walk to the office/pool area and laundry. I highly recommend this unit.

Room Tip: book this location if you want easy access to a blue level ski run.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italiancajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

We rented a great condo. I could see the kids get of the lift from my nice warm room.
The condo was in great shape. They had a fully stocked kitchen. They had everything we needed. It is a great place to stay with easy access to the slopes.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor so we did not have to walk up alot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We have stayed at Sugar Ski for the last 20 years, it is a great location to base a mountain vacation. We are summer guests. It is a lovely area. We hike the ski slopes and other areas in the region. White water rafting opportunities are available through local outfitters. Over the years, the management of Sugar Ski has had it's ups and downs. Most recently, we have been please with everything. Keep in mind,the units were designed for short term occupancy and do not have the massive space and extras other facilities may offer. The view from Sugar Ski is breathtaking. Our kids still insist on vacation at Sugar Ski.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the pool and entrance gate areas seem to have more issues with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank USHistoryTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Perched right atop the mountain at the start of the slope, location doesn't get much better than this! You can literally wake up and look out the balcony at the lifts and skiers, walk right out the condo across the little parking lot and start skiing. The only downfall (no pun intended) for me, is that I am a terrible skier and this is an intermediate slope! Be aware!

The little condos are nice. We have rented a 2/2 with a fireplace and kitchen and balcony 2 years in a row now. Kitchens are usually pretty equipped with tools and cookware and we generally cook every day. The snow has been great both times we've been and we plan on coming back next year! We met some really nice people and other couples in the hot tub/pool area inside. Neat little place thats very comfortable for our family.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the slope and wake up to beautiful snow covered scenes!
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank l-i-v-i-n2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Been here a couple ot times. Not a downhill skier but enjoy the hiking trails and the surrounding areas with various charming places to visit. Walked down Grouse Moor Drive (2mi/3.2km app 30mins walk downhill), pass the Food Lion grocery store and staying on the main road (184). Taking a right turn up Sugar Mt Drive to the Ski Lodge (passing the golf course), another 2mi. A hamburger and a bottle of water cost $8+/nearly S$10 here. Saw only 2 other person in the cafe. Season has not really started yet!

Only a long run, Lower and Upper Flying Mile have snow and is opened. No, they did no allowed me to take the lift up unless I ski down. Talked to the security officer (did not wished to take the main road back) and he recommended to walk up the Lower Flying Mile Slope (lifts are not yet opened then). From there, continued to climb the Big Red Slope (the slope right outside the condo). The 2 slopes are hard climbs but now quite orientated with the slopes and lifts on Sugar Mt.

Room Tip: Unit 621 has a lovely view to the slope and just a minute walk to the life for the Big Red Slope
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarthOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We booked a bedroom Deluxe condo online for Thanksgiving weekend. The condo was exactly what showed online and accommodations great for our family of 4. The staff was very friendly from call in to our actual visit. This was our first visit to Sugar Mountain and we found it exactly what we were seeking. The pool was clean, our condo was immaculate and the view was outstanding. It was a nice surprise to have all the things we had forgotten already there: dish soap and detergent, coffee filters, paper towels, toilet paper, garbage bags, etc. We will definitely return here.

Room Tip: the representative walked me through several of the accommodations that she personally recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We spend most weekends on the slopes and continue to try new places to stay (slope side) each weekend. We've stayed at Sugar Ski and Country Club twice this year. Our first visit we stayed in a Deluxe room (decor was outdated to my preference but room was clean and all appliances worked fine). This past weekend we tried a Premium Condo in building 3. After a season of finding the perfect condo location (we stayed at several), I found it! Recently updated throughout. Decor was my style, very compfy and homewarming. I like having all small things there instead of packing each weekend...dish detergent, paper towels, toliet paper, garbage bags, etc. The staff was extremely friendly when checking in. My kids favorite part is enjoying the hot tub, sauna and pool which is always clean and a short distance away-out the back door fr our condo. Staff members have been in there each time we've been there checking the chemicals. Which is a positive as well.

After spending a full ski season trying several "on the slope" locations, Sugar Ski & Country Club (in the premium room we had) is our ideal weekend gateway for next year or possibly looking into buying a condo there would be nice as well!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PegSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarSkiCondos, Manager at Sugar Ski & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Hi,

So glad you settled on "your unit" at Sugar Ski! We look forward to having you back. We re-evaluate units each Spring and place them in one of five categories - Economy, Comfort, Deluxe, Premium and Superior. Our Premium unit owners have taken special care in the updates and appointments to their units making them as close to their own personal homes as they can. The Deluxe unit you visited might be ready for Comfort status as the qualifications for Deluxe have changed since we added the Economy rating. We have something for all price and preference levels from basic and clean to updated and appointed to the nines... so to speak. See you next time! Hope Harvey/Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
2 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
11.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
637 reviews
12.5 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
12.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
415 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Ski & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ski & Country Club

Address: 100 Sugar Ski Dr, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7145
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range: £71 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Ski & Country Club offers privately owned condominiums for rent. Ranging in size from efficiency to two bedroom/two bath units, we have a clubhouse on property with an indoor, heated swimming pool, sauna,hot tub and a computer room with a desktop with internet access for use during your stay as well as a desk with wifi available for you to use your own laptop. During winter months, Ski Country Sports operates a ski and snowboard rental shop Fri-Sun and on holidays for your convenience in our lounge area. Our two bedroom units are ski in/ski out on Big Red and all units have foot path/walking access to the main run on the slopes at the Sugar Mountain Resort called Upper Flying Mile. During the summer, our elevation at 4900ft brings cool breezes. Sugar Mountain also has a series of hiking and mountain biking trails available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugar Ski & Country Club Hotel Banner Elk
Sugar Ski And Country Club
Sugar Ski Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing